R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2008, 02:11 PM   #121
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Bull Crap Dave


I ask Danny ...
Why use C-Rating on SMC products if C-Rating`s are not use full or accurate for rating a pack ?


You can`t have it both ways Dave, condeem another company for using C-rating and then use it yourself ?


All I got back was "I miss the point"....


That`s not a answer Dave , its a dodge ......

Just so everyone knows ...


The "point" of this thread is to condemn that other company for doing just the same as SMC has been doing all along ....


O-Lookie !
here come some more insults...

Reading comprehension is truly not your friend.

Danny NEVER attacked other companies for using C rating, he was just warning people that some companies are using FASLE number and telling us HOW SMC gets their numbers.

So consumers are paying more for 35C packs that are actually 20C packs.

I don't know about you, bu I want to get what I'm paying for.
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:44 PM   #122
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
Bull Crap Dave


I ask Danny ...
Why use C-Rating on SMC products if C-Rating`s are not use full or accurate for rating a pack ?


You can`t have it both ways Dave, condeem another company for using C-rating and then use it yourself ?


All I got back was "I miss the point"....


That`s not a answer Dave , its a dodge ......

Just so everyone knows ...


The "point" of this thread is to condemn that other company for doing just the same as SMC has been doing all along ....


O-Lookie !
here come some more insults
...
You're right George, here comes 'another' one- you are truly an idiot!! For real....and you can't read a lick.

Danny NEVER said or gave the impression/implication that rating lipos for their C-rates is bogus. He simply and to the point I might add, said that SOME COMPANIES ARE BOASTING BOGUS C-RATINGS. Stop smoking pot brah while you still have a few brain cells left......GEESH!!
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:46 PM   #123
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Be carefull Ernie P might be reading this!!!! LOL
__________________
Raymon Robinson

ARC, LRP Go Blue!!
gijoe64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:48 PM   #124
Tech Fanatic
 
Hide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London
Posts: 931
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

This is why I only buy SMC lipos for my TC5
__________________
Losi 8ight-E 2.0, LRP Shark, Xray M18T custom extended, Traxxas VXL Revo
Hide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:50 PM   #125
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da_John_wee View Post
when I came back to RC after 5years of abscent I was confused with Lipo, BL and all that but this is how I understood the Lipo and I am sticking with it.

C rating w/Mah = as same as Mah w/ 1.2V advertised by Battery manufactures (Sanyo, Panasonic, GP..etc)

then Pack should be indivisually tested and labled by RC companies (SMC, Orion, Trinity etc..)to show true racers freindly numbers. (SEC, AVE V, MAh, int)

in NIMH days I wouldnt buy a pack that only show 3300GP 1.2V sub-C.

then why would you buy a Lipo that way? cause it show 5500/55c ! ?? from non RC manufacture?

the only RC company did show the meaningful numbers was SMC and I bought a pack and very happy with it.

here is the nembers on my pack in case you never seen them.

Here's the numbers off my packs.
Attached Thumbnails
False Lipo advertising-p1010077.jpg  
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:50 PM   #126
Tech Master
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

This is all good information...

Thanks.
Akhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 06:32 PM   #127
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
At least I don`t resort to insults ...


I only asked a simple question .....

george, its not the fact that you asked a simple question, its the fact you refuse to understand the simple answer.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 09:12 PM   #128
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

Danny i am very curious on how you have your gfx setup when you cycle out the packs.

I have 2 5200 35c batterys and here are the numbers from them

i charged them at 2c which on the gfx
discharged at 35 amps down to 6.0 amps

here are the numbers from my packs

#1 561s avg voltage is 7.30 IR is 8 Mah is 5454

#2 563s avg voltage is 7.28 IR 7.8 Mah is 5473


I just want to know if you have anything different setup on your gfx so i can correct it to check the numbers again.
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 02:02 AM   #129
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalyst View Post
Great information in this thread and I've seriously enjoyed the performance I get in my SMC packs. I just received a new SMC saddle pack last night and was kind of bummed it didn't have the numbers indicated anywhere on the packaging. Perhaps this one missed cycling?

We cycle all our packs but we only print the results on the 28C packs.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 02:11 AM   #130
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet View Post
Danny i am very curious on how you have your gfx setup when you cycle out the packs.

I have 2 5200 35c batterys and here are the numbers from them

i charged them at 2c which on the gfx
discharged at 35 amps down to 6.0 amps

here are the numbers from my packs

#1 561s avg voltage is 7.30 IR is 8 Mah is 5454

#2 563s avg voltage is 7.28 IR 7.8 Mah is 5473


I just want to know if you have anything different setup on your gfx so i can correct it to check the numbers again.
Your charge rate is good and so is the discharge cutoff. What is the pack and room temp ? Where are the voltage sensing leads attached ?
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 05:25 AM   #131
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Estonia
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Danny, can you comment on a rumor I've heard. Some of the LiPo cells include "preservative" chemicals that are there to help store the battery. During first few cycles the chemicals go out or react with something. That's why it is advised to make few first cycles with small currents.

Is this just a rumor or is there some truth in it? Should we cycle LiPos the first few times with small current? Of course if the pack-maker does it then there's no point but I don't think most of them (cheaper ones) cycle packs.
lauri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 06:10 AM   #132
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

the pack is at room temperature.... house thermostat is set to 65 degrees


i have a deans plug , a wire coming off each side of the plug one for red and one for black. i have the big clips on the gfx on the wire and i also have the little clips on the wire as well... not touching the big clips.
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:20 AM   #133
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauri View Post
Danny, can you comment on a rumor I've heard. Some of the LiPo cells include "preservative" chemicals that are there to help store the battery. During first few cycles the chemicals go out or react with something. That's why it is advised to make few first cycles with small currents.

Is this just a rumor or is there some truth in it? Should we cycle LiPos the first few times with small current? Of course if the pack-maker does it then there's no point but I don't think most of them (cheaper ones) cycle packs.

Never heard of this. We typically use our packs at high discharge rates right out of the box. I know some of the flight people do some breaking in cycles but Lipos have evolved and I don't think this is needed.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 10:24 AM   #134
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet View Post
the pack is at room temperature.... house thermostat is set to 65 degrees


i have a deans plug , a wire coming off each side of the plug one for red and one for black. i have the big clips on the gfx on the wire and i also have the little clips on the wire as well... not touching the big clips.

To get readings like we get you need to have your voltage sensing leads on the packs power leads. You could remove the shrink on the female connector and clip your voltage sensing leads on the connector. If your using big clips make sure that your GFX is pulling 35 amps throughout the discharge as there might be resistance that will keep it from discharging at 35 amps.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 11:40 AM   #135
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,742
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
We cycle all our packs but we only print the results on the 28C packs.
May I ask why not?
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net