Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree96Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Old 12-23-2014, 02:23 AM
  #7621  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I can't wait to see Oleg design a damper with two separate oil chambers with separate vanes and one way bearings for fully independent compression and rebound settings. :P

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 03:47 AM
  #7622  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,607
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
But how does it influence the damper's behaviour in comparison to AT41 with holes in the blades?
Drilling different size or different quantity of holes will allow you to adjust pack, just like in blank shock pistions.

Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
Maybe it's just so you can drill your own holes?

-Mike
you are correct sir. AT41-0 damper vane is without holes --- for the ultimate in adjustability, but also confusion . i wouldn't recommend this for the newbie racer.
hanulec is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 07:42 AM
  #7623  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
cmunro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: houston,tx
Posts: 540
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

so does the new chassis require the new motor mount? and the new motor mount require the new chassis ? just wondering if it is possible to upgrade one at a time
cmunro is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 08:12 AM
  #7624  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cmunro View Post
so does the new chassis require the new motor mount? and the new motor mount require the new chassis ? just wondering if it is possible to upgrade one at a time
It is impossible to mount the new MM2 on C01AL-S, it requires the use of the new alu chassis C01AL-S2. I supposed it is the same if you want to mount the old motor mount on C01AL-S2...

BTW, I sell an A700 Evo + parts and options, more details by PM
G-rem is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 09:50 AM
  #7625  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,031
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
It is impossible to mount the new MM2 on C01AL-S, it requires the use of the new alu chassis C01AL-S2.
NOT accurate !

From Oleg :

http://www.rctech.net/forum/13718643-post7561.html

New motor mount has four flex modes
At Mode 3 and Mode 4 the using of AM69 battery holder is not important and new motor mount can be installed without AM69 on C01, C01L, C01EX, C01AL and C01AL-H chassis also.
You can also use new motor mount even at Mode 1 and Mode 2 without AM69 on these chassis with losing of few percents of flex symmetry.
Furthermore you can install AM69 even on C01, C01L and C01EX chassis and get all flex modes after very simple filing of the chassis edge under AM69 leg.
Magnet Top is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 10:15 AM
  #7626  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 935
Default

Originally Posted by cmunro View Post
so does the new chassis require the new motor mount? and the new motor mount require the new chassis ? just wondering if it is possible to upgrade one at a time
Jake is already ahead of me to answer.

I have to add the next:

Mode 1 is the softest and Mode 4 is the stiffest.

Our Team drivers use only Mode 2 and Mode 3 now and it seems a sufficient choice at the most conditions.

C01AL-S2 chassis and new C01L2 carbon chassis - all four modes are possible.
C01AL -S chassis - Mode 1,2,3 are possible.

C01, C01L, C01EX, C01AL and C01AL-H chassis - Mode 1,2,3 are possible but without AM69 Battery Support installation.

Yes, after very simple filing of the chassis edge under AM69 leg you can install AM69 even on C01, C01L and C01EX chassis and get pure Mode 1 and Mode 2 also.

Last edited by Oleg Babich; 12-23-2014 at 10:30 AM.
Oleg Babich is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 01:10 PM
  #7627  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I can't wait to see Oleg design a damper with two separate oil chambers with separate vanes and one way bearings for fully independent compression and rebound settings. :P

-Mike
I was about to post an identical suggestion earlier today. I guess the owb's would have to be absolutely tiny.

About the holes in the new shocks, it should be easier to find the optimum pack because the rotary damper is inherently superior due to the volume being constant along with consistent low friction ballraced vanes.

A flexible plastic cover over one hole would create a one way valve which could give different compression and rebound.

So many possibilities but I guess we just have to find out what works on track and grow from there
hana166 is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 01:49 PM
  #7628  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Maybe a stupide question but how much D2-S do I need for the 4 corners of my car? 2 or 4 (come as a pair or as a single piece)?

Juste saw it now, what is D2 damper? In comparison to D2-S?

Last thing: can I still use the AM30-5 short central stiffner with the new C01AL-S2? Or only the long AM33-5 fits?

Thanks,
G-rem

Last edited by G-rem; 12-23-2014 at 02:12 PM.
G-rem is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 04:01 PM
  #7629  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,607
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

A700-d2-s is one piece. You need four per car

The old braces should fit..
hanulec is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 04:04 PM
  #7630  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
I was about to post an identical suggestion earlier today. I guess the owb's would have to be absolutely tiny.

About the holes in the new shocks, it should be easier to find the optimum pack because the rotary damper is inherently superior due to the volume being constant along with consistent low friction ballraced vanes.

A flexible plastic cover over one hole would create a one way valve which could give different compression and rebound.

So many possibilities but I guess we just have to find out what works on track and grow from there
Actually, what I mentioned wouldn't work that well. I forgot that the housing has an oil chamber for each vane, with limits to how far the vanes can turn. If the vanes only turn one way, they'd hit the limit of their travel, and then badness ensues.

Rather than throw more half-assed ideas out there, I'll just continue to eat my popcorn and drive my orange car and see what Oleg comes up with next.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 12-23-2014, 10:36 PM
  #7631  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
A700-d2-s is one piece. You need four per car

The old braces should fit..
Thanks for the support Mike!

For Oleg: what is D2 damper? In comparison to D2-S?

Thanks,
G-rem

Last edited by G-rem; 12-23-2014 at 11:14 PM.
G-rem is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 04:00 AM
  #7632  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Maybe an idea for a last christmas gift?

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...l#post13738348



Merry christmas to all the russian car lovers (and the others too)
G-rem is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 05:27 AM
  #7633  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 935
Default

Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
Thanks for the support Mike!

For Oleg: what is D2 damper? In comparison to D2-S?

Thanks,
G-rem
D2 is RTR oil filled damper ( 500 cst oil inside is now).
D2-S is the kit for assembling (oil is not included).
Oleg Babich is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 06:05 AM
  #7634  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nice, thanks!
G-rem is offline  
Old 12-24-2014, 06:52 AM
  #7635  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ipswich.uk
Posts: 6
Default

Silly question ! But now you change oil in dampers , do they still move in and out as well also what was the aprox wight of oil in old dampers?
mixertom is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.