Ko BMC Speedo

Old 06-12-2009, 07:34 AM
  #436  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Yang, I'll call you today................
i am not going to answer. lol
theisgroup is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 04:09 AM
  #437  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

Finally got back the speedo in v1.5!
Wired everything backup, used 5.0FDR and profile 4 off goop's rubber setting.
Tested in my hands and holy batman!
It's like the car has NOS now. It's even faster on profile 5. though I may fiddle around with the brake frequencies, this thing is wicked fast.
The cogging issue is completely gone, and my regrets of getting the speedo blew away. Can't wait to test it on the track against those pesky SPXs
The only concern now is the longevity of the electronics running in such huge capacity.
redbones is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:47 AM
  #438  
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by redbones View Post
The only concern now is the longevity of the electronics running in such huge capacity.
The BMC seems to be a little easier on the motors than the SPX, but still very quick. Accidentally overgearing does not necessarily lead to a smoked motor.

You should definitely be careful about the gearing to start, though. If you are running the timing at setting 4-6, then the same gearing as your fellow SPX racers is a decent starting point. In the end, you'll probably end up somewhere around 1-2 teeth higher on the pinion than someone with an SPX on profile 7.
Nexus Racing is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 12:25 PM
  #439  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

Ran the speedo at a race last weekend and took first in Amain 17.5! woot!

It was a great race. The car's top speed just kept increasing down the straight. Had it geared at 5.0 and the duo motor temped at 140ish. Outside temp was about 88-90F(hot). Could probably gear to maybe 4.8, but it has a good balance now so I'll stick to it. My 13.5 got kinda hot (180F). probably need to go down about 3 teeth maybe.

Awesome speedo. Good torque and top speed. Just need to mess around with the programming a little more. Thanks to Orion/KO for their support.
redbones is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 12:39 PM
  #440  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redbones View Post
Ran the speedo at a race last weekend and took first in Amain 17.5! woot!

It was a great race. The car's top speed just kept increasing down the straight. Had it geared at 5.0 and the duo motor temped at 140ish. Outside temp was about 88-90F(hot). Could probably gear to maybe 4.8, but it has a good balance now so I'll stick to it. My 13.5 got kinda hot (180F). probably need to go down about 3 teeth maybe.

Awesome speedo. Good torque and top speed. Just need to mess around with the programming a little more. Thanks to Orion/KO for their support.
whats your timing set to?
Hebiki is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 03:41 PM
  #441  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
whats your timing set to?
motor on middle hole, esc timing set to 6. Used 40C lipo
redbones is offline  
Old 06-16-2009, 03:51 PM
  #442  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redbones View Post
motor on middle hole, esc timing set to 6. Used 40C lipo
nice! im assuming you're using a Trinity Duo 17.5 since you said "middle hole" on the timing. good info.

you mentioned that in your first post.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 07:04 PM
  #443  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I just got a ko heat sink and fan for my Orion esc. Get the heat sink on and fan screwed in. Done. So I plug everything in and turn it on andall but one fan blade blows up right off. Stupid pos.

fan screws were just snug, didn't hulk them on or anything. So was this a defect fan? It was sitting in my lap and blew up. I will post a pic when I get back home from dinner.

I'm getting sick of this esc. I will say that much...... Now I'm 260 bucks ino this thing. Still doesn't have a fan that works. And I don't have the programmer either. Time to go back to Lrp. Or tekin

sorry for the rant
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:08 PM
  #444  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (29)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,461
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
I just got a ko heat sink and fan for my Orion esc. Get the heat sink on and fan screwed in. Done. So I plug everything in and turn it on andall but one fan blade blows up right off. Stupid pos.

fan screws were just snug, didn't hulk them on or anything. So was this a defect fan? It was sitting in my lap and blew up. I will post a pic when I get back home from dinner.

I'm getting sick of this esc. I will say that much...... Now I'm 260 bucks ino this thing. Still doesn't have a fan that works. And I don't have the programmer either. Time to go back to Lrp. Or tekin

sorry for the rant
Once I hear from Scotty you can use what we used for setting up the speedo. I hope you have version 1.5 or it's not even worth running it.
STLNLST is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:24 PM
  #445  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Sorry if this has already been covered, but do the Orion speedo's have the same problems as the KO? Do they need an upgrade to the 1.5 version as well.
I ask because there's a used one I'm looking at.
Thanks.
jon123 is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:29 PM
  #446  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Once I hear from Scotty you can use what we used for setting up the speedo. I hope you have version 1.5 or it's not even worth running it.
I have the box all ready to get it over to KO for the update 1.5.

I have to find a fan thats not a worthless pos though. Probably much more again, those seem pretty nice. Im so pissed at that, waste of 20 bucks. I could of stuck a LRP heat sink and a spare novak fan I had laying around, wouldnt of looked so pretty lol. But would of worked
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:39 PM
  #447  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,326
Default

Originally Posted by jon123 View Post
Sorry if this has already been covered, but do the Orion speedo's have the same problems as the KO? Do they need an upgrade to the 1.5 version as well.
I ask because there's a used one I'm looking at.
Thanks.
yes it does. go get it upgraded asap.
redbones is offline  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:52 PM
  #448  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by redbones View Post
yes it does. go get it upgraded asap.
Thanks. Will KO do the upgrade on the Orion ESC? I hope so - KO America service is unbeatable.
jon123 is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 06:27 PM
  #449  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Post Settings Posted

Just posted the ROAR carpet nats '09 setting used by Drew Ellis to take TQ and the win in 13.5T Touring. This is the same profile that EJ Evans used at the Reedy Race of Champions '09 to take the TQ and win in RCGT.

Also posted is the mod setting used by Ralph Burch to set the fastest qualifying time at the Reedy Race of Champions '09 which was also used by Josh Cyrul and Drew Ellis for mod. In this setting, all three drivers settled on profile 2.

These can be found here http://www.kopropo.com/america/index...113&Itemid=162

Sorry for taking a while to post these up. Enjoy!
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 06:27 PM
  #450  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally Posted by jon123 View Post
Thanks. Will KO do the upgrade on the Orion ESC? I hope so - KO America service is unbeatable.
Yes we will do the upgrade. Just fill out the service request form.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.