R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2009, 07:27 PM   #961
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I can understand. That's why I dumped my LRP and went with Tekin. With the Spektrum rx added in, I have plenty of room for everything, including the Motor Fwd Position option.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:01 PM   #962
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Yeah, I can understand. That's why I dumped my LRP and went with Tekin. With the Spektrum rx added in, I have plenty of room for everything, including the Motor Fwd Position option.
Well, I am running the RSpro, but am running the 603 2.4gz futaba receiver which is nowhere near micro. hhmm... conundrum! Id hate to mount my receiver on top of my servo.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:20 PM   #963
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

You know.. it looks like I can move the servo even MORE forward, and actually use one of the holes meant for a balance weight. Its a BIT wide, but will work no problem if I use washers to mount the 4 servo screws to the servo posts. I just have to shorted the link arm that attaches to the servo quite a bit. Waddya think about that?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:32 PM   #964
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you need it that bad, just use the forward hole in the front, and redrill the back servo mount hole, or oblong it. But be forewarned, you may need another turnbuckle link. One that is shorter.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:38 PM   #965
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,366
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

that is what i did to give some more room moved the servo to the foward hole and re drilled i drilled a piolt and then used a counter sink sheet rock bit to finish out the beviled part. cut the turnbuckel and ends down.
jlfx car audio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:39 PM   #966
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Well.. mine is fitting fine without having to drill anything. Granted, both ends of the server are just barely in the 4 mounting holes... but they tighten down just fine with 4 metal washers....pics coming.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:53 PM   #967
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Ok here are the shots. As you can see... it just barely fits in there, but it is solid. My only question, is there a downside to making the servo link arm drasticlly shorter to accomodate?



__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:21 PM   #968
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Ok... so, sorry for posting once again, but using BOTH forward servo holes (forward rear hole.. and one counter weight hole), I ended up with tons of room for my 603 receiver, and RS pro. I shorted the servo link arm up all the way to as short as it would go, and everything looks good. I have full servo throw both directions, looks smooth and nothing hits. Here is a PIC: Question... is the 9551 supposed to be so tough to manually turn? My normal crappy servos turn really easy.. this guy is SUPER HARD!

__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:28 PM   #969
Tech Addict
 
waOscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pattaya Thailand
Posts: 614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Well, I am running the RSpro, but am running the 603 2.4gz futaba receiver which is nowhere near micro. hhmm... conundrum! Id hate to mount my receiver on top of my servo.
I've always mounted my receiver on the servo and i've seen plenty of other people who do as well. On the 009 with the receiver on the servo the antenna mount is right next to it so the antenna wire is not travelling far.
Is there any downside to mounting the receiver on the servo?
__________________
Xray T3 2011 - my asphalt chassis
Xray T3 2011 - my carpet chassis
waOscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:32 PM   #970
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waOscar View Post
I've always mounted my receiver on the servo and i've seen plenty of other people who do as well. On the 009 with the receiver on the servo the antenna mount is right next to it so the antenna wire is not travelling far.
Is there any downside to mounting the receiver on the servo?
Measurable increase in center of gravity.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:48 PM   #971
Tech Addict
 
bigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: QC/Las Pinas
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Ok... so, sorry for posting once again, but using BOTH forward servo holes (forward rear hole.. and one counter weight hole), I ended up with tons of room for my 603 receiver, and RS pro. I shorted the servo link arm up all the way to as short as it would go, and everything looks good. I have full servo throw both directions, looks smooth and nothing hits. Here is a PIC: Question... is the 9551 supposed to be so tough to manually turn? My normal crappy servos turn really easy.. this guy is SUPER HARD!

they're smoother and easier to turn than the kit servos. there must be something wrong with your servo.
__________________
Hot Bodies - Nosram - Tekin - Speed Passion - Futaba - Sorex - RIDE
bigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:05 PM   #972
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz View Post
they're smoother and easier to turn than the kit servos. there must be something wrong with your servo.
Really? crap... it's VERY VERY hard to turn... like.. 9 or 10 times harder than a standard normal plastic geared servo (i have like a half dozen of them from days of the XL2P)

Can anybody else verify?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:18 AM   #973
Tech Addict
 
JamesReilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: My Lab
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Actually with everything shortened up like that more then likely binding the pivot balls by the increased angle of the linkage, try putting a 1mm shim under the vertical pivot ball ( the one on the bell crank ).
This used to happen with the older xray cars as well.
__________________
Reilly Paint ([email protected])
JamesReilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:36 AM   #974
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
Ok... so, sorry for posting once again, but using BOTH forward servo holes (forward rear hole.. and one counter weight hole), I ended up with tons of room for my 603 receiver, and RS pro. I shorted the servo link arm up all the way to as short as it would go, and everything looks good. I have full servo throw both directions, looks smooth and nothing hits. Here is a PIC: Question... is the 9551 supposed to be so tough to manually turn? My normal crappy servos turn really easy.. this guy is SUPER HARD!

Your electronics layout is just begging for an R604FS-E. That may require a 4PK as well, though.

My 9551 isn't ridiculously hard to move, but it's a LOT stiffer than other brands of servos I've encountered. Some are so loose they'll actually have a little momentum if you turn them with some force. That's definitely not the case with the 9551, 9550 or BLS451. It doesn't seem to be any indication at all about a servo's performance.
Attached Thumbnails
-r604fs-e.jpg.jpg  
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 01:20 AM   #975
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,980
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=syndr0me;5775896]Your electronics layout is just begging for an R604FS-E. That may require a 4PK as well, though.

QUOTE]

I have never seen that receiver before, is it much smaller?
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Xray T2 009 is here FK05 lover Australian Racing 436 08-02-2009 03:41 AM
RaceCraft TC Challenge Kylelim Singapore R/C Racers 119 07-03-2009 09:08 AM
Brushless touring car Salt Air Electric On-Road 9 04-20-2009 04:45 AM
Mana nak beli Xrayt2'009 tq9911 Malaysian R/C Racers 131 04-14-2009 11:10 PM
Wanna start elec this year, need help gentleman81 Electric On-Road 20 02-21-2009 02:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net