R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2009, 09:16 PM   #1906
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
Glad that Steve was able to help. He has been a great help to me as well. How did you do at Ripon?
Do you race around norcal?
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:25 PM   #1907
Tech Elite
 
FK05 lover's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: somewhere in 1973
Posts: 2,994
Trader Rating: 147 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
Help needed,
Near the end of my t2009 eu build manual it shows putting the front shocks on the car and it has a note saying to space out the shocks as an option and it will make the car easier to drive/less steering. my ? is that it says do this for the "FRONT " shocks next to the rear & also the front shocks.
Anyone know what it does for the back end / front end.
surly its a bit of a typo, maybe?
Have used (top+bottom) of front shocks spaced on low/med grip successfully, it was nicer to drive
__________________
CastleHill Raceway...
FK05 lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:30 PM   #1908
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
Do you race around norcal?
No, I am in SoCal and so is KingofBMain. What are you doing in the XRAY thread?
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:33 PM   #1909
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
No, I am in SoCal and so is KingofBMain. What are you doing in the XRAY thread?
Ohhh. Your no fun

Haha thought id stop by. Your car looks sick BTW. Those black wire markers are sick. I got me a few
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:35 PM   #1910
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, I told you that they are legit. Your new body is sick, as well as your new car.

I have been lurking in the Mi4 thread a lot
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 01:01 AM   #1911
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
That's XRAY's fault, not mine. I can't rotate the shaft 90 and reinstall. My issue with the ECS is the fact that mine are binding. The couplings are binding in the shaft. Thread lock is not the culprit either... I am going to send them in to Hudy America as I just purchased the units.
The ECS' can't be assembled "out of phase". Yours aren't out of phase either. Assuming you rebuilt them and greased them properly with Hudy graphite grease before installing them, you should pull them out and disassemble them, clean all parts thoroughly and reassemble one piece at a time checking for binding at every step. If you find the couplings are binding, try interchanging them to see if they have a better fit in a different position.
Also, looking at your pics, are you aware there are two different length pins? Each shaft takes one short and one long. It looks to me like you have both long pins on one shaft... an easy mistake to make if you reassembled them at the same.
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 01:05 AM   #1912
Tech Master
 
Chris Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogRacing View Post
The ECS' can't be assembled "out of phase". Yours aren't out of phase either. Assuming you rebuilt them and greased them properly with Hudy graphite grease before installing them, you should pull them out and disassemble them, clean all parts thoroughly and reassemble one piece at a time checking for binding at every step. If you find the couplings are binding, try interchanging them to see if they have a better fit in a different position.
Also, looking at your pics, are you aware there are two different length pins? Each shaft takes one short and one long. It looks to me like you have both long pins on one shaft... an easy mistake to make if you reassembled them at the same.

Lutz to the rescue!
__________________
TEXASEOS.net, RcAmerica, Xray, Hudy, Protoform, Orca, Avid, 2mm Designs, Ulti Tires America

Texas EOS 2018!
Chris Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 02:39 AM   #1913
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FK05 lover View Post
Have used (top+bottom) of front shocks spaced on low/med grip successfully, it was nicer to drive

thanks



Also anyone know is the muchmore shock oils are rated the same as xray shock oils.

i know they are both in the hundreds and not tenths eg: 300 350 400 etc.....


kit setup of my 009 eu has 350 oil and i noticed a lot of pro driver setups stating 600 and 700 shock oil?
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 04:00 AM   #1914
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
thanks



Also anyone know is the muchmore shock oils are rated the same as xray shock oils.

i know they are both in the hundreds and not tenths eg: 300 350 400 etc.....


kit setup of my 009 eu has 350 oil and i noticed a lot of pro driver setups stating 600 and 700 shock oil?
CST ratings for oil, 350, 500 etc are linear, meaning 600 has twice the viscosity of 300 etc.

Where as the 'W' ratings are not 'tenths' of the CST ratings, they are a different system of measurement (not a very good one) and are not linear, has no known standard, and subsequently varies from manufacturer to manufacturer

Yes, I believe that the CST ratings should be virtually the same between Much More and Xray
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 04:37 AM   #1915
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=LOSI123;6418967]thanks



Also anyone know is the muchmore shock oils are rated the same as xray shock oils.

QUOTE]

They are close but not exactly the same. Ive got all the muchmore oils cause they are just as good as the xray oil And alot cheaper. They arent the same though because the xray 350 is alot thinner than the muchmore 350 They are the only ones i can compare...

Antoni
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 07:46 AM   #1916
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDogRacing View Post
The ECS' can't be assembled "out of phase". Yours aren't out of phase either. Assuming you rebuilt them and greased them properly with Hudy graphite grease before installing them, you should pull them out and disassemble them, clean all parts thoroughly and reassemble one piece at a time checking for binding at every step. If you find the couplings are binding, try interchanging them to see if they have a better fit in a different position.
Also, looking at your pics, are you aware there are two different length pins? Each shaft takes one short and one long. It looks to me like you have both long pins on one shaft... an easy mistake to make if you reassembled them at the same.
I have already done that and assembled them one at a time. Remember, I have three of these. The steel coupling is binding inside of the shaft. I tried to switch them and same result. I am sending them back to Hudy America and hopefully they can take care of the problem.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 02:01 PM   #1917
Tech Master
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

I need help!!

I rebuilt my diffs but they are still gritty. I have rebuilt them many time before and this has never happened. I sanded the rings on the thrust assembly and diff rings.
gonzo416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 02:05 PM   #1918
Tech Master
 
Chris Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 1,003
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
I need help!!

I rebuilt my diffs but they are still gritty. I have rebuilt them many time before and this has never happened. I sanded the rings on the thrust assembly and diff rings.
Change out the cone washers. Best bet is to just get a new diff next time.
__________________
TEXASEOS.net, RcAmerica, Xray, Hudy, Protoform, Orca, Avid, 2mm Designs, Ulti Tires America

Texas EOS 2018!
Chris Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 02:50 PM   #1919
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo416 View Post
I need help!!

I rebuilt my diffs but they are still gritty. I have rebuilt them many time before and this has never happened. I sanded the rings on the thrust assembly and diff rings.
Most of the time it's the thrust bearing, you may need to replace it.
__________________
Chris Lockhart

**TEAM RCAMERICA**XRAY**HUDY**PROLEVEL RC**
chensleyrc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2009, 03:19 PM   #1920
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IIGQ4U View Post
That's XRAY's fault, not mine. I can't rotate the shaft 90 and reinstall. My issue with the ECS is the fact that mine are binding. The couplings are binding in the shaft. Thread lock is not the culprit either... I am going to send them in to Hudy America as I just purchased the units.
100% garantee you the problem is that loctite touched your graphite grease. If it touches at all, it spreads around to all the grease and turns it into like a glue. Iv done it myself, and have fixed the exact same issue on other xrays who had the same problem.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Xray T2 009 is here FK05 lover Australian Racing 436 08-02-2009 03:41 AM
RaceCraft TC Challenge Kylelim Singapore R/C Racers 119 07-03-2009 09:08 AM
Brushless touring car Salt Air Electric On-Road 9 04-20-2009 04:45 AM
Mana nak beli Xrayt2'009 tq9911 Malaysian R/C Racers 131 04-14-2009 11:10 PM
Wanna start elec this year, need help gentleman81 Electric On-Road 20 02-21-2009 02:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net