R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-10-2008, 02:42 AM   #301
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StadiumChris View Post
OK guys.. great news!

No receiver pack, no voltage booster, nothing.

SpeedPassion GT LPF 1.1 with Orion 13.5 motor
Futaba 603FS
Futaba 9650 Servo
Transponder - had to run Novak booster for this to power up

Ran for 8 minutes.. perfect, no problems... the last 5 laps started feeling flat, but I was still able to reel in others or be on par as other cars. Lap times were almost identical. 3 guys on the same lap for the qualifiers.

This is pretty much the same electrics I have in my 12th. Just so I've got it straight...
I'll be able to run without any receiver pack ? I'm using an MRT PTx and a SP10.5 motor, but the rest is the same

What settings were you running on the ESC ?
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:06 AM   #302
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
This is pretty much the same electrics I have in my 12th. Just so I've got it straight...
I'll be able to run without any receiver pack ? I'm using an MRT PTx and a SP10.5 motor, but the rest is the same

What settings were you running on the ESC ?


Yes, no receiver pack.

BUT I am running a 13.5 for 8 minutes. You are saying you want to run a 10.5, that will Not work for 8 minutes and I don't know if it will work for 5. Try it out and let us know!
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:23 AM   #303
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Hi, yes.. 10.5 is the "stock" motor here in the UK for 12th.

I've found that if I set any sort of Lipo cutoff on the ESC it will not run.. I have to have it set to 0v to even run. Have you found the same thing ?
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:37 AM   #304
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
Hi, yes.. 10.5 is the "stock" motor here in the UK for 12th.

I've found that if I set any sort of Lipo cutoff on the ESC it will not run.. I have to have it set to 0v to even run. Have you found the same thing ?

ESC must be set to No Voltage Cutoff.
Chris Furman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:41 AM   #305
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

double posted
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 06:42 AM   #306
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

hmm ok, are you running a separate Lipo Cutoff at all ?

I'm kinda worried about taking the voltage down too low
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:33 AM   #307
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_dono View Post
hmm ok, are you running a separate Lipo Cutoff at all ?

I'm kinda worried about taking the voltage down too low

It's probably best to have a cutoff but I don't think there are many single cell cutoff's available yet. The Tekin speed controls can be set to 3v cutoff with the Hotwire set-up.

If you don't have a cutoff it's not that big of a deal. When the pack gets to the cutoff voltage it's pretty much out of capacity and it will dump just like a NiMh pack. Once you feel the pack dump just use light throttle to get the car off the track. Don't try to complete that last lap, just pull the car off and it should be fine.

I dumped my pack on the track, pulled the car as soon as it dumped and there was no problem charging after.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 09:59 AM   #308
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

there's a cutoff that can be set in the esc from 2.6v all the way up to 3.4v for Lipo (speed passion esc) but I guess that's for 2 cell lipos, which is why it cuts out when I switch it on.

I'm going to be testing it on Friday night to see how much slower it'll be up against other 10.5 cars (probably a fair bit) but more importantly... if it dumps within 5 minutes or not.
__________________
CPD Racing
chris_dono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:07 AM   #309
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I beleive the Novak Booster Circuit will have a cutoff built into it.

Typically if you run your packs until you notice a slowdown then stop. Come back in the pits and look at the voltage of the pack. If it's below 3 volts for a single cell or 6 volts for a pack then put some charge back into it.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:46 AM   #310
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Any chance this pack will be released with bullet/banana style connectors? reason I ask, is I want to test this pack in a new BMI chassis I have coming in but dont want to have to change the connectrs I am using for 4 cell currently. (using bullets on a 45deg angle on the end of the cells).

I could always solder the wires to some bullets and adhere them to the side of the Lipo if I wanted, but was curious if a "factory" solution was in the works as I dont want to deal with Deans connectors in 1/12th anymore.
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:51 AM   #311
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

We have no plans on releasing this pack with an other connector. You can put tube connectors on the wires. Just make sure to keep one wire shorter than they other so they can't touch.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:18 PM   #312
Tech Fanatic
 
trailranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 946
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC View Post
We have no plans on releasing this pack with an other connector. You can put tube connectors on the wires. Just make sure to keep one wire shorter than they other so they can't touch.
Some heat shrink over the tubes once they are soldered will help prevent shorts. Color coding with red and black would also help.
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough." - Mario Andretti
trailranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 12:06 AM   #313
Tech Rookie
 
Serrosracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 17
Default

I just got an Associated 10R5 and was wondering if this battery will fit since i can't fit a 2 cell lipo in the car
__________________
Icon Airbrushing

Schumacher MI4, CRC Gen XL, Spektrum, Team Epic, Tekin
Serrosracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 06:08 AM   #314
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serrosracing View Post
I just got an Associated 10R5 and was wondering if this battery will fit since i can't fit a 2 cell lipo in the car
Should fit fine. You might have to remove the little battery stops but it fits fine.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 10:46 AM   #315
Tech Master
 
busman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Enumclaw, Washington
Posts: 1,435
Default single cell LiPo SMC

Are these cells availible thru our LHS? If so part# and listing? LHS is drawing a complete blank.
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The future of 1/12 scale Roland S Electric On-Road 1004 06-16-2017 02:04 PM
SMC 5700mAh 25C Single Cell Lipo Danny/SMC Electric On-Road 352 05-14-2009 04:03 AM
Trackside 1/12th scale racing Ike Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 41 03-31-2009 11:42 AM
ROAR 1/12 weight limit miller tyme Electric On-Road 171 01-09-2009 04:14 PM
Why choose LiPo? wingman2 Electric On-Road 16 12-17-2008 06:51 PM
1/12 lipo the mighty thor Electric On-Road 7 12-07-2008 03:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net