Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive) >

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Like Tree96Likes

Awesomatix EP Touring Car (A700 Shaft Drive)

Old 07-17-2013, 04:32 PM
  #3856  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,605
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Unfortunately, it's my brother-in-law (wife's youngest brother), so there's no reasonable way out.
i disagree--- his future wife requires the highest amount of scrutiny.

although you might think it is trivial, but your current setup might be just magical. it is worth writing down...
hanulec is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 05:31 PM
  #3857  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by !Mad Max! View Post
Hey Guys ,
here are my way to measure the caster. A friend of me made it on a CNC.
It fits perfectly with the Hudy Setup System
Viljami already use the Tools from me.

Best Regards
Max
I would love to purchase a set
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 05:32 PM
  #3858  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
Your setup adapters look almost like mine . The only problem with yours is there's nothing to square them up to the axle. If they are twisted just a little it can be as much as 2 degrees at the gauge. Mine have a small ridge that you push it back against the face of the hub . The screw hole is also slotted so you just loosen the screw and slide them in place.
hey aaron..what would you charge me to make a set for me??
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 05:50 PM
  #3859  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by i am cornholio View Post
hey aaron..what would you charge me to make a set for me??
ditto, I'd be interested if they're reasonable. Been waiting on a set from somewhere, but have yet to see anything other than a mock up.
oceanhighz is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:38 PM
  #3860  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 676
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Gauges

I don't know what they would cost I trade my stripper pole and stage for them.
AARON YOUNG is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 08:41 PM
  #3861  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
erchn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Union City, CA
Posts: 848
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
I don't know what they would cost I trade my stripper pole and stage for them.
Stay classy, Aaron.
erchn is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 09:02 PM
  #3862  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
I don't know what they would cost I trade my stripper pole and stage for them.
Damn.... I've got neither of those to trade
oceanhighz is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 11:55 AM
  #3863  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Tidbit from ETS. I didn't notice anything that felt remotely like torque steer in my limited time withe car (13.5). I'm curious to see what they're doing to try and counteract it.

With new parts arriving for the A700 last night with the car’s designer Oleg Babich, which help prevent torque steer on the all shaft drive chassis, Sudhoff said the car is getting better and better as they find what is the best combination of using the new parts with regular parts on the car.

...

He is really happy with the new parts they have on the car. Now with a floating front spool, that prevents torque steer, he said on power steering particularly through left hand corners due to the position of the motor is much better now.

Ooh, floating front spool?
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 12:25 PM
  #3864  
Suspended
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: awahtukee, AZ
Posts: 1,433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AARON YOUNG View Post
I don't know what they would cost I trade my stripper pole and stage for them.
no pole or stage..but im sure I could get u a stripper
i am cornholio is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 12:29 PM
  #3865  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,144
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Freddy's car at the ETS with the new parts.
starts at 3:20
enjoy..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7aHAMGV20E
John Doucakis is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 01:37 PM
  #3866  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,734
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Tidbit from ETS. I didn't notice anything that felt remotely like torque steer in my limited time withe car (13.5). I'm curious to see what they're doing to try and counteract it.




Ooh, floating front spool?
From what I understand its mostly in mod, and with the flexier chassis they have been testing. Floating front spool sounds interesting though
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 01:57 PM
  #3867  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,605
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

The base cars have a 3mm chassis -- that thing ain't flexing odd. If you try and rock a 2.1mm carbon plate things can get twisted up.
hanulec is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:13 PM
  #3868  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 72
Default

Hi guys,

Yes, we are currently testing one of Oleg's awesome ideas! On some Tracks and specially on thin Chassis down to 2.1mm we have in modified the "problem" that we must be very smooth out of the corner because the torque from a mod Motor twist the Chassis. Same happens after heavy braking into corners.
The new parts let the front Spool and gears more possible movement. Its like a Floating bulkhead. So if we accelerate and brake, the bulkhead which included the spool can work and move without bending the Chassis.

Its Hard to describe but we dont want to Release any pictures during this first Stage testing.

But the Car felt completely different and Rolls a lot more!
I hope that some stock guys will test tomorrow the New Parts just to see if there is any difference in stock as well.

Regards
Freddy
FreddySudhoff is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:38 PM
  #3869  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Interesting, I wonder if this is a different phenomenon than what people used to think of as torque steer, where the armature in a brushed motor was implicated as causing the issues.

Either way, thanks for the report, and good luck out there!
syndr0me is offline  
Old 07-19-2013, 03:41 PM
  #3870  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,871
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default A700

Can you get the drivetrain to spin as free as like the old TC3's back in the day?
haywood is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.