R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2009, 09:32 AM   #751
bl4
Tech Regular
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thks for all the info and help
bl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 04:40 PM   #752
Tech Elite
 
mike ivy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Comin at ya from a distant galaxy
Posts: 2,795
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guy's Question,


I have a question about the KO speed controller. I just picked one up Ver 1.5 I plan on using this for 1/12th.

On a carpet track 100x45 how would gear a Duo 13.5 with a 1c 3.7 thunder power lipo pack.

I downloaded one of the profiles for stock 1/12th from the KO site

Im running Model 3 and #6 on the timing using the KO BMS Stock manager program. And on the DUO im in the middle hole for timing.What pinion should I use with a 76 spur and a 1.72" tire?

Im not sure how I should setup the motor and timing but any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
[-eXpress motorsports-] [-TQ Wire-]

1/12th Fo' Life!!! R.I.P Mike Reedy, R.I.P John Williams

[-Horsham RC-] [-Jackson RC-] [-RC Car World-] [ Black Out Free 2015 ]
mike ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:32 PM   #753
Tech Fanatic
 
kidsid99's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Memphis
Posts: 792
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike ivy View Post
Hey Guy's Question,


I have a question about the KO speed controller. I just picked one up Ver 1.5 I plan on using this for 1/12th.

On a carpet track 100x45 how would gear a Duo 13.5 with a 1c 3.7 thunder power lipo pack.

I downloaded one of the profiles for stock 1/12th from the KO site

Im running Model 3 and #6 on the timing using the KO BMS Stock manager program. And on the DUO im in the middle hole for timing.What pinion should I use with a 76 spur and a 1.72" tire?

Im not sure how I should setup the motor and timing but any help would be greatly appreciated.
If no one else answers this for you, call Robert at KO. He is really helpful and I haven't been able to come up with a question that he could not answer.
__________________
XRAY, RC America, Boca Bearings,
www.msra-racing.com
kidsid99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:59 PM   #754
Tech Master
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike ivy View Post
Hey Guy's Question,


I have a question about the KO speed controller. I just picked one up Ver 1.5 I plan on using this for 1/12th.

On a carpet track 100x45 how would gear a Duo 13.5 with a 1c 3.7 thunder power lipo pack.

I downloaded one of the profiles for stock 1/12th from the KO site

Im running Model 3 and #6 on the timing using the KO BMS Stock manager program. And on the DUO im in the middle hole for timing.What pinion should I use with a 76 spur and a 1.72" tire?

Im not sure how I should setup the motor and timing but any help would be greatly appreciated.
Hey Mike,

Just tested a few profiles this past weekend with a few Team Members running 1/12 13.5-BS, our findings had found gearing for a similar track had been at a final rollout around 3.19, With a 76 Spur and 45 Pinion.

Attached below is a excel chart I had made for a quick reference, I would recommend to temp your motor accordingly to determine if you need to gear up or down dependant on your track layout.

I hope the attached spreadsheet helps ........................ Should you have any questions, please feel free to e-mail me.

Alex
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1_12 Scale Rollout.pdf (41.8 KB, 175 views)
__________________
Alex Cortez
Thank You to all My Sponsors
Ko Propo USA / RC America - Xray - Hudy / Max Power Engines / VP PowerMaster Fuel / Team Espo - "Lay it down Prop"!!!!

Last edited by Alex C; 10-04-2009 at 06:54 PM.
Alex C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 07:52 PM   #755
bl4
Tech Regular
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys need some help! I have just purchase a used Orion Vortex ESc. After soldering, once I turn on the esc(TX on too) the motor will auto run. Check on the wireing correct. Is this faulty or do I need the Ko Propo ICS USB adapter to program it? Thks!
bl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:50 PM   #756
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl4 View Post
Hi guys need some help! I have just purchase a used Orion Vortex ESc. After soldering, once I turn on the esc(TX on too) the motor will auto run. Check on the wireing correct. Is this faulty or do I need the Ko Propo ICS USB adapter to program it? Thks!
Nope--you need to set your esc to your transmitter. Or double-check that your neutral (throttle) isn't set to something. I'm not sure what transmitter you've got but you should be able to adjust your neutral band or move the throttle setting and make the motor stop. Recommendation would be to set everything to zero/neutral/default and then perform the setup routine. You won't need the USB, just the button on the esc switch.

Last edited by Scottrik; 10-04-2009 at 10:37 PM.
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:24 PM   #757
bl4
Tech Regular
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
Nope--you need to set your esc to your transmitter. Or double-check that your neutral (throttle) isn't set to something. I'm not sure what transmitter you've got but you should be able to adjust your neutral band or move the throttle setting and make the motor stop. Recommendation would be to set everything to zero/neutral/default and then perform the setup routing. You won't need the USB, just the button on the esc switch.
I am using a Futaba 3PK. I might have over look at that, will try it out again. By the way where is the button located? ORI65007 Vortex Race with Cooling Set (Limit 2.5T)
Thks!
bl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 10:36 PM   #758
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl4 View Post
I am using a Futaba 3PK. I might have over look at that, will try it out again. By the way where is the button located? ORI65007 Vortex Race with Cooling Set (Limit 2.5T)
Thks!
Little button right on the side of the switch housing.
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 10:56 PM   #759
bl4
Tech Regular
 
bl4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
Little button right on the side of the switch housing.
Got it thks!
bl4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:44 AM   #760
CFR
Tech Regular
 
CFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 327
Default

Orion Vortex Race ESC with v1 sofware

anyone got suitable settings they can share for nimh with 10.5BL?

I have the PC software available to me
CFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:05 PM   #761
Tech Rookie
 
Jørgensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 15
Default

Hi


I have a little problem maybe??

I have get me a VFS-1 BMC V1.5
And i also bought the usb adapter(ko61018)
I have download the VFS-1 BMC Manager from the Kopropo site.

So when everything is ready,i should try to connect the esc to pc.
But i only get message with "no connection"
For sure,i had turn the power on the esc

Hope someone can help me..;-)
__________________
www.jorgensen-motorsport.com
Xray T4 - Team Orion - Serpent 811 Cobra 2.2 - OS Speed - Hitec Lynx 4S - Kopropo Servos
Jørgensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:41 PM   #762
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jørgensen View Post
Hi


I have a little problem maybe??

I have get me a VFS-1 BMC V1.5
And i also bought the usb adapter(ko61018)
I have download the VFS-1 BMC Manager from the Kopropo site.

So when everything is ready,i should try to connect the esc to pc.
But i only get message with "no connection"
For sure,i had turn the power on the esc

Hope someone can help me..;-)

In the bottom right corner there is a comm port setting you need to know and remember which port it is set to so as to connect to the program.
Mine is port 7 but I would assume that most would be different.

If you use Vista plug in the ICS usb adapter and then go into device manager and it will tell you the comm port number if you left click the + symbol next to where it shows ports(COM & LPT) Mine shows ICS USB ADAPTER( COM 7)
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 09:24 AM   #763
Tech Fanatic
 
Rich Panganiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 811
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quick question:

On a BMC v1.5, what's the max timing you can run with either a 13.5 or 17.5 motor in a 2-wheel buggy?

Thanks.
Rich Panganiban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2009, 11:17 AM   #764
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,464
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to goop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Panganiban View Post
Quick question:

On a BMC v1.5, what's the max timing you can run with either a 13.5 or 17.5 motor in a 2-wheel buggy?

Thanks.
the more timing you put in the less torque you will have. i would use timing 3-4
__________________
Hurricane Motorsports
Team Trinity

TOP Racing - Gravity Rc - Contact tires - KO Propo - Competition Electronics
goop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 02:18 PM   #765
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 206
Default

I have the VFS-1 speed control, and racing tourers, I use a team orion 10.5 motor, the speed control is great except for the braking, the braking is very poor, the speed control can hardly stop the car at all.

I have the programmer and have tried different frequency settings but the braking is still poor... any ideas...
__________________
Tekin - The ultimate trophy hunters choice!!!
FactoryTeam08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
best esc for touring car devin4444 Electric On-Road 48 05-02-2016 10:01 AM
Foam tire spec chassi!! Team_Elli Electric On-Road 15 07-28-2009 07:26 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Orion Vortex BL Race ESC dr_hfuhuhurr Radio and Electronics 29 03-02-2009 07:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net