Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
CS Spacecharger Pro-Charger (12v low) >

CS Spacecharger Pro-Charger (12v low)

CS Spacecharger Pro-Charger (12v low)

Old 10-14-2003, 04:39 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
shortyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 237
Unhappy CS Spacecharger Pro-Charger (12v low)

hi

i just bought a second hand CS Spacecharger Pro and its great but it will not charge it say "ERROR" 12v low

i am charging of a car battery with is 13.7v

NEED help Please
shortyzz is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 04:56 AM
  #2  
N4S
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
N4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

did you do a volt reading on the 12 volt battery ? It may rest at 12 volts , but when you put a load on it i.e. the cs charger , the batt doesnt have enough juice to run it . if you dont have the meter to do it , your local auto parts store will do it for free .
N4S is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 05:21 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
shortyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 237
Default re

hi

thanks for that but i did test it, it read 13.75v before the load.

thanks
shortyzz is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 05:26 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (70)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,671
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

You might wanna try another battery.I have 3 of these chargers and LOVE them.I havent had any problems.
Goodluck and I hope it works out for you.
TexRacer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 05:28 AM
  #5  
N4S
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
N4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Yes , it may read that , but you need to do a load test on it . A load test puts100 amp load on the batt , and it should not drop under 12 volts.
N4S is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 11:31 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Re: re

Originally posted by shortyzz
hi

thanks for that but i did test it, it read 13.75v before the load.

thanks
You have to measure the voltage with the load ON - simply connect the charger and battery and press start - now measure the voltage on the car battery.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 12:48 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Error, error......

Guys;

He didn't mention WHAT type of Pack he was charging.

With many DC Chargers, if you are are charging a 8+ cell TX pack, the input voltage will need to be at or above the final pack voltage or you will get a low voltage error.

Just thought I'd mention the fact.
popsracer is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 12:52 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

True.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 02:12 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
shortyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 237
Default POWER SUPPLY

hi guys

thanks for that i will test the battery with the load of the charger, it was saying 12v low before even pluging that battery(Gp 3300) in.

also what is a good power supply for about $100 Australian

thanks
shortyzz is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 03:35 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
 
JohnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Back in good old England :)
Posts: 590
Default Re: POWER SUPPLY

[i]
also what is a good power supply for about $100 Australian

thanks [/B]
Try HERE Jaycar doe a 5A one for $109AUS but if you can find another $60 get the 10A model more than worth it. You see these quite often on ebay too so keep your eyes open.
JohnA is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 04:32 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Default

Hi Shortyzz,

I would highly recommend you charge from a powersupply...10 amps and higher is recommended...this will allow you to run 2 chargers, or 1 charger and tire warmers.

please test the charger running from another power source, (Ie another battery or better yet a powersupply.

This display is caused by low input voltage, or it could be the case that the charger is incorrectly reading nput volts (less likely).

If you have further problems after doing those tests you may get in contact with the local seller of C.S products to arrange a repair. (note you will probably need a receipt).

I have been using C.S for a year now...no problemo's

Last edited by King-G; 10-14-2003 at 04:37 PM.
King-G is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 04:34 PM
  #12  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

question

if you got a 13.5v power supply will it work with a 12v charger?
Calvin Ng is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 04:40 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Default

yes, they preFer to run at 13.8 v (not much higher)

when getting around 12 v thats when they start mis-behave

Last edited by King-G; 10-14-2003 at 04:54 PM.
King-G is offline  
Old 10-14-2003, 04:46 PM
  #14  
Registered User
 
Calvin Ng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Default

prever?? you mean prefer??
Calvin Ng is offline  
Old 10-15-2003, 01:29 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
shortyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Posts: 237
Thumbs up THANKS

hi

i got it sorted out but thanks for all your help

THANKS ALOT
shortyzz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.