R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-23-2003, 07:24 AM   #1
Tech Initiate

Default why does modern motor wear so quickly?

Hello all, I am new to 1:10 touring and I wonder why are those motors wear so quickly these days? I still remember the old days, people usually don't need to cut the commutator or change brushes or springs so oftern right? Or those modern motors simply outblast (in terms of speed) those old 540 type motors? Thanks!
discus18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 07:28 AM   #2
Tech Elite

R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine

It all comes down to competition. To make motors perform like they are brand new or better than brand new, experimentation is a must. Technology has evolved and continues to evolve.
Old 09-23-2003, 07:37 AM   #3
Tech Adept

brushless is the future
versa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 09:01 AM   #4
Tech Elite

Default Re: why does modern motor wear so quickly?

Quote:
Originally posted by discus18
Hello all, I am new to 1:10 touring and I wonder why are those motors wear so quickly these days? I still remember the old days, people usually don't need to cut the commutator or change brushes or springs so oftern right? Or those modern motors simply outblast (in terms of speed) those old 540 type motors? Thanks!
Increased speed equals increased maintenance.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 09:04 AM   #5
Tech Elite

When I first started racing no one had a comm lathe, not even the place I raced at... I'd go through a motor every weekend... Motors weren't any less expensive either... Not I have my own lathe and I can get motors to last months, how cool is that???