R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2008, 09:54 AM   #46
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Payment sent.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:03 AM   #47
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Horizon has ordered some of theese packs so local tracks and shop will be able to get these from Horizon.

Our partial shipment has soldout so for those looking for packs check with your local track/ shop our the online shops that normally carry our packs as they will be able to get them.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:23 AM   #48
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

whew looks like i got mine just in time
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:56 AM   #49
Tech Addict
 
cla5675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Greene County, OH
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Please excuse my ignorance, but would this "booster" meet the requirements for running this new single cell pack and keeping a constant 5 volts to the receiver?

http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=7884

I'm dying to try one of these new packs, but I want to make sure I understand excatly what I need to run them in a World GT, 1/12 and possibly a VTA (4-cell/17.5) car. Thanks!!
cla5675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:00 AM   #50
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Seems like that may work.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:03 AM   #51
Tech Addict
 
cla5675's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Greene County, OH
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Seems like that may work.
For $5, seems like it'd be worth a shot. Thanks, Danny!!
cla5675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:40 PM   #52
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Where are you attaching the voltage sensing leads ?

Also storing the pack with 7.8 volts is to high. As were getting use to Lipos in high end racing I have noticed that storage charge seems to affect the packs performance. So the key is to use very little storage charge as Lipos don't selfdischarge real fast. I have left packs discharged at 35 amps down to 6 volts and then they sit for 6 weeks and the voltage really hasn't dropped. In one of my tests I kept a pack fully charged for one week and that packs dropped 10 seconds in runtime and the IR went up a bit. So we still are learning as to what keeps the pack in top condition.
Thanks for the reply, and yes I did attach the voltage sensing leads it must be the voltage I was storing at I guess we are all learning about lipo's.
Mutabarucka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:59 PM   #53
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Danny,

What about the weight of the pack did you match the weight of a 4 cell Nimh, I really don't want to add extra weight to my 1/12.
__________________
Raymon Robinson

ARC, LRP Go Blue!!
gijoe64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 01:24 PM   #54
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I thought the same untill Donny Lia suggested one of the advantages to lower weights was a reduction in tire wear and breakage. In another thread he shared that he ran his car without the extra weight and the car handled well. If you consider the recent increase in weight minimums due to brushless, then with a lipo and brushless, the cars now aren't too much different than they used to be with NiMh and brushed. The heavier motors, wires, and esc's almost make up for the lighter lipo.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 02:02 PM   #55
Tech Master
 
gijoe64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 1,435
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the information but I mostlly attend large national and ROAR events so making weight is important. I understand that when racing at a local level weight is not checked. But I would like to be at the proper race weight if I am racing locally and at a large event.

Untill ROAR changes it's weight on 1/12 cars I need to be legal.
__________________
Raymon Robinson

ARC, LRP Go Blue!!
gijoe64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 02:40 PM   #56
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

are lipos even legal at roar sactioned 1/12 races?
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:23 PM   #57
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

LiPo in 12th isn't ROAR legal yet but neither was 6 cell LiPo. It takes people trying the new cells and figuring out what needs to be done to get things rolling.

I'm running at big races with 4 cell but I plan on running LiPo when it makes sense.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 07:14 PM   #58
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 49
Default

I have a feeling these will be catching on really quick!
JHIH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 09:12 PM   #59
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutabarucka View Post
Thanks for the reply, and yes I did attach the voltage sensing leads it must be the voltage I was storing at I guess we are all learning about lipo's.

Where do you attach the voltage sensing leads when cycling the pack ?
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 09:16 PM   #60
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
Where do you attach the voltage sensing leads when cycling the pack ?
On the lead wire coming from the pack.
Mutabarucka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The future of 1/12 scale Roland S Electric On-Road 1004 06-16-2017 02:04 PM
SMC 5700mAh 25C Single Cell Lipo Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 352 05-14-2009 04:03 AM
Trackside 1/12th scale racing Ike Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 41 03-31-2009 11:42 AM
ROAR 1/12 weight limit miller tyme Electric On-Road 171 01-09-2009 04:14 PM
Why choose LiPo? wingman2 Electric On-Road 16 12-17-2008 06:51 PM
1/12 lipo the mighty thor Electric On-Road 7 12-07-2008 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:24 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net