Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree29Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Reply

Old 09-22-2015, 01:51 PM
  #8806  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 829
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
is this w/ fresh P03 or re-used P03?

i do see more play -- but 1mm is nothing i've ever seen.
With new P03.

Maybe 1mm is a bit much but it's at least .05-.07mm. It's definitely noticeable when you compare it with AT21 which has almost no play.

Any way to remove the play or do you just live with it?
malkiy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:49 PM
  #8807  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by malkiy View Post
With new P03.

Maybe 1mm is a bit much but it's at least .05-.07mm. It's definitely noticeable when you compare it with AT21 which has almost no play.

Any way to remove the play or do you just live with it?
i see about 1/2mm. everyone i know just lives with it. hasn't been holding anyone back
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:51 PM
  #8808  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 100
Default

That's exactly the amount of play (.5-.75mm) i have now when i changed over to new at21s' s and p03's. The lower balls seemed to make the play between the st05 into the spr01/02 slightly worse. I was thinking to use a little heat shrink tubing over part of the spr02 to help shim up st05 tighter.

Also, what mode is recommended for the mm2 with rfg? Right now, it's in mode 3 but the rfg seems tight. If i loosen the screw, it moves smooth like the ffg. Do i have this right?
vapourtrail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:53 PM
  #8809  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

RFG instructions show mode 4
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:06 PM
  #8810  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,530
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

There should be 0 play between the st05/spr02 under any circumstances. Check that the spr02 are not bent and the travel in the damper is set properly. Also if the ride height or droop are severely off it can cause play there
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:32 PM
  #8811  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
There should be 0 play between the st05/spr02 under any circumstances. Check that the spr02 are not bent and the travel in the damper is set properly. Also if the ride height or droop are severely off it can cause play there
loosening the dampers within the holders, and then bottoming out the suspension is a great way to get the ST05 + SPR02 mesh right.
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 04:10 PM
  #8812  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Everett, WA
Posts: 100
Default

Mode 4, got it. Thanks!

I agree there shouldn't be any play. Spr02's don't appear bent. When i assembled my evo2 earlier this year, i did see how the d2 vane and the spr02 stop (on the damper mount) needed to bottom out simultaneously and it's set there.

I'll try resetting the dampers. Thanks guys!
vapourtrail is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 04:14 PM
  #8813  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Schwarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
There should be 0 play between the st05/spr02 under any circumstances. Check that the spr02 are not bent and the travel in the damper is set properly. Also if the ride height or droop are severely off it can cause play there
I found that if the downstop setting is around 4-5 on droop blocks I get play between spr02 and st05, but that measures 4-5mm+ over ride height.
Schwarta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:08 PM
  #8814  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Schwarta View Post
I found that if the downstop setting is around 4-5 on droop blocks I get play between spr02 and st05, but that measures 4-5mm+ over ride height.
D2 (new) or old dampers?
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:38 PM
  #8815  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Schwarta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
D2 (new) or old dampers?
New ones.
Schwarta is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:56 PM
  #8816  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Schwarta View Post
New ones.
Yeah your problem is because of the position of the damper in relation to everything else. Loosen the cylinders in the damper holders. Setup the car. Compress the suspension a few items and then retighten.

Using a 14.5 to 15mm upstop is also recommend
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 06:08 PM
  #8817  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (306)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,291
Trader Rating: 306 (100%+)
Default

...all this talk about rfg and V2 shocks, alloy chassis etc is doing my head in guys! All I know is my A700 is just a V1 with FFG and MM2, shocks and springs are set up but I haven't touched roll centres or even looked at camber yet but already it feels better to drive than my T4 15', on a large outdoor track it's far more forgiving and if you get it a bit loose (silly me ran Solaris Hard's on a 22c day) it's a lot easier to recover. On a large outdoor fast flowing track, should I be dropping the roll centre shims from 3mm and 2mm (front and back on upper arm) to something lower? Ideally I want to use the efficiency of the shaft drive to my advantage running 21.5 spec, so the response out of a corner and off a dead start is where I want to have the most traction.
nexxus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 07:23 PM
  #8818  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

nexxus - is there something wrong with your car's handling?? you're going to have to vocalize what is not good for us to help you.

the best drivers i know "tinker" -- they try different settings. use the lap counter + feel to find what you want...
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 07:41 PM
  #8819  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (306)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,291
Trader Rating: 306 (100%+)
Default

Sorry I should have been clearer, I'm chasing a bit more stability mid corner, at the moment if I take things a bit too aggressively it tends to step out. I am not running sway bars at the moment as they seemed to make things worse. Would removing shims from the top roll centre links on the bulkhead help there?
nexxus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 03:45 AM
  #8820  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,684
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Nexxus - the same advise from last page applies to your problem...
http://www.rctech.net/forum/14190575-post8795.html
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service