R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2009, 03:10 AM   #91
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
you may have to get the settings adapter and set the speedo. i believe that the default config is 5-6 cell. in wgt you are running 4 cell. that may solve your coging issues
I have the usb setting adaptor and have changed the unit to run 4 cell I changed the standard settings and timing etc but the unit still cogs badly. I have also now tried a 6 cell pack and a different motor (Nosram 10.5 evo) and its still the same. An email is off on its way to ko and orion!
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 12:17 PM   #92
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Does the speedo support sensorless and brushed motor?

Thanks.
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 09:40 AM   #93
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonest View Post
Does the speedo support sensorless and brushed motor?

Thanks.
No and No
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 11:13 AM   #94
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HenBeav
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonest View Post
Does the speedo support sensorless and brushed motor?

Thanks.
just sensored brushless
__________________
[URL]http://www.fastlanehobby.com[/URL]

Support your local Lowe's, Walmart and Layne Machine Works INC.
HenBeav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:51 PM   #95
Tech Elite
 
jonest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johor, Malaysia
Posts: 3,136
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Henbeav & Smartypants,

Seems like I've to keep the LRP TC Spec just in case I've to run brushed... hmmmm but reviews of the speedo is good...

Thanks.
jonest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:06 AM   #96
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Default

so how bad is this cogging issue? Been a KO fan from the brushed days, but I don't want to spend lots of money on a speedo that is less reliable than my Sphere. Any word from the manufacturer?
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:18 AM   #97
Tech Regular
 
Boosta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Old Hatfield
Posts: 431
Default cogging??

bit of a newb question but can someone explain what cogging is please?
Boosta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:11 PM   #98
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Default

Did some research on the Japanese KO site, and there are resolutions to the cogging issues.

1. The first batch of esc comes with the setting as "model 1" where all the freq is set to the max. (default setting of the world spec kit) Try the setting to "model 3" for a smoother throttle response.

2. When it cogs, the current limiter may be kicking in. try to retard the timing on the esc(or motor).

3. When the temp goes above 70C, the thermal control kicks in. Try "model 3". Use a higher turn motor, retard timing, or smaller pinion

4. Low volt cut off may cause this too. Depending on the receiver used, you may need to change the voltage used. You may need to set the Low volt cut off setting to "Lipo" to prevent this.

I guess it has so many parameters that you can easily go beyond the accepted values for a given combination of electronics. Which in a way, is a good thing if you are a tweaker.
redbones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:49 PM   #99
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Will the ICS program work with Vista?
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:03 PM   #100
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by minicooper View Post
Will the ICS program work with Vista?
yes.
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:09 PM   #101
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375 View Post
yes.
No it doesnt? On the programmer package it says not vista compatible, did they change that? My buddy has one and was bummed because he doesnt have a laptop with XP
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:17 PM   #102
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

vista pic attached.

I have been using it since I got the esc. It works fine for both the KO and Orion esc. I have used both. Both brand esc have exactly the same profiles and settings. (just different stickers).

Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Ko BMC Speedo-ko-bmc.jpg  
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:32 PM   #103
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375 View Post
yes.
Thanks DirtyDog. I was worried about that
__________________
Royal Rumble Racing
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 11:51 PM   #104
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375 View Post
vista pic attached.

I have been using it since I got the esc. It works fine for both the KO and Orion esc. I have used both. Both brand esc have exactly the same profiles and settings. (just different stickers).

Hope this helps.
Huh, thats awesome!

Now any info on the set up? Were used to the castle kind of setup, graphs, and all that. Not the numbers. Is there a guide or something?

Thanks!!
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 01:00 AM   #105
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Huh, thats awesome!

Now any info on the set up? Were used to the castle kind of setup, graphs, and all that. Not the numbers. Is there a guide or something?

Thanks!!
I am assuming you are referring to the drive freq?

Values from 1 to 52 (over 32 steps)
1 being the lowest (smooth)
52 being the highest (power)

There are some Japanese profiles around (but I didn't like them as they use heaps of drag brakes for both offroad and touring cars)

Hope this helps.
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
best esc for touring car devin4444 Electric On-Road 48 05-02-2016 10:01 AM
Foam tire spec chassi!! Team_Elli Electric On-Road 15 07-28-2009 07:26 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Orion Vortex BL Race ESC dr_hfuhuhurr Radio and Electronics 29 03-02-2009 07:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net