R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2008, 11:10 AM   #106
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

We do post the IR and voltage on our 28C packs.

The cost of cell tooling and case tooling is hard to justify for some specific cars. We try to release packs that will fit the majority of the cars.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 02:29 PM   #107
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

last check there were a ton of tamiyas out there. and right now sadly ur competition has the market cornered with the only true stick friendly config. hong kong not withstanding.

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 09:32 AM   #108
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Maybe someday we will release a pack that fits these cars but at the moment we can't justify it.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 10:00 AM   #109
Tech Regular
 
minimusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: OC CA
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultegrasti View Post
even if they did drop off, they sell them b/c people out there will buy them to get the edge on the next guy if only for a few wks. they sell all kinds of amp ratings nowadays and we all have a rating in mind for the car we want to buy a battery for..., so they can still sell u on that, just hope it fits. they cant sell u on voltage anymore as in the past and i dont see folks pasting IR info on their packs. they need somethin to 'sell' u on, and thats C. so how fast do you wanna go, how much you wanna spend, and how bad do you need to make your toy car faster?

personally, if it doesnt fit my car, i dont care what it is, not hackin the car to make it fit. too bad SMC doesnt make somethin that fits a f103, or else i'd buy it. as it stand now i'll prolly have to pay an extra 40bux for the 'O' sticker :/

at least the 24c 4100 fits nice in a TT01 (w/lead slab underneath for balance--sits it up from the chassis gussets that used to slide under the 6 individual cells) and beautifully in my CR for mod. cuz thats all that thing needs.

SMC, make somethin that is tamiya/stick friendly please

R

my smc 4000 28c fits perfectly in my f103. maybe the 3xxx 40c smc packs will fit as well. you never know.
__________________
"I personally do not believe in luck. I believe luck is just an excuse for people that have failed in their mission to accomplish something." Allen McNish
minimusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 10:05 AM   #110
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info. The 3200/40C+ will use the same case as our 4000.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 12:00 PM   #111
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

interesting, the 4k 24c pack (green carbon) did not fit in mine. it hits the rear portion of the bulkhead. still lookin for a legal lipo for tcs. just dont wanna go orion. good note was a slight trim to those extra gussets on the TT01 chassis (that slid between cells) allowed the pack to drop in and i taped a lead strip under the strap to make it a nice solid fit w/no stress or tweak possible.

before i go out and buy another 1 of them, is the 4k 28c pack the same case as the 24c pack?

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 03:42 PM   #112
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Our 4000/28C , 4100/24C , 3200/28C and new 3200/40C+ all use the same case size.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 05:13 AM   #113
Tech Adept
 
brqsdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
Noooo, I mean it's harder for me to find my favorite SMC threads when all these other nonsense threads about different cars and other useless crap get in the way. If all the SMC threads were in one spot, it would be much easier to find my very favorite one!


Hate that guy!
Me too!
brqsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 12:52 AM   #114
Tech Fanatic
 
mike williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NO. ILL
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

Danny, what balancer do you perfer with your cells? Im looking at buying a couple packs p/n SMC4124LD. Also your web site sucks it was not very helpful. just my opinion. thanks
__________________
LOSI MF2 ....... too fast for me!!!!!!!!
mike williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 12:44 PM   #115
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike williams View Post
Danny, what balancer do you perfer with your cells? Im looking at buying a couple packs p/n SMC4124LD. Also your web site sucks it was not very helpful. just my opinion. thanks
I'm not a big fan of seperate balancers because when you hook them up they create extra resistance which increases the voltage your charger will see so the pack will fall in CV mode faster and stay in that mode longer which will increase your charge time.

A Lipo charger with built in balancer is the way to go. There are some chargers with built in balancing that only cost 100.00 - 125.00.

If you want to go the balancer route then the Equinox by ElectriFly is a balancer that has the same connectors we use so it's ready to use with no adpaters.

Our new website is a work in progress hopefully it will not suck as much in the near future.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 12:59 PM   #116
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,369
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

our racin guys around here have a few combo chargers in that price range and they only charge @ 5amps peak and do not have very accurate Voltage sencing 2 of these chargers swelled some lipo packs (one was balance/charged in nimh mode with a mah lockout) the other didnt charge lio but still swelled the pack
i am using a GFX lipo upgrade with a checkpoint balancer with the sence leeds jumping the balancer and going to the since wires on the pack and only balance charge it before the race day begins while i tweeks the car before puttin it down
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2008, 03:24 PM   #117
Tech Fanatic
 
mike williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NO. ILL
Posts: 777
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

danny, ygpm
__________________
LOSI MF2 ....... too fast for me!!!!!!!!
mike williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 02:41 PM   #118
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

As the prduction cells are being finished I was just informed by our supplier that the production packs will 5200+. We also lowered our retail by 8 dollars as our supplier improved our price due to the amount of packs we ordered.

Part number will now be 5240CM and the retail will be 192.00 with a 125.00 Street Price.

First shipment will be in around the 15 to 20th of January.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 01:43 AM   #119
Tech Adept
 
tomracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default

danny, do you also have confirmation on the dimensions of the case?
__________________
Tom van den Brink
--------------------------
RC Crewchief - setup software for racers
tomracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 02:05 AM   #120
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomracing View Post
danny, do you also have confirmation on the dimensions of the case?
1st post
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net