Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
SMC 4000/25C/3.7V single cell Hardcase pack. >

SMC 4000/25C/3.7V single cell Hardcase pack.

SMC 4000/25C/3.7V single cell Hardcase pack.

Reply

Old 12-03-2008, 04:23 PM
  #256  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This is good to see.
KHoff7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:12 PM
  #257  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: London Ontario Canada
Posts: 557
Default

Thanks Tekin.
ElliotCanada is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:56 PM
  #258  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Did a little bench testing on my RS with a new SMC pack so I don't have to figure as much out at the track this weekend.

Here's what worked with the RS and a 5v voltage booster. I wired the voltage booster input to the battery with a switch inline. I just ran the output to the receiver and fired it up. Works like a champ.

Here's what didn't work with the 5v booster. Removing the red wire and turning on both switches had no punch. Leaving the red wire in and turning on both switches still had no punch. No booster at all would run but it was gutless and always started in sensorless mode.

Don't know if it will go flat on the track yet but it's a place to start. Looks like it likes to have a ton of timing on the motor also.
Fred_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 08:11 PM
  #259  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 360rcspeedway View Post
Hi,
I am not so sure the Tekin has issues with low voltage. In my last go around of testing with my last test pack, I could not get it to run 8 min. without falling off with either the Tekin or the LRP. I see people have been getting the LRP and Novak to run 8 min. without falling off so I guess I just need to do some more testing with a full on production pack (my last test pack was not full on, it was a 3700mah, whereas the production pack is 4000mah).

Thanks, and glad to hear all the good testing results everyone seems to be getting.

Donny

Hi Donny. Congrats on your win at Cleveland. Actually our production packs are more like 4100. Keep us posted if it works with your Tekin.

Can you take a picture of your car with the prototype Booster circuit ?
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 09:26 PM
  #260  
Tech Regular
 
tofuburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 339
Default

Danny, any time line on the saddle pack lipo?
tofuburger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:40 PM
  #261  
Company Representative
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The saddle packs have been out for 2 months but they have been selling very well so they might not be super easy to get. Most of the online shops who typically carries our packs should have them in stock as we sent a bunch out a week ago.
Danny/SMC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 01:30 AM
  #262  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
As one of the guys that has run mod 12th at Cleveland for the past few years (except this year) I can say first hand that mod is too fast. Many of the top racers will tell you the same thing.
I'm sure other manufacturers will be producing single cell lipos for 12th scale cars soon and if the 7.4v C rating war is anything to go by then next to hit will be the 3.7v capacity war. You can want to slow them down as much as you like but until it's written into the rules people will continue to run nimh.

Hopefully Danny or another manufacturer will release a higher capacity pack before long and then the lipo runners will match the nimh on pace in all classes and spark a shift like we've seen in TC
CraigM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 05:03 AM
  #263  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Limiting the pack size should limit the capacity to a reasonable level. I don't think we need more capacity even for mod.

I weighed my car last night with the SMC pack and voltage booster. Only 25 ounces without any lead added. There's a new track nearby so I'm going to head out to try some things this weekend.
Fred_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 06:06 AM
  #264  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,197
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
Did a little bench testing on my RS with a new SMC pack so I don't have to figure as much out at the track this weekend.

Here's what worked with the RS and a 5v voltage booster. I wired the voltage booster input to the battery with a switch inline. I just ran the output to the receiver and fired it up. Works like a champ.

Here's what didn't work with the 5v booster. Removing the red wire and turning on both switches had no punch. Leaving the red wire in and turning on both switches still had no punch. No booster at all would run but it was gutless and always started in sensorless mode.

Don't know if it will go flat on the track yet but it's a place to start. Looks like it likes to have a ton of timing on the motor also.

Can you please post a pic of your wiring setup, thanks.
Chris Furman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 06:56 AM
  #265  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'll see if I can take a few pics and post them. The cool part is that I just have to unplug the booster if I want to go back to 4 cell. Makes it pretty easy to switch back and forth.
Fred_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:14 AM
  #266  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys,

Where is everyone getting their booster from?

This place is sold out http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ooster_for_BEC

Thanks,

Jeff
jgee888 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:26 AM
  #267  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,197
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried running a voltage booster from the Smc Lipo to the receiver without an additional receiver pack?
Chris Furman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:48 AM
  #268  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (118)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,197
Trader Rating: 118 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jgee888 View Post
Hey Guys,

Where is everyone getting their booster from?

This place is sold out http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ooster_for_BEC

Thanks,

Jeff

DO NOT GET THE VOLTAGE BOOSTER THAT WAS POSTED FROM DIMENSION ENGINEERING, IT CANNOT HANDLE THE AMPERAGE BEING DRAWN FROM THE SERVO AND RECEIVER. IT SMOKED AFTER THE 5TH RUN.

Last edited by Chris Furman; 12-07-2008 at 06:22 PM.
Chris Furman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 08:14 AM
  #269  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That's where I got mine from. I'll have a look and see if I can find the manufacturer when I get out of work.

Am I the only one that thinks about "Sofa King" on Saturday Night Live when I see Hobby King?
Fred_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:34 AM
  #270  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by StadiumChris View Post
Yes! Just ordered one overnight!

www.dimensionengineering.com/LVBoost.htm

Made in USA!
Thanks just ordered one
jgee888 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service