R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2003, 09:42 AM   #61
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

http://iwce-mrt.com/ar/radio_switching_vs_linear/
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:49 AM   #62
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

I have a Quasar pro and I've never had a false peak with it... I like being able to plug it into 110 or use a power supply... I'll charge at 6.5 amps and discharge at 30 amps... The cycle feature is nice to have also... You can adjust the delta peak and also adjust the trickle charge down to zero for nimh packs... I plan to get another charger soon but it's going to be a CE tubo 35...
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:10 PM   #63
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

^^^^
Do you run on a track were LOTS of people are are running chargers at one time? I still just like the Idea of a sperate power supply and charger and If I can use a lower amperage power supply and still have discharging abilities the price will be very comparable to just buying an AC/DC charger.

Anybody know the anyser to the discharging question? Mabey We should start a new thread on this.

minicooper: I dont have time to read all of that, can you tell us if it answers the question?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 01:23 PM   #64
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default More Power!

Guys;

Another advantage to suing a seperate Power Supply is:

The Rivergate Bulldog 30A only uses 700 watts current and is rock solid even with a slightly low AC input (as Generators do when loaded down)

I know from experience the Reedy chargers have problems if the AC voltage drops slightly below 120VAC. If the track has commercial power and the wiring is up to code, there should not be a problem.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 02:49 PM   #65
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Im also now considering the 16x9v6 it has all the features of the CDC v6 or 16x5v6 but has a built in 14Amp power supply, it can also run a lathe or motor dyno because the powersupply makes more power than what is needed for the charger. I can also get this charger for $240 at speedtechrc which is based in the US (I think) so I probably shouldnt have any warrenty problems or Japanese Instructions. The only problem that I have with it is that its very big its somthing like 9.5x8x3in. I think Id rather have two smaller units than one large one. I wonder if the power supply in this charger will have problems with low AC voltage.

Does anybody know if the CDC v6 will come with English Instructions if I order it from HK?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 03:27 PM   #66
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

If you are just going to save a few bucks, I suggest buying it in the US instead of HK if you are in the US. It comes with a 5 yr. warranty from Integy.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 03:29 PM   #67
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

If you are going to run a lathe, make sure that it has an adjustable motor run-in/break-in feature. This is what will let you connect it directly to the lathe's motor.
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 08:52 PM   #68
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 288
Send a message via Yahoo to the shoe
Default

Lets answer that ??? A charger can discharge at higher amps than power supply because discharge can be accomplished by means of resistors in the unit whitch requirer no power .Now i am not sure that all chargers work in this fashion. AE's requirer a large power supply to opperate so could be that discharge is acomplished by some other electrical method which i know little about.........NEXT
the shoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 08:55 PM   #69
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

So did anybody answer the discharge question in full?? If I have a 10 amp supply....can I use the chargers full discharge rate of 20 or 30 amps?? I say no but I'm looking for clarification. I think minicooper might have answered it but I'm not sure.
Popsracer is right about the Rivergate units...top notch and actually quite reasonably priced.
As for the Integy, I have a 16 x 9 and I like it. Why buy from HK?? Speedtech 240.00, Integy 260.00 and you'll get the support. BTW, did you see the one thats being advertised in the for sale section???
Evoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:02 PM   #70
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Oops, thanks shoe !!
Evoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:25 PM   #71
Tech Addict
 
stumper1's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Discharger and power supply

I don't think power supply amperage and discharge amperage are related in any way. I have a 30 amp Integy discharger that is totally passive ( requires no external power ). My old Quasar Pro discharged at 20 amps but I'm SURE the internal power supply was not 20 amps. Most dischargers use resistors whick basically just turn the power in the battery into heat - that's why they get so hot. I would think the only reason most chargers with built in dischargers need power at all is to monitor the discharge and adjust any internal variable resistor to change the discharge amperage. It will also let you adjust the cutoff.

As far as switching power supplies I have been told that a switching supply just provides power as needed whereas a non-switching supply gives out a constant ( more consistant ) output.
stumper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:36 PM   #72
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

EvoRacer, how do you like your 16x9? do you have the v6 version? Any problems with it? Does the built in power supply have any problems with slightly lower than normal voltage? I'd think it wouldnt because Intergy kinda makes it sound like their 14 amp power supply is built into this charger. Are you able to run a lathe off of it? I dont think it has any motor run-in features. Does it seem very big to you? Ive also heard the qualities not good, is this true? I The only advantage I see two buying the seperate units now is that if I got a new charger I could keep the same power supply and it would be cheaper for pretty much the same stuff (from HK that is).

"A charger can discharge at higher amps than power supply because discharge can be accomplished by means of resistors in the unit whitch requirer no power."
But are the resisters installed in a regular power supply or DC charger that has discharge features?

Btw, does Intergy have warrenty support in the US for products bought in HK?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 09:43 PM   #73
Tech Master
 
sausage_link's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melb, Australia
Posts: 1,025
Send a message via ICQ to sausage_link
Default

If i were you AE racer i would buy an external power supply as well. The reason being because the external power supplies are powerfuller and can handle the spikes and will filter the power that gets to your charger.
Notice how all the people who say there charger false peaks when it runs off the internal supply.

I use a modded 250watt power supply and i have successfully run a car amplifier, and 2 chargers at the same time off it.
sausage_link is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 11:18 PM   #74
Tech Master
 
forty6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,922
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
...

Btw, does Intergy have warrenty support in the US for products bought in HK?
I don't believe so. I think it is sold as a different brand name over there (Eagle).
forty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2003, 11:25 PM   #75
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evoracer
So did anybody answer the discharge question in full?? If I have a 10 amp supply....can I use the chargers full discharge rate of 20 or 30 amps?? I say no but I'm looking for clarification.
Your power supply has nothing to do with discharging.....
If you connect a charged battery pack to your charger/discharger there should be enough voltage from your batteries to run the charger/discharger. Once your pack is discharged, however, your charger will turn off and not stay on to give you any reading that it might have collected from the discharge.
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to electric...need advice rccrazy_racer Electric Off-Road 22 09-22-2008 05:28 AM
recent electric convert needs advice monocog Electric Off-Road 14 12-05-2006 07:58 AM
Electric racing advice r2160 Australian Racing 6 06-01-2006 04:07 PM
Can anyone offer some advice for a new Electric user on Tc4 vs Losi XXX-S? Ashenor Electric On-Road 12 10-26-2005 09:50 AM
Want to race electric on-road, need advice!! taxguycmt Rookie Zone 4 03-01-2003 09:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net