Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree96Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Old 07-25-2014, 04:41 PM
  #6811  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ok so my parts wont be here till next week. what can i do to my setup thats posted at the top of the page to improve for a technical track. my car carves on big sweeping corners very well but a more technical track the car feels lazy and not reactive enough. i need a little more for tomorrow. gotta try to get the advantage for the series races. only 5 races. 1st one i tq'd but broke in the main on got 10th, 2nd race i got 4th, this is the 3rd in the series of 5 races. i need a win to get on top and stay there. any help is appreciated. I might be able to borrow a damper tool but only depends on if "magnet top" shows up.


here is the setup. https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0Z2...5oV29YSTg/edit
dragonracing is offline  
Old 07-25-2014, 04:52 PM
  #6812  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,031
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dragonracing View Post
ok so my parts wont be here till next week. what can i do to my setup thats posted at the top of the page to improve for a technical track. my car carves on big sweeping corners very well but a more technical track the car feels lazy and not reactive enough. i need a little more for tomorrow. gotta try to get the advantage for the series races. only 5 races. 1st one i tq'd but broke in the main on got 10th, 2nd race i got 4th, this is the 3rd in the series of 5 races. i need a win to get on top and stay there. any help is appreciated. I might be able to borrow a damper tool but only depends on if "magnet top" shows up.


here is the setup. https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0Z2...5oV29YSTg/edit
Try bigger sway bars, that should decrease laziness and allow the car to transition faster.. I'll be there tomorrow, so just as I offered previously , you are welcome to use my "feeler" gauge to adjust the dampers and spring rate.

Raising roll center can help. Body choice makes a difference too but since I have never run VTA / scale spec I don't have a good suggestion.

Jake D.
Magnet Top is offline  
Old 07-25-2014, 06:34 PM
  #6813  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 848
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dragonracing View Post
ok so my parts wont be here till next week. what can i do to my setup thats posted at the top of the page to improve for a technical track. my car carves on big sweeping corners very well but a more technical track the car feels lazy and not reactive enough. i need a little more for tomorrow. gotta try to get the advantage for the series races. only 5 races. 1st one i tq'd but broke in the main on got 10th, 2nd race i got 4th, this is the 3rd in the series of 5 races. i need a win to get on top and stay there. any help is appreciated. I might be able to borrow a damper tool but only depends on if "magnet top" shows up.


here is the setup. https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B0Z2...5oV29YSTg/edit
I would try shorter camber links.
erchn is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:04 AM
  #6814  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (117)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 117 (98%+)
Default

Hi guys. I just bought a used a700 evo. How can I tell if it has an ffg 1.1 or just an ffg?
wstuart is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 05:25 AM
  #6815  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (64)
 
Jamison R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,588
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

If you bought it used it's most likely ffg1. Easy to check for bearing though.
Jamison R is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 05:27 AM
  #6816  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,605
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

POTE=wstuart;13425522]Hi guys. I just bought a used a700 evo. How can I tell if it has an ffg 1.1 or just an ffg?[/QUOTE]

I'd bet it is FFG 1.0 as the first kit with 1.1 was just sold in the USA this past week.

Look at the different part pics to confirm. Start with am54-1
hanulec is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 06:34 AM
  #6817  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (117)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 117 (98%+)
Default

Oh I see. What parts do I need to bring it up to a 1.1?
wstuart is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 09:43 AM
  #6818  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Gridworks Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SoCal
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wstuart View Post
Oh I see. What parts do I need to bring it up to a 1.1?
Will, the main parts you need are:

AM54-1
AM46-1
B74RS
Gridworks Racing is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 11:37 AM
  #6819  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Dark side of the moon
Posts: 131
Default

In the summer we pit on the grass, as a result if you drop a screw it is usually gone. Anyone know where to buy the m3x5 m3x6 screws in quantity that are the same style as the ones in the kit?
trackout is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:20 PM
  #6820  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
xrayaustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Default

Hanulec u coming to nats?
xrayaustin is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 08:41 PM
  #6821  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,605
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trackout View Post
In the summer we pit on the grass, as a result if you drop a screw it is usually gone. Anyone know where to buy the m3x5 m3x6 screws in quantity that are the same style as the ones in the kit?
McMaster Carr has some good bulk screws...

Originally Posted by xrayaustin View Post
Hanulec u coming to nats?
Nah. Just dont have the time to make it....
hanulec is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 09:01 PM
  #6822  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Had to retire the A car today. just too many breakages. track was rough and my setup just would not work. could not be consistent with the car. had to go to my backup tc 6.1. my parts did not arrive in time to get them changed over. still waiting on the parts. managed to tq end ended up 2nd.

the a car just dont like the bumps on this track (rough at best) but with the hard springs and its current setup it was not happening. next race is back to smooth asphalt. and the car will shine. i did shorten up the links in one hole and it made things worse for me so im going to keep long links. i like how it works that way.
dragonracing is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 11:24 PM
  #6823  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,667
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dragonracing View Post
Had to retire the A car today. just too many breakages. track was rough and my setup just would not work. could not be consistent with the car. had to go to my backup tc 6.1. my parts did not arrive in time to get them changed over. still waiting on the parts. managed to tq end ended up 2nd.

the a car just dont like the bumps on this track (rough at best) but with the hard springs and its current setup it was not happening. next race is back to smooth asphalt. and the car will shine. i did shorten up the links in one hole and it made things worse for me so im going to keep long links. i like how it works that way.
well doug
maybe your car didn't like the bumpy track. my A car. seem to be working fine, and I was at least 5 sec faster than your best TQ time. the dang ball cup kept popping off..I'm just too lazy to change it ilol
Some how my servo just lock on me

Last edited by OVA; 07-26-2014 at 11:37 PM.
OVA is offline  
Old 07-27-2014, 04:34 AM
  #6824  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
G-rem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi there, I'm thinking of selling one of my Awesomatix A700Evo and tons of parts.
I think I will have another A700 for sale, with lot of parts also.

PM me if interested and for more details
G-rem is offline  
Old 07-27-2014, 04:57 AM
  #6825  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (117)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,063
Trader Rating: 117 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G-rem View Post
Hi there, I'm thinking of selling one of my Awesomatix A700Evo and tons of parts.
I think I will have another A700 for sale, with lot of parts also.

PM me if interested and for more details
Sent you a pm
wstuart is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.