Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo Helios...Anyone use one? >

Ko Propo Helios...Anyone use one?

Ko Propo Helios...Anyone use one?

Reply

Old 09-28-2003, 07:28 AM
  #1  
wyd
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Ko Propo Helios...Anyone use one?

Looking at buying this radio. Looks like it is very nice with alot of features. Does anyone have one yet? Where did you order it from or what distributors carry them?

Thanks
Brian
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 09:04 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I got one the other week. Seems real nice and its easy to scroll through the menu's with the little wheel they put on it. Some people don't like the styling but I don't mind it. I got mine at www.speedworldraceway.com I think only the 27 band one is out right now.
Matt Howard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 09:32 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
JasonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

i picked one up a socal last week, i have not had a chance to run it but it really feels comfortable to hold, excecually with the drop down wheel.

socal had one in stock yesterday for $310.00
JasonC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 10:00 AM
  #4  
wyd
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Hey Matt. I was looking at one because I have always had good luck with my KO stuff and never had any glitching with them. The only thing I need to look into more is receiver prices and the overall availability of the radio. The Helios looks like what I'm looking for.

My main problem is I have all Futaba stuff right now and need to sell my 3PJ FM. I have like 5 receivers for it as well.

Does the Helios wiring pattern line up the same as Futaba as I'm also using the Futaba 9550 digital servos. I hate changing the plug layouts.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 11:15 AM
  #5  
wyd
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Matt one more question. I know the Helios comes with the new 302 receiver but does the 301 work with this radio as well?
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 01:28 PM
  #6  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Yup, the KR-301F will work with the EX-10 Helios. I believe the Futaba servo plug is same with the Ko one.

Just one question though, if you have 5 Futaba receivers and using Futaba servos as well. Why not go with their line of radio like the 3PK?
TFR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2003, 04:44 PM
  #7  
wyd
Tech Legend
Thread Starter
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,196
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

I think the main reason is I use to use KO stuff all the time and I would like to run it again. I never had any problems with them and my Futaba glitches from time to time and I can't stand glitching. I think I would just like to possibly go back to KO. If not I might just get the new 3PK.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 09:57 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

try www.hobbymania.com.hk

i emailed KO the 301 series receiver from the KO MARS R ex-1 will work with the EX-10 Helios
fast-ho-cars is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 10:10 AM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 24
Default

Originally posted by fast-ho-cars
try www.hobbymania.com.hk

i emailed KO the 301 series receiver from the KO MARS R ex-1 will work with the EX-10 Helios
How did you find out this store?
desertracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 04:31 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

There's a little compatibility chart in the instructins explaining what will work with the Helios and all the old receivers and servo's will work but in the regular response mode. To get the high speed and super high speed modes you need the newer receivers and digital servo's.
Matt Howard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 04:34 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

DESERTRACER - Hobbymania has a forum on this site, just like KTHobbies, SpeedtechRC, Corally, etc.
fast-ho-cars is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service