R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2008, 06:22 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
HoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default LRP Sphere TC Spec - Help Needed

Hi

Just wondering if anyone has experienced this on their LRP Sphere TC Spec (wired for 10.5T sensored, Lipo, Futaba 3PK with Spectrum, Spektrum HRS rx):

After switching on the speedo, there's an interval when all seems fine. Then the motor will stutter / cog forward once, then stop. Car runs ok, but would perform the same stuttering/cogging act every now and then when stationary.

Has anyone else experienced this ? What could be wrong ?

Thanks in advance for any reply
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:08 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

So its basically glitching, then coming to a stop?
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:17 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
HoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
So its basically glitching, then coming to a stop?
Not sure if that's glitching, but it is like there's a big power surge and the motor powers up and then stops - all within a split second.

Do you think it might be a radio problem ? Rather than an issue with the speedo ?
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Mark506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 1,086
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Im really not sure man. I had some problems with mine last week, but it turned out to be stupid stuff like the drive shaft being too tight, and my receiver being positioned wrong, which caused glitching. Other than that im not sure.. Is the motor in the proper range that it can handle?
__________________
Mark Ament

l MOMO USA l OZ Racing l Willwood Brakes | Dunlop Tires |

The Raceway at Beaver: Forever In Blue Jeans
Mark506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:48 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
HoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark506 View Post
Im really not sure man. I had some problems with mine last week, but it turned out to be stupid stuff like the drive shaft being too tight, and my receiver being positioned wrong, which caused glitching. Other than that im not sure.. Is the motor in the proper range that it can handle?
Perhaps I will try a different spektrum rx that I have and also reposition it to try to identify if glitching is indeed the issue. Thanks for your help. Will update once I have tried it.
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:53 PM   #6
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

i get a "glitching" of my Spektrum + TC Spec combo sometimes..
its not often enough to be annoying or worry about though, but it does happen
occasionally when i power on my car the throttle control is very stuttery
turning it off and on, allowing for the rebind of the rx/tx, then trying again etc makes it go away

only once ever has my car cogged forward a bit and then stopped as if there was a frequency clash, but never again has it done that

-Mark
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:58 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
HoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mok View Post
i get a "glitching" of my Spektrum + TC Spec combo sometimes..
its not often enough to be annoying or worry about though, but it does happen
occasionally when i power on my car the throttle control is very stuttery
turning it off and on, allowing for the rebind of the rx/tx, then trying again etc makes it go away

only once ever has my car cogged forward a bit and then stopped as if there was a frequency clash, but never again has it done that

-Mark
Thanks for sharing your experience. By the way, noticed that you are in Perth WA. Are there any onroad EP events happening there the next few weeks before Christmas ? Might want to take a vacation there and combine it with a spot of racing.
HoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 08:17 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
2056dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 2,470
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default hey

just takeing a shot in the dark here but is it your neutral spot maybe need a little more work on the radio to move the neutral around to stop it , like i said just takeing a shot at it
__________________
CRC Gen XL / Xray 09 , t2r pro / CW sprint and CW rocket / Kyosho evolva m3 / Tekin rs / Futaba 4pks / Trinity / Dirtburners thanks Bill / 1/8th racers of Toledo / Trex chassi / Summit Race way / Stateline
LAZER SPEEDWAY where all else IS just a parking lot / Hobby Stop West Raceway
2056dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:19 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar problem to this last night. The day before yesterday I ran my Rustler and had zero issues. The ESC didn't even get over 120, I think it was at like 117. The motor was at about 158.

So I got some new parts in the mail; front and rear RPM shock towers, Integy Aluminum/Graphite front A-arms and a pin set. So nothing electronic, which inturn means, I did not even touch the electronics when working on my car.

So everything gets installed, I get everything ready, plug it in like usual, put the body on, turn the receiver on and then the ESC. Lights up fine, fan starts running. I hit the throttle and it's sputtering, doesn't really go. I unplug, check everything, try it again...same thing. I thought maybe I forgot to charge my battery. I plug in my other battery, it takes off a sec, but then proceeds to do the same thing. Then the blue light turns on suggesting error. Turn it off then back on, error. Reset it, it resets fine but then proceeds to sputter, it won't go. I'm pretty bummed out. Any suggestions?

Weird thing, my Mamba Max did basically the same thing last week. It resets, I can program it and it does it fine, but it makes no sounds as it usually does and it won't go. I'm strapped, unemployed and totally bummed out. Please hep me try to troubleshoot this mess.

The battery is a Tenergy 2S, 35C 5000mah lipo. That's the one I was using in both cases. It's brand new as I just went lipo, maybe two weeks old tops. Charged and balanced every time which was about 5.
marooko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:22 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Open the speedo and clean it whit a soft brush.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 11:30 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I got it used, but it was like new. It seriously didn't have a scratch on it. It didn't even have tape residue, dirt, anything. It was seriously pristine. It didn't look cleaned either, it just looked clean. I'll try that out, but will wait to see if I hear anything else also.
marooko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 03:30 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
dsrbltoys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 890
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Check the pins for the sensor connector. I found one loose on mine. Removed the two screws on base, repositioned, and resoldered to board (if your not good with soldering, find someone who is). Good to go.
dsrbltoys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 03:45 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
paraletic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ADELAIDE
Posts: 553
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Sounds bit like problem I had with my tc sphere
I found a thread on here about it
apparently the sphere comp doesn't hav a good lipo cut off set up. As in it's only suited too large c rating lipos etc
lrp said too go into the settings an set it too nimh cells
after doin this all my issues stopped
jus gotta keep track on run time etc
but seein I only do 5min runs with it that's not an issue
__________________
Losi XXX-S G+..................Tamiya M03.......................TOP Photon
Losi XXX-4 G+.................HoBao ST Pro electric........Losi Micro SCT
Losi XXX-CR....................Losi Mini Baja.....................Losi XX-4 W/E
ASSociated RC12L4
T.O.P PHOTON EX & Tamiya M05 - currently undergoing rigorous crash testing!
paraletic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2010, 05:26 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paraletic View Post
Sounds bit like problem I had with my tc sphere
I found a thread on here about it
apparently the sphere comp doesn't hav a good lipo cut off set up. As in it's only suited too large c rating lipos etc
lrp said too go into the settings an set it too nimh cells
after doin this all my issues stopped
jus gotta keep track on run time etc
but seein I only do 5min runs with it that's not an issue


Might this be the case even if I had used it a couple times already without issue? Right now I can't even set it. It turns on and just has a constant beep.
marooko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 03:39 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,082
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

So do most of you just buy new ESC's and or warranty them without question? I'm just curious if it could be something I did, a strange malfunction, a typical malfunction.

I don't think it was messed up when I got it, especially because they guy offered to buy it back a couple weeks later for the same price.

I was also questioning whether or not it was the battery. Mainly because my Mamba Max did almost the same exact thing. While using the same battery.
marooko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 11:20 PM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Team Associated Factory Team RC10R5 tyreguy Electric On-Road 871 10-16-2013 10:35 AM
LRP SPHERE COMP. ESC (80700) Miu Miu Electric On-Road 725 07-08-2010 04:42 PM
Quitting RC Safer SX Australia For Sale/Trade 12 05-27-2009 09:48 PM
Grade my B44 build! Zerodefect Electric Off-Road 25 05-07-2008 09:04 PM
High Quality Almost New Race Gear - Selling due to an Overseas Trip!! F. Alonso Australia For Sale/Trade 18 12-05-2007 11:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net