Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors >

LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors

LRP Vector x12 Brushless Motors

Reply

Old 09-25-2012, 08:51 AM
  #661  
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 859
Default

Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
Whats the size of the shims and oring that are in the motor?
Anyone?
UrabusDenis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:45 PM
  #662  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
onekiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sweden but from New Zealand
Posts: 898
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i have another motor if i remember ill check measure and repost tomorrow
onekiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:45 PM
  #663  
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 859
Default

Originally Posted by onekiwi View Post
i have another motor if i remember ill check measure and repost tomorrow
I also have a spare motor but it's missing the shim, so I'd like to put one in to make it ready
UrabusDenis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:58 PM
  #664  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I decided to clean my X12 17.5 motor for the first time. According to the instructions there should be an o-ring and a shim. When I took it apart (extremely carefully) I found no o-ring on the rotor. There was a white plastic shim. What size o-ring should be there? Is it required? I bought the motor new and it should have been the first time ever opened.
RussF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:19 PM
  #665  
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 859
Default

Originally Posted by RussF View Post
I decided to clean my X12 17.5 motor for the first time. According to the instructions there should be an o-ring and a shim. When I took it apart (extremely carefully) I found no o-ring on the rotor. There was a white plastic shim. What size o-ring should be there? Is it required? I bought the motor new and it should have been the first time ever opened.
Can you please measure the shim? I also don't remember a o-ring when I was working on my motors...
UrabusDenis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:39 PM
  #666  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I did find a post a few pages back that says theres no o-ring in stock spec motors only the modifieds. So I should be good to go, but I will measure it and check anyway.
RussF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:06 PM
  #667  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tellan View Post
4 dot is -10 degrees
3 dot is -5 degrees
2 dot is 0 neutral
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
Then flip 'em around to get +5 and +10
Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
I found this information in a 12th scale thread:

4-dot = 27.5°
3-dot = 32.5°
2-dot = 37.5°
1-dot = 42.5°
0-dot = 47.5°
You read the timing with the dots facing you.
Reto Koenig
LRP electronic GmbH / Germany
Are the above posts saying the same thing? I guess I dont quite get this timing system can someone explain it?
RussF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:14 PM
  #668  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

That last post of buckaroo sound familiar to me.
Why do you think the X12 motors run so hot?
Even with the 4 dot insert you still have 27.5 degrees of timing in the motor.
This with the options you have in the ESC now a days you can run the X12 thermall very quickly.
I smoked on with a Hobbywing ESC with the same setting i use on my Tekin ESC.
FDR was the same as was rollout.
Still the motor went thermal and was waisted.
Not all ESC's use the same sort of programming so be carefull what you do.

regards Roy


Originally Posted by RussF View Post
Are the above posts saying the same thing? I guess I dont quite get this timing system can someone explain it?
Pro10noob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:22 PM
  #669  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: オランダ
Posts: 326
Default

The X12 has another design than "all other" motors out there. It transfers heat very fast, but it can't lose the heat. Just keep it under 85degrees celcius and you are good to go. And yes, the X12 can run really hot before it blows, but it fades when the temperature goes past 90 degrees celcius (like every motor). So keep it under 85! Easy peasy.

If you run the X12 with boost, just use the 4 dot insert.

Buckaroo is right btw. The 4 dot insert is -20 degrees, not -10.
dennisV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:09 PM
  #670  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

What timing insert/ fdr is everyone running in blinky 17.5 and what is your track size?
B00t13g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:40 PM
  #671  
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,098
Default

Rubber O rings not necessary. It's meant for high rpm boosted applications to reduce vibrations. Just shim it to remove freeplay and center the rotor and stator.

My X12 13.5 runs at 110 degrees C at the end of 5 mins boosted and its almost a year racing with it now and still going strong. I'm not saying yours will be the same but thats what I heard and then tried.
cyanyde is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:41 PM
  #672  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Hi, I have a 13.5T with a HW Xerun v2.1 120A ESC and it stopped working properly:

The motor works well sensorless, but when I connect the sensors wire, if the motor stops in a concrete position (always the same) it doesn´t start running again, however if I rotate it a bit by hand, continues working properly until stops again at the same position.

At first I thought it might be caused by the sensor board, so I have replaced it with new one, but the problem persists. Also measured the impedance between the motor terminals and they are correct.

I have tried too another motor with the ESC and it worked, and the LRP with another ESC, with the same problem.

I have no more ideas, so... anyone know what could be the cause?

Thanks.

Best regards.
BeLiPoWa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 03:47 PM
  #673  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a rotor problem giving the sensor signal.
As with the sensor board that recieves the sensor signal, the rotor needs to send it out.
If as you say the motor has problems every time that it stops at one and the same point and it gives problems after this, then look for the rotor signal.

Regards Roy

Originally Posted by BeLiPoWa View Post
Hi, I have a 13.5T with a HW Xerun v2.1 120A ESC and it stopped working properly:

The motor works well sensorless, but when I connect the sensors wire, if the motor stops in a concrete position (always the same) it doesn´t start running again, however if I rotate it a bit by hand, continues working properly until stops again at the same position.

At first I thought it might be caused by the sensor board, so I have replaced it with new one, but the problem persists. Also measured the impedance between the motor terminals and they are correct.

I have tried too another motor with the ESC and it worked, and the LRP with another ESC, with the same problem.

I have no more ideas, so... anyone know what could be the cause?

Thanks.

Best regards.
Pro10noob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:34 PM
  #674  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Sounds like a rotor problem giving the sensor signal.
As with the sensor board that recieves the sensor signal, the rotor needs to send it out.
If as you say the motor has problems every time that it stops at one and the same point and it gives problems after this, then look for the rotor signal.

Regards Roy
Thanks for your reply, so is there any comprobation I can do to ensure that the rotor is causing the problem?

Should I buy a new rotor?

Thanks.
BeLiPoWa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:19 PM
  #675  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Don't know for sure if the Hobbywing ESC let's you know if the sensors work by showing flashing leds?
If so you need to see 3 blinks on 1 turn of the motor.
If you don't see that(say 2) you know 1 of the pulses is off and that explain's the problems.
Also check your sensor wires.

regards Roy

Originally Posted by BeLiPoWa View Post
Thanks for your reply, so is there any comprobation I can do to ensure that the rotor is causing the problem?

Should I buy a new rotor?

Thanks.
Pro10noob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service