R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2009, 09:11 PM   #391
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Default

I'm new to RC, I want to know what pinion and supr i need for running 4.0 brushless and 23T motor? thanks
ioxqq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 07:54 PM   #392
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigkoitat View Post
I've been ussing 100/47 which is 3.6 works fine for mee
Where can I find a 100 tooth spur?
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 08:32 PM   #393
Tech Master
 
ChristopherKee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maxey View Post
Where can I find a 100 tooth spur?
Nexus has some, as well as other places.


http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=1721
ChristopherKee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 09:59 PM   #394
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks.
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:44 AM   #395
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys,

I'm new to carpet racing and picked up a 008' EU to run in VTA. All of my experience is on Dirt Oval so I'm on a pretty steep learning curve with the touring car stuff right now.

Right now I'm trying to understand the methodology behind your ride height settings. I have to believe that there is an optimal suspension "angle" for each of the different set-ups. For example...as a foam tire wears and you readjust your ride height back to your baseline, doesn't the change to your roll centers, etc. affect the car more than the tire OD change did? I guess I'm really interested at the extreme of VTA tires. Mine measure 66mm, so my thinking is I need to be at 1.5mm above the kit setup of 5mm ride height, which is with 63mm rubber tires. Or should I stay with the 5mm height...or 5mm and reajust arm angles to be closer to the kit angles?

I understand the theories and mechanics of chassis/suspension design. Just curious what everyone is really doing. I've mapped out some of the roll center changes at the two ride heights and it's a pretty big difference IMHO. Is the lower ride height going to be a bigger advantage than the loss of optimal suspension design?

I guess with more time I can try the different set-ups myself...but I know you guys already have the answer...

Thanks for any direction,
Mark
Stetler17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 12:35 PM   #396
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richwhat??
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I see where you are going with this but I think c of g is more important over the roll center difference b/c of tire size. Raising a car 1.5mm is really a bigger change IMO.

You can compensate a bit by using the +.75 hinge pin holders and raise the link on the shock tower and lower the link on the hubs. I guess this will not help if you were already using these on your current set-up.
__________________
Joe

Real men race MODIFIED!!
JoeGlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:04 AM   #397
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Joe...

I wasn't sure I explained it very well.

I guess I just struggle with a set-up that calls out a .75mm shim here or there and then moves more than that with a ride height change for tires.

Again, I'm a noob to touring cars so maybe if I was running foams or TC rubbers it would not be a big deal and i would understand it better.

I set it up with TC rubbers to one of XRAY's set-ups and will just bolt on the VTA tires and see what I have. Then I can drop the ride height down to account for the taller tires and see what difference it makes for myself.

Probably should just run rubber TC class huh?
Stetler17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:25 AM   #398
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi,

I just bought a T2 009 EU RUBBER edition. I plan to run it on asphalt.

I may purchase a Sphere Comp. Brushless Control with
- Vector X-11 6.5T Motor
- Vector X-11 9.5T Motor

to power this baby on 2S Intellect 3800 35C.

What pinion(s) do I need to buy for each motor ?

Do I need to buy a spur ?

Any other grease of stuff that's not included in the kit ... I should buy to make the build a success ?

Thanks a lot,

Last edited by okayplayer; 01-20-2009 at 02:21 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:51 PM   #399
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Guys....Noobie....Here whats the difference between uptravel and droop? and how is it I read about guys setting there droop above ride height? does that mean if my ride hieght is 5 my droop is 6.5 if my droop is 1.5....Does that mean I use droop blocks and set my arm at hub on my droop guage and it should be at the 6.5 mark? I am alittle confused......What is a good amount of droop? Also if my car is loose or lifting a tire in fast corners can droop fix this? any help is appericiated.....By the way I have a setup book on order...
RugRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:33 PM   #400
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RugRunner View Post
Guys....Noobie....Here whats the difference between uptravel and droop? and how is it I read about guys setting there droop above ride height? does that mean if my ride hieght is 5 my droop is 6.5 if my droop is 1.5....Does that mean I use droop blocks and set my arm at hub on my droop guage and it should be at the 6.5 mark? I am alittle confused......What is a good amount of droop? Also if my car is loose or lifting a tire in fast corners can droop fix this? any help is appericiated.....By the way I have a setup book on order...

Whats the difference between uptravel and droop?
They are the same thing.

How is it I read about guys setting there droop above ride height? There are two different ways of measuring the same thing. Setting droop above ride height you will see it noted at 2mm above ride height for example. Which means you will be able to lift your car up 2mm before the tires leave the ground...otherwise "uptravel". On a droop gauge you will see droop noted as 5, 5.5, 6, etc. This is set using droop blocks and a droop gauge. I find using the gauge an easier way to measure droop.

Also if my car is loose or lifting a tire in fast corners can droop fix this? Yes. The more droop your car has the more the chassis will roll. The more chassis roll the more grip you will have. I use 6 in the front and 5 in the rear.

The setup guide is one of the best collections of setup information that you will find. Read up on it and try testing how droop effects you car on the track.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:47 PM   #401
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks Gordie


........To get more droop that is runnin the screw down correct? How does that affect your ride height? would make it set lower correct? It would seem that would affect your suspension travel and dampening ability or really limit your shock usage....Thanks again for all the help....Just tryin to get a better understanding of all the avalible adjustments...
RugRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:21 PM   #402
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RugRunner View Post
Thanks Gordie


........To get more droop that is runnin the screw down correct? How does that affect your ride height? would make it set lower correct? It would seem that would affect your suspension travel and dampening ability or really limit your shock usage....Thanks again for all the help....Just tryin to get a better understanding of all the avalible adjustments...
Droop should not effect your ride height if set right. Backing out the screw will give you more droop...you'll see that once you have read the setup guide and tested with your car. Droop does limit suspension "uptravel" but not the dampening. It's not as confusing as it seems. But it is a very important setting.

OH!! And what was I thinking...you don't have to order the book...it's free on line...here's the link:

http://forum.teamxray.com/viewtopic.php?p=60589

It's the 4th document down...
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:22 PM   #403
Tech Master
 
J.Filipow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,692
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Droop, and knowing how it works, is a really useful tuning tool (along with camber and ride height). All three are easy, quick changes to make and don't require any additional/optional parts!

Spend a day at your local track doing nothing but experimenting with droop (and clocking laps) and I can guarantee you'll find a 'faster' droop setting.
__________________
P1 Brand - "Victory is Black and White" ◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤

RC America / XRayUSA / Hudy / Motiv / Avid / Vannen Watches
J.Filipow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:57 AM   #404
okayplayer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by okayplayer View Post
Hi,

I just bought a T2 009 EU RUBBER edition. I plan to run it on asphalt.

I may purchase a Sphere Comp. Brushless Control with
- Vector X-11 6.5T Motor
- Vector X-11 9.5T Motor

to power this baby on 2S Intellect 3800 35C.

What pinion(s) do I need to buy for each motor ?

Do I need to buy a spur ?

Any other grease of stuff that's not included in the kit ... I should buy to make the build a success ?

Thanks a lot,
help
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:41 AM   #405
Tech Initiate
 
strahler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 25
Default

i am running a t2 009 since two weeks. its a us-edition for foamies. it is my first touring car so many set up related details are new for me.
i wish i had some more grip on the rear tires. i am running 37 shores so the problem should be somewhere else. they have a diameter of 60mm.

what changes bring more grip to the rear wheels in turns?
__________________
some cars...
strahler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Xray T2 009 is here FK05 lover Australian Racing 436 08-02-2009 03:41 AM
RaceCraft TC Challenge Kylelim Singapore R/C Racers 119 07-03-2009 09:08 AM
Brushless touring car Salt Air Electric On-Road 9 04-20-2009 04:45 AM
Mana nak beli Xrayt2'009 tq9911 Malaysian R/C Racers 131 04-14-2009 11:10 PM
Wanna start elec this year, need help gentleman81 Electric On-Road 20 02-21-2009 02:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net