R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2008, 07:21 PM   #31
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Having the pack go soft isn't really an issue as long as everyone has it. When the speedo's start to get updated to run on low voltage it might be an issue for a bit but it's not that big of a deal.

Having a speedo that can download updated firmware is going to be a good thing with the lower voltage packs.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:28 PM   #32
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
Having a speedo that can download updated firmware is going to be a good thing with the lower voltage packs.
Losi already has downloadable firmware updates for their esc
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 08:37 PM   #33
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I think the issue as that most speed controls have a cutoff that is set around 3.3 volts that when the voltage dips under that it cuts power back to the motor to save it for the reciever. I think this is more a hardware issue than a firmware issue.

Donny Lia has been testing the Novak booster circuit and he told me it works very well.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:26 PM   #34
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

posted on the tekin thread:

Code:
Using the Hotwire there is a custom voltage profile.
You can adjust it down to 3.0v which would be perfect for the 1/12 lipo.

Dayton
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:30 PM   #35
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm sure this will help but I think it's not low enough. The problem is under hard acceleration the voltage will drop under 3 volts for a fraction of a second and the speed control may cut the power when it sees this.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:33 PM   #36
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,555
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

if its a software thing, maybe they can go lower?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:42 PM   #37
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oakland Ca
Posts: 126
Default

Danny,
how low should it be 2.5??
byron.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 09:45 PM   #38
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm not sure how low it needs to be set at. At the moment I think the reciever priority circuits are set at 3.30 volts so I'm not sure how much lower it needs to be set at. I know Novak should have a prototype real soon and from what I was told the new KO can go down to 2.1 volts.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:19 AM   #39
Ike
Tech Master
 
Ike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
I'm not sure how low it needs to be set at. At the moment I think the reciever priority circuits are set at 3.30 volts so I'm not sure how much lower it needs to be set at. I know Novak should have a prototype real soon and from what I was told the new KO can go down to 2.1 volts.

Any chance you can confirm that the KO and possibly the new Orion which is based on the KO will work?
Ike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 06:34 AM   #40
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Is it a problem for the lipo to be discharged below 3 volts? I thought the reason for the cutoff was to keep the lipo from over discharging. 3 volts per cell is the limit, right?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:03 AM   #41
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

danny you have email
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:19 AM   #42
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ike View Post
Any chance you can confirm that the KO and possibly the new Orion which is based on the KO will work?

I will send a pack to Josh Cyrul as he has one of the new KO units and see what he figures out. If the current speed controls have a 3.3 or so cutoff I'm pretty sure 2.1 should be fine.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:21 AM   #43
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Is it a problem for the lipo to be discharged below 3 volts? I thought the reason for the cutoff was to keep the lipo from over discharging. 3 volts per cell is the limit, right?

Actually Lipos can be discharged down to 2.8 volts per cell. The voltage will drop a bit lower only under acceleration so it's not a constantly under 3 volts.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 09:40 AM   #44
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 192
Default

I have a quick Q I bought a 5000 lipo with 7.39 volts and IR 6.2 and after about 4 runs the volts went down to 7.2 volts and the IR up to 7.2 I ran the pack back to back 3 qualifing and the main and then store the pack at 7.8 volts for a week I then did 1 cycle and the number was change from what was first on the pack, why is this?
Mutabarucka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 09:48 AM   #45
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Where are you attaching the voltage sensing leads ?

Also storing the pack with 7.8 volts is to high. As were getting use to Lipos in high end racing I have noticed that storage charge seems to affect the packs performance. So the key is to use very little storage charge as Lipos don't selfdischarge real fast. I have left packs discharged at 35 amps down to 6 volts and then they sit for 6 weeks and the voltage really hasn't dropped. In one of my tests I kept a pack fully charged for one week and that packs dropped 10 seconds in runtime and the IR went up a bit. So we still are learning as to what keeps the pack in top condition.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The future of 1/12 scale Roland S Electric On-Road 1004 06-16-2017 02:04 PM
SMC 5700mAh 25C Single Cell Lipo Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 352 05-14-2009 04:03 AM
Trackside 1/12th scale racing Ike Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 41 03-31-2009 11:42 AM
ROAR 1/12 weight limit miller tyme Electric On-Road 171 01-09-2009 04:14 PM
Why choose LiPo? wingman2 Electric On-Road 16 12-17-2008 06:51 PM
1/12 lipo the mighty thor Electric On-Road 7 12-07-2008 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net