R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2008, 12:35 PM   #331
Tech Adept
 
360rcspeedway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Default

BTW

Have local racer Alex Valdes running my car today
In the first round:

Fast lap 9.32
Ran a 9.37 at the 7 min. mark.

finished 9.5/9.6 with a couple mistakes.

Not bad.
360rcspeedway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:10 PM   #332
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Ive seen a few of these Novak boosters and from what I could tell was it was only for bringing up voltage for the transponder... nothing else. I don't believe it is engineered to take the current needed to run the servo and reciever. and its $25 or more.

Last edited by John St.Amant; 12-14-2008 at 01:37 PM.
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:13 PM   #333
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Novak will be releasing info shortly on the single cell Booster. It's not the same as the transponder booster currently available.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:17 PM   #334
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Hey 360

Oops. Skimmed right over the part about the motor.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:39 PM   #335
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Kewl... I hope that Bob comes up with a great product for us . Even with my 4 cell packs in my 12R5 I had to run a flight pack as the voltage was too low for my Futaba Fasst2.4 , it was shutting down durring hard acceleration. Once I wired a 5 cell pack to it my problems were solved.
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 01:50 PM   #336
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John St.Amant View Post
Kewl... I hope that Bob comes up with a great product for us . Even with my 4 cell packs in my 12R5 I had to run a flight pack as the voltage was too low for my Futaba Fasst2.4 , it was shutting down durring hard acceleration. Once I wired a 5 cell pack to it my problems were solved.
I'm running FASST receiver in my DB12RR no rx pack 4 cell 17.5motor. I've never had any problems with shut down during acceleration. What motor are you running? ESC? What kind of batteries? I'm also not the only one at my track running FASST in 4 cell without problems. Installing the 5 cell may only be covering up the problem, not solving it.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 04:31 PM   #337
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

I have the Novak GTB 4 Cell , a Hacker 17.5 rolling 3.1 inches, and Orion 5300 SHO cells. I do have to admit that I didn't really set up the speedo fully . I just ran the factory settings . Perhaps one of the settings was for cut off that i havnt set yet . Gotta check that out too
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 04:45 PM   #338
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

You definitely should check your settings. If you are running 4cell NiMh, make sure you have the voltage cut off turned off completely. The voltage cutoff is for LiPo use only.
The other thing I've seen ppl do is set the throttle EPA too high when programming the ESC to their radio. The throttle forward and brake EPA should be at 100%, not maximum. Most radios throttle EPA can be turned up to 125% or more, these higher values are for servos in situations where more throw is needed. Going higher than 100% EPA when programming their ESC can confuse the ESC so to speak.
If your EPA is higher than 100% turn them back down, then reprogram the ESC to your radio.
Hope this helps.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 04:53 PM   #339
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

Novak dirrections suggest otherwise.. "set to max"
only the speed passion wants to set it at 100... no higher.
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:04 PM   #340
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

In that case double check with Novak as to what they mean by Max. Make sure they are clear to what numerical percentage they want you to use.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:49 PM   #341
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

I haven't found a radio yet that has a problem with full expo during set-up on a Novak.

If you're having a problem running 4 cell on a Novak it's probably the receiver. I can run my KO stuff until the car is pretty much dead but some of the other 2.4 stuff has a minimum working voltage.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:57 PM   #342
Tech Elite
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I haven't found a radio yet that has a problem with full expo during set-up on a Novak.

If you're having a problem running 4 cell on a Novak it's probably the receiver. I can run my KO stuff until the car is pretty much dead but some of the other 2.4 stuff has a minimum working voltage.
EPA not expo.

Myself along with another driver are both running 4 cell 17.5 with FASST 2.4, no receiver pack, no issues. We're trying to figure out why John needs an rx pack, and covering all possibilities.
__________________
How would I describe my holeshots?

Three words...

Ready... Steady... Confetti!!!! (gonna need a new one of those)
SpraydbySprague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 05:57 PM   #343
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

anyone tried this pack in mod yet?
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:10 PM   #344
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

EPA is what I ment, never had a problem with it on a Novak. If it runs and then cuts out it's probably not the speedo. It probably is something to do with the receiver.
Unregistered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 06:17 PM   #345
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
anyone tried this pack in mod yet?
Donny Lia will be trying it in the next few days. I think it will be fine and I think a 3.5 or 4.5 should be good but we will see what he finds out.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The future of 1/12 scale Roland S Electric On-Road 1004 06-16-2017 02:04 PM
SMC 5700mAh 25C Single Cell Lipo Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 352 05-14-2009 04:03 AM
Trackside 1/12th scale racing Ike Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 41 03-31-2009 11:42 AM
ROAR 1/12 weight limit miller tyme Electric On-Road 171 01-09-2009 04:14 PM
Why choose LiPo? wingman2 Electric On-Road 16 12-17-2008 06:51 PM
1/12 lipo the mighty thor Electric On-Road 7 12-07-2008 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net