R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Rubber Tire Prep (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/255778-rubber-tire-prep.html)

chicagokenji 11-25-2008 07:07 PM

Originally Posted by nitrobeast (Post 5093437)
I would like to know this too. Im new to electric racing and seen guys use tire warmers outside but not sure if they do it indoors on carpet too?

If you are new to racing find the guys who are your track's veteran racers and ask them for their opinion for your vehicle.

rezenclowd3 11-25-2008 07:11 PM

Originally Posted by nitrobeast (Post 5093437)
I would like to know this too. Im new to electric racing and seen guys use tire warmers outside but not sure if they do it indoors on carpet too?

I answered this above.

chicagokenji 11-25-2008 07:27 PM

How many people at your carpet track use your method?

mok 11-25-2008 07:43 PM

Traction compounds are for girls :ha::p
Tyre warmers on the other hand are perfectly fine :nod:

In fact, I'd go as far to say that warmers are invaluable for rubber tyre racing on carpet where the track doesnt get much of a chance to warm up. Outdoors on asphalt its not so much of an issue as the track tends to warm up and the tyres get heat from that, but I still use them.

As for tyre prep..

I spray a light coating of WD40 on a cloth and using the moisture wipe off any excess dust, rubber particles or carpet fibres etc. This is usually done at the same time I am prepping my car for the upcoming race day. Some people use it to get extra traction by spraying directly onto the tyre whilst at the track, I do not do this.