Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree29Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Reply

Old 09-11-2013, 09:01 PM
  #4306  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan View Post
For the guys that run blinky 17.5, do you guys run any drag brake as a result of the free-wheeling nature of the car and setup more for oversteer? Or do you guys use no drag brake and rely on tapping the brakes on most corners?
I run the same amount of drag brake I did with a belt car and changed how much I use the trigger brake. Though i'm sure everyone will give you a different answer. Just depends on your driving style.
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 10:23 PM
  #4307  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,693
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dan View Post
For the guys that run blinky 17.5, do you guys run any drag brake as a result of the free-wheeling nature of the car and setup more for oversteer? Or do you guys use no drag brake and rely on tapping the brakes on most corners?
in my prior touring cars (when I was fast) I never ran drag brake. i just learned how to push brake effectively into corners. every time I drive a car w/ drag brake I just drive into every corner or are 0.5-1.0s off the pace.

after switching over to the Awesomatix i haven't changed my driving style, but often you need more push brake to slow the car down (and sometimes, the car just carries so much corner speed you don't have to slow down as much).
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:28 PM
  #4308  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

If you use the AM18 and the furthest holes like Gee's carpet setup do you still need shorter turnbuckles? Before I try and fail and piss myself off I thought I would ask...
Travis S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:35 PM
  #4309  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,693
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
If you use the AM18 and the furthest holes like Gee's carpet setup do you still need shorter turnbuckles? Before I try and fail and piss myself off I thought I would ask...
Am18 and am19 both need shorter turnbuckles than stock.
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:48 PM
  #4310  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
Am18 and am19 both need shorter turnbuckles than stock.
That hurts... You don't have them in stock either and I need something by Tuesday! What size's can I use? I see your site lists them as 1 1/4" so would 4x30mm work? I am trying to find a place that I can get these fast so I am looking at all options...
Travis S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:59 PM
  #4311  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 8,693
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
That hurts... You don't have them in stock either and I need something by Tuesday! What size's can I use? I see your site lists them as 1 1/4" so would 4x30mm work? I am trying to find a place that I can get these fast so I am looking at all options...
1+ month lunsford back order

3mm diameter
30mm length

I have TOP photon steel rods on one of my cars right now..
hanulec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 04:07 PM
  #4312  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,331
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

NO TOP STUFF ON AWESOMATIX !!! JEES.....
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 04:11 PM
  #4313  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,331
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No mailing address for Awesomatix Usa is the real issue at hand here !!! Come on, get it together !
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 07:54 PM
  #4314  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
No mailing address for Awesomatix Usa is the real issue at hand here !!! Come on, get it together !
I think Mike is afraid you might show up on his door step if he listed his address.

Well I am trying some blue tamiya 32mm turnbuckles from one of my other cars until I can get the punishers... Hope they work.
Travis S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:11 PM
  #4315  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,535
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
I think Mike is afraid you might show up on his door step if he listed his address.

Well I am trying some blue tamiya 32mm turnbuckles from one of my other cars until I can get the punishers... Hope they work.
Length should be OK, hope your getting the Ti ones and not the Al ones, Al ones from tamiya are very weak
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 08:16 PM
  #4316  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
Length should be OK, hope your getting the Ti ones and not the Al ones, Al ones from tamiya are very weak
They are AI... That is all I got for now (They came off a different car I have.) I need something before tuesday so I can get some track time with the car. Hopefully the track I am going to will have something better.
Travis S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 12:14 AM
  #4317  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Is the overall height of the AM06S the same as the AM06? I don't have the AM06S so I am trying to adjust Gee's setup. Looks like I can just take out the 1mm at the bottom, but wasn't sure if I need to add anything to the top.
Travis S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 02:00 AM
  #4318  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 754
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
That hurts... You don't have them in stock either and I need something by Tuesday! What size's can I use? I see your site lists them as 1 1/4" so would 4x30mm work? I am trying to find a place that I can get these fast so I am looking at all options...
You can use our AT14 short turnbuckles.
Oleg Babich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 06:03 AM
  #4319  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,331
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Cool

It does not have to be your home address... A PO box address is more appropriate to boost sales... Stop being afraid Mike, you don't live in Syria....lol..
Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
I think Mike is afraid you might show up on his door step if he listed his address.

Well I am trying some blue tamiya 32mm turnbuckles from one of my other cars until I can get the punishers... Hope they work.
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 06:42 AM
  #4320  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,535
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Travis S View Post
Is the overall height of the AM06S the same as the AM06? I don't have the AM06S so I am trying to adjust Gee's setup. Looks like I can just take out the 1mm at the bottom, but wasn't sure if I need to add anything to the top.
No, the AM06s is 1mm shorter overall. If you dont have them, I would reccomend either making the lower arm as low as possible (0 shims with at21s), or run long links to the shortest hole on the bulkhead (like my mod asphalt setup)
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service