R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2008, 06:05 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Ko BMC Speedo

Hi guys,

People must have them by now so lets hear some opinions!!!!!!! Any one know if this can be programmed with the vfs card?

cheers
Green Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:41 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

They have just started shipping so it will probably take some time before you see any feedback.

The VFS card will NOT work with this. In Feb, we will be releasing the card for the BMC. You will be able to use the same hand programmer.

For now, the only way to program it will be via PC.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 12:33 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default

hi thanks for the reply!,

i take it the usb link is included with the speedo as it is with speedos like the losi?

cheers
Green Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:19 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Speed View Post
hi thanks for the reply!,

i take it the usb link is included with the speedo as it is with speedos like the losi?

cheers
No its a separate optional item.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:24 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dennyboy424
Default

Wow for the price of it, being the most expensive brushless esc on the market, it should come with the programming card and USB wire.
dennyboy424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 02:15 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Yeah the price definately seems high. Anxious to see how it performs on the track though. Might be worth it.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:09 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
...Might be worth it.
If the ESC, setting card and PC software don't have upgradable firmware (similar to Tekin), then no it won't be worth it. Now that the ESC manufacturers have started getting into things like rpm/timing & traction control, there is no way a non-upgradable system would be able to keep up. Brushless ESCs NEED to be expandable. Unless they expect you shell out money every season for a new ESC...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:14 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
If the setting card and PC software don't have upgradable software (similar to Tekin), then no it won't be worth it. Now that the companies programmers have start getting into things like rpm/timing & traction control, there is no way a non-upgradable system would be able to keep up. Brushless ESCs NEED to be expandable. Unless they expect you shell out money every season for a new ESC...
The only problem with having "upgradable" software inside the ESC is that you open yourself up for reverse engineering and copies. But what if the technology has progressed to where the components used are outdated or cannot keep up with the current technology. The upgraded software doesn't do you any good.

It's something that we have discussed.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:20 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Default

I was really looking forward to this, but I'll see to it when it starts to win races and be consistent, even against the test of time. It was supposed to come out in summer time, but pushed back to Dec. A lot has been improved over the last 6 mo. on other BL systems. Wonder if it can keep with the growing technology. Or is it like a Mac where it has limited expandability, so you just throw it away when the time comes.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:35 PM   #10
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redbones View Post
I was really looking forward to this, but I'll see to it when it starts to win races and be consistent, even against the test of time. It was supposed to come out in summer time, but pushed back to Dec. A lot has been improved over the last 6 mo. on other BL systems. Wonder if it can keep with the growing technology. Or is it like a Mac where it has limited expandability, so you just throw it away when the time comes.
what improvements have you seen in BL ESC? LRP coming out with a new "stock spec" esc? Hmm... VFS does that already.... by having VFS on their BL ESC.. you wont need a "mod" only esc.. and "stock spec" esc, etc.

also.. LRP released the QC line 3 times.. similar to the VFS series.. C2, C3.. etc. Novak had the GTX then quickly jumped into BL. revisions are good. and no one is holding a gun to your head to upgrade. In the end, YOU are the one that makes the decision to upgrade. companies just offer the opportunity to you

give it time... it'll be in the winner's circle soon enough.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:57 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Was each subsequent VFS-1 model better? I thought they simply offered different pre-programmed profiles...

BTW: New advancments include software driven timing advance wich can easily expand into two & three dimensional tables when throttle position and rpm get added to the mix. It will be like tuning the ECU of your car. Now all we need are some 1/10th scale chassis dynos...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:07 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
Was each subsequent VFS-1 model better? I thought they simply offered different pre-programmed profiles...

BTW: New advancments include software driven timing advance wich can easily expand into two & three dimensional tables when throttle position and rpm get added to the mix. It will be like tuning the ECU of your car. Now all we need are some 1/10th scale chassis dynos...
Yes each VFS-1 was an improvement over the next, software and components for the improved batteries and motors.

Now when you start to talk about TPS (Throttle Position Sensor) vs. RPM, I wouldn't call that three dimensional more like two. Now when you start to factor in motor temp, esc temp, ambient air temp, current draw, available current, Rx current draw, etc. that would be more like a car ECU tuning.

I highly doubt R/C is ready for something like this. I personally have an AEM stand alone ECU in my car and wouldn't touch it. I get lost in all the settings. I pay someone to tune it for me.

A chassis dyno would be very interesting tho..
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:18 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

All the newest versions of speed controls help the slow guys that blame their electronics for being slow. Now with the constant firmware stuff, especially the secret stuff that gets leaked out by the pro guys that only a few guys can get, we're bench racing software too.

Let's just all buy electronics and sit around so we can talk about them.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:52 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

That works too...
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 09:36 AM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default

hi KO PROPO Staff,

Thanks for the replys, do you have a part number for the usb part? If this hasnt been released yet can i change any settings on the speedo without the use of usb or a card?
It says in the spec it has 5 pre set profiles could you shed any light on this as infor for this product is pretty thin on the ground.
Green Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
best esc for touring car devin4444 Electric On-Road 48 05-02-2016 10:01 AM
Foam tire spec chassi!! Team_Elli Electric On-Road 15 07-28-2009 07:26 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Orion Vortex BL Race ESC dr_hfuhuhurr Radio and Electronics 29 03-02-2009 07:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net