R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2003, 11:32 PM   #76
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sausage_link
If i were you AE racer i would buy an external power supply as well. The reason being because the external power supplies are powerfuller and can handle the spikes and will filter the power that gets to your charger.
Notice how all the people who say there charger false peaks when it runs off the internal supply.

I use a modded 250watt power supply and i have successfully run a car amplifier, and 2 chargers at the same time off it.
Intergy says "It has an internal 14 Amp switching power supply (18A peak output), 16X9v9's internal 14A power supply is powerful enough to operate the INDI Dyno, together with the INDI Dyno, you can check motor rpm, break-in motors and drive lathe motor." It sounds to me like this charger has their 14A SHE powersupply built into it and thats the power supply I was planning on getting anyway. I would perfer to go seperate, but I can only afford to if I buy it from hk (it will actually be cheaper) but I dont want to be stuck with no warrenty.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 11:33 PM   #77
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

On another note and someone please correct me if I am wrong...
If you buy a cheap power supply as opposed to a descent "clean" power supply (a supply with good filters used for ham radios, etc etc) your batteries don't get a very good/clean charge or so I have heard... Popsracer have you any info on this?
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 11:38 PM   #78
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I dunno the 14A SHE power supply dosnt look cheap to me, intergy sells it for $138 but I can get it for $80 if I order from HK.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 11:43 PM   #79
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
I dunno the 14A SHE power supply dosnt look cheap to me, intergy sells it for $138 but I can get it for $80 if I order from HK.
Well, putting price aside.... by cheap I meant not providing a clean supply of power
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 12:00 AM   #80
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Im thinking I should probably get a seperate charger and power supply the two of the would be easier to carry than the 16x9v6, I saw a picture comparing it with the 16x5v6 and the thing is huge atleast if I had two seperate units they would be able to fit in a toolbox. I sent Intergy an e-mail asking if they support Eagle products, I hoping they do because I cant find the 16x5v6 for a decent price in the US.

heres the comparison pic:
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 12:51 AM   #81
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Well if you are really serious about getting into electrics, I suggest buy the best stuff you can afford with your budget. Buy cheap now, then you will end up upgrading later, thus spending more. People here have given you very good options, the 16x5v6 for one. I think most of the reputable companies sell it for $189.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:53 AM   #82
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

do u recommend the yokomo bcs-s compact? or indi 16x5v6? or indi 16x7v6?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 06:45 AM   #83
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Send a message via ICQ to sausage_link
Default

Yeah i just saw the BCS-s
It looks alrite. But i think i'm going to get a CDC v6.

Shyt how big is that 16x9v6...
sausage_link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 11:03 AM   #84
Tech Addict
 
holycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: SoCal Raceway
Posts: 511
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evoracer
Hey !!! somebody give us some help and answer my last question.
You dont need a power source to discharge something, it is simply a huge resistor.

I have an integy 16x7 which does 6amps up and 30amps down, and I run it on a 10amp power supply, and I discharge all day.
holycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 11:20 AM   #85
Tech Master
 
cHckbOY5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to cHckbOY5
Default

wats a cdcv6?
cHckbOY5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 01:45 PM   #86
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Integy 16x5v6



forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:01 PM   #87
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I wanted to try the CDC V6.0 as well, but my CE Pitbull have been flawless so far, no problem what so ever...
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:06 PM   #88
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 288
Send a message via Yahoo to the shoe
Default

Power supply supplying a set rate of power now if the rate flexuates while you are using it your equipment may experience problems(False peaks,overload,ect)so a power supply that is said to be clean delivers a solid rate of out put no mater what the imput voiltage
the shoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:16 PM   #89
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

So AE racer, what do you have in mind after all these post?
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 01:25 AM   #90
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Send a message via ICQ to sausage_link
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the shoe
Power supply supplying a set rate of power now if the rate flexuates while you are using it your equipment may experience problems(False peaks,overload,ect)so a power supply that is said to be clean delivers a solid rate of out put no mater what the imput voiltage
Most chargers say what voltage ranges they use... like 11.5 - 15
sausage_link is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to electric...need advice rccrazy_racer Electric Off-Road 22 09-22-2008 05:28 AM
recent electric convert needs advice monocog Electric Off-Road 14 12-05-2006 07:58 AM
Electric racing advice r2160 Australian Racing 6 06-01-2006 04:07 PM
Can anyone offer some advice for a new Electric user on Tc4 vs Losi XXX-S? Ashenor Electric On-Road 12 10-26-2005 09:50 AM
Want to race electric on-road, need advice!! taxguycmt Rookie Zone 4 03-01-2003 09:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net