Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever... >

1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...

Like Tree1126Likes

1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...

Reply

Old 08-16-2013, 12:24 AM
  #9241  
Tech Regular
 
DIRTMONKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA
Posts: 379
Default

Originally Posted by Ph3nyx View Post
Sadly i'm painting a new mercedes 2013 with the f2012 body ... the difference is that so big with the f60?

what do you use to paint the wings ?
I found that using FASCOLOR paints letting dry over night then spray an automotive clear coat and dry that with a hair dryer, did this to my FGX wing for the LOTUS 2013 no cracks no peeling didn't even show signs of fractured paint after siding on the wing in accidents.

leave any masking on until complete dont spray the clear coat directly on the plastic.
Attached Thumbnails 1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...-553055_635703186443769_678878528_n.jpg   1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...-p1010007.jpg  
DIRTMONKEY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 02:53 AM
  #9242  
Tech Regular
 
Ph3nyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nantes, France
Posts: 408
Default

Originally Posted by DIRTMONKEY View Post
I found that using FASCOLOR paints letting dry over night then spray an automotive clear coat and dry that with a hair dryer, did this to my FGX wing for the LOTUS 2013 no cracks no peeling didn't even show signs of fractured paint after siding on the wing in accidents.

leave any masking on until complete dont spray the clear coat directly on the plastic.
You don't use sand paper first ?
Ph3nyx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 01:33 PM
  #9243  
Tech Regular
 
DIRTMONKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA
Posts: 379
Default

Originally Posted by Ph3nyx View Post
You don't use sand paper first ?
NO just clean with metho let dry, If you use sand paper or even a scotch bright pad it will show in the paint The key is to let dry completely. I have used mine in four rounds so far and still looks new and so does my team mates
DIRTMONKEY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 07:19 PM
  #9244  
Tech Regular
 
Ph3nyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nantes, France
Posts: 408
Default

ok thanks, i'll try it on a future project.
Ph3nyx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 08:24 AM
  #9245  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (25)
 
Thunderbunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 772
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by merkyworks View Post
I thought it was just the F2012 front wing that messed things up and by putting a F60 front wing on fixed this.
IMO, using the F60 front wing on the F2012 looks bad. The scale appearance is very important to me so I just defer to the F60. The F2012 does look sexi though
Thunderbunny is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 03:44 AM
  #9246  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default



I had my first two races on saturday with the front axle. It is impressing how much more speed the car carries through a corner and how fast in turns in the middle of it.
Even with only 80% motor power (otherwise I won't be able to get over the 15 minutes with my 10.5t) I could lap 15.4s (before with full power 15.9s). The second race was the most fun as I could battle with the Pro10 drivers. It was thrilling not to make any mistake as the field stayed close together all the time.
wtcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:06 AM
  #9247  
Tech Fanatic
 
b-man777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MA.
Posts: 942
Default

Hey all: Didn't know where else to put this so I thought i'd ask here. Love the look of the new Corally USA site and was wondering if they had plans on a slx version of there F1 and WGT pan cars? Thanks
b-man777 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 12:36 PM
  #9248  
Tech Adept
 
Cancun Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cancun, Mexico
Posts: 164
Default Chassis?

WTCC,
What chassis are you using in the Ferrari?
Cancun Tom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 01:36 PM
  #9249  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,460
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cancun Tom View Post
WTCC,
What chassis are you using in the Ferrari?
Except for the front axle everything else is a F104v2 pro.
wtcc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 04:40 PM
  #9250  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 317
Default

Any tips on how the paint the driver ad with what?
d.k.vmatt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 05:13 PM
  #9251  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,134
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
Except for the front axle everything else is a F104v2 pro.
so which front end set up is that ?? looks lik the t.o.p. front end
Professor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:23 PM
  #9252  
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,336
Default

the goodyear tyres stickers really finish it off
Attached Thumbnails 1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...-dscf1669.jpg  
malcnz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:36 PM
  #9253  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 982
Default

Originally Posted by Professor View Post
so which front end set up is that ?? looks lik the t.o.p. front end
It's Associated TC6 parts, go back a few pages in this thread to see where it came from.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/12412862-post9176.html
http://www.rctech.net/forum/12439897-post9223.html
terry.sc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:11 AM
  #9254  
Tech Apprentice
 
simmo0916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 67
Default

Hi guys, Me again with a quick question - Can anyone tell me why you should drill holes in the wheels when putting the Pit Shimzu tyres on?
Is it as obvious as helping heat dissipation, or are there other reasons?

Cheers!
simmo0916 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:58 AM
  #9255  
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: DUNEDIN, NewZealand
Posts: 1,336
Default

Originally Posted by simmo0916 View Post
Hi guys, Me again with a quick question - Can anyone tell me why you should drill holes in the wheels when putting the Pit Shimzu tyres on?
Is it as obvious as helping heat dissipation, or are there other reasons?

Cheers!
all rubber tyres need a hole drilled in the inside of rim(to let air escape from heat build up i think) and if you are using foam rims for rubber they wont have a hole std.
malcnz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service