Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How to maintain a motor >

How to maintain a motor

How to maintain a motor

Old 10-03-2003, 08:36 AM
Tech Initiate

Default How to maintain a motor

Hi, I am new to RC and used to play 1:12 for a while. Now, I just got my 1:10 XRAY and using 12-13 turn motor. I found the lifetime for both commutator and brush are much shorter than I used to play 1:12. Is this normal? For example, I have a 12 turn motor and I need to cut the comm every 3 pack of batteries. It doesn't seem the motor is overheat thou.
I still remember I could run my 1:12 for at least 6-8 pack of batteries before I need to ask somebody to cut the comm for me.
Also, should I install the "DIODE" to the motor? Does it help to reduce spark? I do apply quite a lot of break during the run. Thank you!
Old 10-03-2003, 09:05 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

touring cars are more weight and since it's not direct drive drivetrain they wear more on the comm/brushes therefore you need to cut it more. Mod motors especially. If you go to run a stock motor, you'll see less drop off in performance than a 10-12 turn since stock is 27 turn with fixed 24º timing.

I'm assuming by diode you're talking about a Schottky diode. This is used for forward only ESC's. The benifit to using them is that it offers more consistent braking, more efficient motor operation and allow cooler operation of electronic speed control.

Hope this helps.

John
Old 10-03-2003, 09:10 AM
Tech Initiate

Thanks, no wonder I noted my ESC is a bit warm after each run. I didn't have this problem before when I ran my 1:12, because I install the schottky-Diode on my motors. Thank you! By the way, doesn't anyone knows any motor maintainence guide webpage?
Old 10-03-2003, 01:38 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

what ESC are you using?
Old 10-03-2003, 04:36 PM
Tech Elite