R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-11-2008, 09:42 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

The USB part number is 61018.

The five pre-programmed settings are #1 Power, #2 Mild, #3 Smooth, #4 Touring Car, #5 Buggy. Each has a different drive frequency setting, brake frequency setting, timing, etc.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:07 AM   #17
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff View Post
The USB part number is 61018.

The five pre-programmed settings are #1 Power, #2 Mild, #3 Smooth, #4 Touring Car, #5 Buggy. Each has a different drive frequency setting, brake frequency setting, timing, etc.
Sweet........I can't wait to get my hands on one.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 11:24 AM   #18
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Orion Vortex ESC w/heatsink fan & had best price !

http://rcmarket.com.hk/index.php?cPa...a&filter_id=61

Last edited by RC MARKET; 12-19-2008 at 10:25 AM.
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 02:21 PM   #19
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Rc market do you have a part number for the orion system?
Green Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 07:28 PM   #20
Tech Adept
 
stankulas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: hartford ct
Posts: 230
Default

any new news on the speedo and how it is doing on the track
__________________
RC America
Xray
Hudy
stankulas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:18 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,010
Trader Rating: 35 (97%+)
Send a message via AIM to King of B Main
Default

Guys,

I ran the new speedo last weekend and the speedo worked great. What I really liked that we had 5 options to run. I was planning on running 17.5 and 13.5 brushless so Robert from Ko recommended I use setting 1 which is power. The speedo had plenty of power, break, and it was smooth. If you ran Ko product before then you know there product is top notch.

Also you can't beat Ko service. Robert even called me the next day to make sure I had set my speedo right.

Robert Thanks again
King of B Main is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:20 PM   #22
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 49
Default

My friend bought one and said it does not use a power capacitor. I think I will get one just for that .
JHIH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 03:41 AM   #23
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King of B Main View Post
Guys,

I ran the new speedo last weekend and the speedo worked great. What I really liked that we had 5 options to run. I was planning on running 17.5 and 13.5 brushless so Robert from Ko recommended I use setting 1 which is power. The speedo had plenty of power, break, and it was smooth. If you ran Ko product before then you know there product is top notch.

Also you can't beat Ko service. Robert even called me the next day to make sure I had set my speedo right.

Robert Thanks again
definitely lots of balls behind this speedo.

ran it in both 13.5 and 17.5...and there's definitely a difference from my "old" BL ESC. now i just need to get my hands on a card so i can program this badboy already.

i LOVED programming the old VFS speedos. once that card comes out, the true potential of this esc will be let loose!
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 10:30 AM   #24
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,993
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Hebiki;5185383]definitely lots of balls behind this speedo. QUOTE]


NO COMMENT
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 11:23 AM   #25
Ike
Tech Master
 
Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
Orion Vortex ESC w/heatsink fan & had best price !

http://rcmarket.com.hk/index.php?cPa...a&filter_id=61

You guys are more expensive than most of the US retailers I've seen plus shipping is far more expensive...

Does anyone have the exact dimensions of the ESC?
Ike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 07:32 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

Just wondering if the esc has a lipo cutoff function? (if so, does it need the handheld programmer to make it work?)

Also, does the esc require a power capacitor at all? (ie. when running mod tc? 10.5t, 17.5t)
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:24 AM   #27
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melb,Aust
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

According to the Japanese KO home page under the FAQ section for BMC. http://kopropo.co.jp/wp/?cat=72
They do not recommend it at all. Here is the translation from www.excite.co.jp

"Are an external capacitor and Schottky unnecessary in BMC?

Because it is likely to have the opposite result to what was intended rather in the one to sell present, it is basically unnecessary though the capacitor is effective in the control of fuel cost and generation of heat by the thing. Schottky is also useless. "

Hopefully that helps.

Alex
MobileSuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 08:26 AM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melb,Aust
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes the speedy does have 3 different cut-off setting.

- 4 cells
- 5-6cells
- lipo


Alex
MobileSuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 04:37 PM   #29
Tech Regular
 
jsfrcfrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default cutoff

So what does the the speedo come set at from the factory for voltage cutoff? (Hopefully lipo, hate to spend another $70 to change it)
jsfrcfrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:50 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375 View Post
Just wondering if the esc has a lipo cutoff function? (if so, does it need the handheld programmer to make it work?)

Also, does the esc require a power capacitor at all? (ie. when running mod tc? 10.5t, 17.5t)
I was wondering the same thing , I got the orion version and i was suprised that there was no cap ,I am using this on my 12 scale with 13.5 ,17.5 ,so can someone confirm that we dont need a power cap??
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
best esc for touring car devin4444 Electric On-Road 48 05-02-2016 10:01 AM
Foam tire spec chassi!! Team_Elli Electric On-Road 15 07-28-2009 07:26 AM
KO BMC vs SP GT2.0 vs LRP SXX krat Electric On-Road 36 07-11-2009 07:18 PM
Orion Vortex BL Race ESC dr_hfuhuhurr Radio and Electronics 29 03-02-2009 07:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:16 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net