Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree96Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Old 02-25-2015, 09:53 AM
  #8116  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Did any kits ship out this week from awesomatixusa? Can't wait to start the build!!!!!
b20btec is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 10:44 AM
  #8117  
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 427
Default

Originally Posted by b20btec View Post
Did any kits ship out this week from awesomatixusa? Can't wait to start the build!!!!!
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
WesRaven is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 10:52 AM
  #8118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
b20btec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 1,179
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
I don't have my kits yet but from doing research, main things were,

EVO 2
Aluminum Chassis
FFG1.1

L2
Carbon Chassis
No FFG
b20btec is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:12 AM
  #8119  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,669
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
That setup station looks like the integy purple setup station, which the caster doodles also work with
Hey Mike
I have the Integy set up station..the caster noodle didn't work.. If I remember right the caster doodle pointer was a little too high. later I brought the Hudy later
OVA is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:15 AM
  #8120  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Floating gear box?????

I just built two 700l kits and the reason I didn't go with the EVO is because I run VTA and USGT and for those two classes I beleive that the floating gear box is over kill. If I were running 17.5 or mod I would have the EVO. I am getting ready to convert a used roller that I bought to a aluminum chassis car just to see how it feels. I can tell you that at best I was a B MAIN driver with my XRAYS but put both my AWESOMATIX cars in the AMAIN this past weekend!
TWILL is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:16 AM
  #8121  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,740
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
Hey Mike
I have the Integy set up station..the caster noodle didn't work...So I brought the Hudy later
Integy has many setup stations. The older ones with the purple blocks works. I think the newer ones do not
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:24 AM
  #8122  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,669
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Integy has many setup stations. The older ones with the purple blocks works. I think the newer ones do not
I have the old one ...why are you telling me it does work I have tried it before about since the first A700 came out
I own the set up for more than 5 year..I brought this set up for Tamiya 201 F1
OVA is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:28 AM
  #8123  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,740
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
I have the old one ...why are you telling me it does work I have tried it before about since the first A700 came out
I own the set up for more than 5 year..I brought this set up for Tamiya 201 F1
Because i have seen many people use the purple setup blocks with the doodles just fine
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:45 AM
  #8124  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,669
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Because i have seen many people use the purple setup blocks with the doodles just fine
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
OVA is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 12:02 PM
  #8125  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,740
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
It is also possible they changed the shape of them at some point and never told anybody, that would be a very integy thing to do. But the hudys are much nicer
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 02-25-2015, 12:47 PM
  #8126  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
kartermdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Glad I'm not the only one anxiously awaiting like a little kid

It looks like my L2 has been delayed a little bit, and I'm considering upgrading to the Evo 2 instead. Anyone mind chiming in with the fundamental difference between the Evo and L cars? I found a list of different parts the Evo uses compared to the L, but a list of part numbers doesn't really paint a good picture for a first time buyer.

Cost aside, is there a reason one would want to go with the L2 over an Evo 2?

-Wes
If you are ever planning on bolting in more power than a 17.5, I would opt for the evo. I have run an evo and L in 17.5 and noticed no difference. I did run an L at snowbirds in VTA.
kartermdb is offline  
Old 02-26-2015, 12:04 AM
  #8127  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default I had the Integy.

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
well some how ,I didn't like the way it fit or turn out ,,I know by to comparing the hudy seem to work better in my opinion .. but it is all good
I had the Integy setup system and had to remove material from the Caster Doodle to use it with the 700l. I have since purchased the Hudy because it gives a more precise reading than the Integy system. With a Dremel and a little patience it's pretty easy to modify the Caster Doodle to work with Integy system. I bought Integy based on price and then spent $$$$$ AGAIN after I bought my Awesomatx cars.
TWILL is offline  
Old 02-26-2015, 01:58 PM
  #8128  
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 427
Default

Anyone running a 200mm body on their A700? I'm going to be running my Evo 2 in USGT with a HPI Ford GT body. HPI's website says to use 3mm wheels, but everywhere else online says 6mm which seems to make more sense mathematically.

Exactly how wide is the Evo 2? Unfortunately I don't have my kit quite yet to measure myself, so was hoping someone has experience getting the right wheel for a 200mm GT body.

Last edited by WesRaven; 02-26-2015 at 02:40 PM.
WesRaven is offline  
Old 02-26-2015, 02:02 PM
  #8129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WesRaven View Post
Anyone running a 200mm body on their A700? I'm going to be running my Evo 2 in USGT with a HPI Ford GT body. HPI's website says to use 3mm wheels, but everywhere else online says 6mm which seems to make more sense mathematically.

Exactly how wide is the Evo 2? Unfortunately I don't have my kit quite yet to measure myself, so was hoping someone has experience getting the right wheel for a 200mm bodies.
200mm will work just fine. I have used them before. It just doesn't look as good as the 190mm because there will be a bigger fender gap or space between the wheels and the body. Nothing you will see on the track but if you are up close you will. All USVTA bodies are 200mm but the rims are wider so it looks better.
Travis S is offline  
Old 02-26-2015, 02:38 PM
  #8130  
Tech Regular
 
WesRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 427
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
200mm will work just fine. I have used them before. It just doesn't look as good as the 190mm because there will be a bigger fender gap or space between the wheels and the body. Nothing you will see on the track but if you are up close you will. All USVTA bodies are 200mm but the rims are wider so it looks better.
I understand there will be some gap, which is why I'm wondering what offset of wheel people are running to compensate. I'm probably going with 6mm all the way around, but curious what other people's experience is before I place the order. Thanks guys.
WesRaven is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.