R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2009, 02:58 PM   #121
Tech Fanatic
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 846
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff View Post
The PDF for the BMC Manager is now available here http://www.kopropo.com/america/index...d=21&Itemid=59
Thanks Robert
__________________
RcAmerica--Xray---Hudy----KO PROPO USA---ORCA---GRAVITY RC
Motiv------Apexrc----- AVID
SWEEP Racing USA
Mike's Hobbyshop in Dallas (RIP)
Nor-Cal Hobbies [The Race Place]
tpczx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 08:18 PM   #122
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

I have been running a BMC in stock buggy with an Orion and hacker 17.5. I have used profile 1 with great results. This speedo has so much punch. I did gear down and lowered the timing. I am going to be trying the BMC is TC tomorrow. I will let you all know how it ran.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2009, 09:03 PM   #123
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Well this speedo is awesome in TC 13.5. It has so much pull out of the corners. I ran a 39.09mm roll out. I still needed more gear on the motor. As it was coming of 110 after 5 minutes.

Now to get one for my 12 scale.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 10:12 PM   #124
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,287
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Hey all, I just bought the BMC and have yet to run it. I am going to be testing and preparing for the TCS Trackside event. I am running an LRP 17.5 in a TA05 chassis. I am wondering what profile to run and how to gear this thing. The instructions that came with the motor say to start at a 5.0. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 10:47 PM   #125
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

I would start with profile 1. That is the power profile. This is also the default. Depending on the track you may want to start around a 5.2 fdr. Check the motor temp after 3 minutes. Make sure it is not above your motor manufacture temp spec. This speedo adds allot of timing advance. So you do not need as much gear on the motor.

I was at our indoor offroad track in St Louis tonight. There was a racer with a Pulse and BMC in a B4. He said he had a bunch of initial cogging in the motor. He also had the timing on the motor advanced about 20 degrees he said. He lowered the timing and the issue went away. So just FYI like a few pages ago do not over time the motor with this esc. You most likely have issues with it. Let the esc do the timing advance. As it seems to run great with lower motor timing.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 12:11 AM   #126
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
I would start with profile 1. That is the power profile. This is also the default. Depending on the track you may want to start around a 5.2 fdr. Check the motor temp after 3 minutes. Make sure it is not above your motor manufacture temp spec. This speedo adds allot of timing advance. So you do not need as much gear on the motor.

I was at our indoor offroad track in St Louis tonight. There was a racer with a Pulse and BMC in a B4. He said he had a bunch of initial cogging in the motor. He also had the timing on the motor advanced about 20 degrees he said. He lowered the timing and the issue went away. So just FYI like a few pages ago do not over time the motor with this esc. You most likely have issues with it. Let the esc do the timing advance. As it seems to run great with lower motor timing.
you have your timing set at 0,1, or 2 on the speedo?
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 07:55 AM   #127
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,287
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy View Post
I would start with profile 1. That is the power profile. This is also the default. Depending on the track you may want to start around a 5.2 fdr. Check the motor temp after 3 minutes. Make sure it is not above your motor manufacture temp spec. This speedo adds allot of timing advance. So you do not need as much gear on the motor.

I was at our indoor offroad track in St Louis tonight. There was a racer with a Pulse and BMC in a B4. He said he had a bunch of initial cogging in the motor. He also had the timing on the motor advanced about 20 degrees he said. He lowered the timing and the issue went away. So just FYI like a few pages ago do not over time the motor with this esc. You most likely have issues with it. Let the esc do the timing advance. As it seems to run great with lower motor timing.
This is the non adjustable timing motor, so that takes one thing out of the equation. I will start at 5.20 and work from there. Thanks for the help
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2009, 10:39 AM   #128
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Default

Tried it on a duo 13.5 and 17.5, and it seems that you need to have the timing on the motor at 0 to make it work.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #129
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default BMC Settings & Help Page

I have been working on the BMC settings and help page. http://www.kopropo.com/america/index...113&Itemid=162

Just to get the ball rolling on it, new settings have been posted.

Also this was not written in the instructions but if you want to copy one model to another in the software, just click and drag the model number tab (you want to copy) to the desired model tab.

I will add more info later this week.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 08:28 PM   #130
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff View Post
I have been working on the BMC settings and help page. http://www.kopropo.com/america/index...113&Itemid=162

Just to get the ball rolling on it, new settings have been posted.

Also this was not written in the instructions but if you want to copy one model to another in the software, just click and drag the model number tab (you want to copy) to the desired model tab.

I will add more info later this week.
Thanks for the info.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 09:51 PM   #131
Tech Elite
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,287
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Slightly off topic, but I have a KO Comp 2 brushed controller, and I can not get it into communication mode, keeps giving me a Communication failed error message in the software. Anyone have any ideas how to fix this. My BMC hooked up just fine, so I know its not a driver issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated
__________________
I'll hit the brakes he'll go right by
http://f1rclab.com
http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com
BP SHADOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 03:57 PM   #132
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BP SHADOW View Post
Slightly off topic, but I have a KO Comp 2 brushed controller, and I can not get it into communication mode, keeps giving me a Communication failed error message in the software. Anyone have any ideas how to fix this. My BMC hooked up just fine, so I know its not a driver issue. Any help would be greatly appreciated
The VFS-1 Comp 2 requires that you put it into program mode. The BMC doesn't require putting it into programming mode.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 05:33 PM   #133
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HenBeav
Default

i finally got my usb programmer, before i had it i had the timing advance set on 2 on speedo and had to retard the motor about 10 degrees to take away the cogging, i switched the timing advance to 1 in the speedo and moved the motor timing to 0 and its much better feeling with a 17.5, also been trying the new profiles posted on KO site and really like the tc profiles haven't tried any others yet.
__________________
[URL]http://www.fastlanehobby.com[/URL]

Support your local Lowe's, Walmart and Layne Machine Works INC.
HenBeav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 05:37 PM   #134
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Question re: LiPo cutoff...

Does the BMC have a choice re: number of cells for the cutoff in LiPo mode? I know the 4-cell GTB's have no cutoff option, the GTB's with LiPo cutoff only recognize 2s LiPo for cutoff. The Tekin (OH how I'm trying to not get a Tekin...if I'm going to be a test monkey I want to be paid, and let's not talk about QC...) can select 1s for cutoff.

I'm getting everything together for running 1s LiPo in one of my 1/12 cars and for safety's sake I'd like to have 1s cutoff capability.

Thanks,

Scottrik
__________________
Congressmen should wear uniforms like NASCAR drivers so we can identify their corporate sponsors.

THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE TELEVISED -Gil Scott-Heron (1949-2011)
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 06:07 PM   #135
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
Question re: LiPo cutoff...

Does the BMC have a choice re: number of cells for the cutoff in LiPo mode? I know the 4-cell GTB's have no cutoff option, the GTB's with LiPo cutoff only recognize 2s LiPo for cutoff. The Tekin (OH how I'm trying to not get a Tekin...if I'm going to be a test monkey I want to be paid, and let's not talk about QC...) can select 1s for cutoff.

I'm getting everything together for running 1s LiPo in one of my 1/12 cars and for safety's sake I'd like to have 1s cutoff capability.

Thanks,

Scottrik
the cutoffs are:
nimh 4C
nimh 6c
lipo

it can be seen here:
http://www.kopropo.com/america/downl...ualEVer152.pdf
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
best esc for touring car devin4444 Electric On-Road 48 05-02-2016 10:01 AM
Foam tire spec chassi!! Team_Elli Electric On-Road 15 07-28-2009 07:26 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Orion Vortex BL Race ESC dr_hfuhuhurr Radio and Electronics 29 03-02-2009 07:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:54 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net