R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2008, 05:33 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default Powering brushless motor directly from battery...

Is there anyway I can power a brushless motor directly from a DC power source like a battery ???

The reason I asked is that I have a motor pulled out from a printer that I wish to use in a project of mine... is there anyway I can wire the motors directly to a DC power source without using any special brushless speedcontroller???
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 06:46 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Don't think so. Brushed motors can as they use direct current, but BL motors are using AC.

BL ESC convert DC to AC for BL motor use.

Someone correct me, if I'm wrong.
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 07:05 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

You can try something like this...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ORCA-BRUSHLESS-M...3286.m20.l1116
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 07:38 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Food for thought;

I have 2 sets of cooling fans I use, both are labeled as 'brushless' one has 3 wires ,red/blue/black, the other just has red,black. I run both systems on just the red black and both work fine.

While the specific motors in the RC industry require all 3 phases, I don't think the same is true for all 'brushless' motors.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 09:18 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miller tyme View Post
Food for thought;

I have 2 sets of cooling fans I use, both are labeled as 'brushless' one has 3 wires ,red/blue/black, the other just has red,black. I run both systems on just the red black and both work fine.

While the specific motors in the RC industry require all 3 phases, I don't think the same is true for all 'brushless' motors.
3 wire pc fans have +, - and sense (for RPM measuring). 2 wire are just + and -. they all have the controller on the board inside the fan.

RC motors have 3 sets of windings, with a wire connecting each one to the controller (there's some funky wiring inside so you only need 3 wires, not 6).

so you can't run an RC motor from a DC supply, even though its powered by DC current, it's a switched DC current.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 09:21 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
miller tyme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
3 wire pc fans have +, - and sense (for RPM measuring). 2 wire are just + and -. they all have the controller on the board inside the fan.

RC motors have 3 sets of windings, with a wire connecting each one to the controller (there's some funky wiring inside so you only need 3 wires, not 6).

so you can't run an RC motor from a DC supply, even though its powered by DC current, it's a switched DC current.
Agreed, like I said RC motors need all 3....he said it is a motor out of a printer.
__________________
Ken Miller
RCTarget - Capricorn - Pro Level RC - MAX Power - Maxima Fuel - EA Motorsorts - TQ Wire

LONG LIVE OPEN MODIFIED
miller tyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 09:30 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

that printer motor is probably a stepper motor. Entirely different from the kind we use
rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 10:08 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rough512 View Post
that printer motor is probably a stepper motor. Entirely different from the kind we use
same idea, but with a sensor I think. stepper drivers can be made from basic microcontrollers.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net