R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2003, 08:02 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Oasis2001
Default Tweak Problem

Just got an interesting problem which may explain why my car has always been a loittle strange to drive. i normally measure my tweak with an MIP tweak station. I get the bubble centered on both ends and drive. Now when i check the tweak by the traditional method the tweak is way out. This method being marking the centre point of the car on both ends and lifting the car up. One wheel lifts up a long time before the other. So basically I cant get it right both by the traditional method and the MIP tweak station. Does this indicate a problem with the tweak station?
Oasis2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 08:57 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default Re: Tweak Problem

Quote:
Originally posted by Oasis2001
Just got an interesting problem which may explain why my car has always been a loittle strange to drive. i normally measure my tweak with an MIP tweak station. I get the bubble centered on both ends and drive. Now when i check the tweak by the traditional method the tweak is way out. This method being marking the centre point of the car on both ends and lifting the car up. One wheel lifts up a long time before the other. So basically I cant get it right both by the traditional method and the MIP tweak station. Does this indicate a problem with the tweak station?
Not necessarily. Before you put the car on the tweak station, ensure the other measurements are set. That includes: droop, ride height, camber, and then tweak. Depending on your car, you may need to reset tweak by loosening the top deck, flatten the chassis, and tighten the top deck.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 10:01 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
evaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: south of metro manila
Posts: 963
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

also, u can try checking the hinge pins that hold the suspension arms, these cangive you a false reading as regards tweak when u use the traditional method, but may not necessarily be detected when you use the tweak station. just my two cents worth.

Jon
evaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 10:54 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

the sounds like a droop difference. the thing with the lifting method is it is not a direct measurement of tweak or droop. if you use the tweak station, you're car will be set correctly for tweak. at this point, you can then adjust your downtravel (droop) with the lifting method. it is fairly crude, but simple and quick, and likely as precise a method as needed.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 11:16 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Tweak Problem

Oasis2001;

Make sure if you have any Sway Bars, to disconnect them from the suspension before checking tweek. Sometimes they can effect the measurement.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 11:20 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 530
Default

I would have to agree with SEABALL. It sounds like you have a droop problems. Make sure all of your downstops are set correctly. Then tweak the car and check it with the conventional method.
BallPy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 12:33 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I always set my droop first, ride height second, then tweek on the MIP station. Make sure your droop is equal on both sides. set your tweek on the station, then try the old method of lifting one end of the car. Your car will lift properly if your droop is even and tweek is set properly.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 03:59 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Oasis2001
Default

Thanks for that guys-those ideas make sense. I measure droop to the tires which could quite easily throw the measurement out. I might put some setup wheels on again and try again.

Thanks for that.
Oasis2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2003, 09:39 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Also if you are using heavy springs and a lot of droop, you may end up having too much spring float, and the arm may not be dropping to full droop. This can happen when i run the red xray crowbars on my car.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tweak XNXIXTXRXOX Nitro On-Road 5 07-11-2007 12:06 PM
Tweak! performula Nitro On-Road 9 05-10-2006 02:14 PM
Tape -vs- battery brace "To tweak or not to tweak is the question" dawgmeat Electric On-Road 37 11-17-2005 01:05 PM
MTX-3 tweak B Nitro On-Road 17 06-30-2003 12:02 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:48 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net