R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2003, 09:12 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 485
Default KO Digital Servo users?

I just installed a new KO digital servo in my tc3 and this thing makes a ton of noise and sits and twitches when sitting still. Does not look like enough to cause problems on the track but it is concerning me a little. I have a futaba 3pk radio and a Keyence speedo. I have hooked it up to another car with the same results. Anyone have the same issues?
Joneser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 10:28 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
RAP66's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

absolutely normal...
__________________
Rich Pedro

[email protected]

www.rcracing.com
RAP66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 10:37 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

They all do that.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 12:00 AM   #4
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default noisy servos

all my cars (F201, TA04-TRF, TAO4-R Tuned, TRF414MII and XXX-S GP) all have ko digital servos (2143) and make the SAME EXACT noise... havent glitched yet or anything weird. i think its normal. ask robert from ko.. im sure he can confirm it.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 12:26 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

They ALL(Ko Propo, Aitronics, JR, Futaba, Hitec) do that.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 01:21 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 485
Default Thanks

I know that they all make noise but this one makes the tires twitch while sitting there...does not look like it affects the steering but it moves the wheels around much more than my digital Airtronics.
Joneser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 06:45 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Hmmm, dosent sound entirely correct, but it's hard when haven't seen it.... Mine is humming and moving, but it's so little, that the wheels aint moving at all.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 11:35 AM   #8
Regional Moderator
 
BHenderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BHenderson Send a message via MSN to BHenderson Send a message via Yahoo to BHenderson
Default

thats what a digital servo does. It gets the signal a lot faster and, if you will stays on the ready, unlike a non-digital servo. There is nothing wrong with it at all.
BHenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 05:55 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 485
Default Servo

I have used other digital servos and I do understand that they make noise. THis however makes a ton of noise and the tires twitch alot. I also noticed the servo gets pretty hot....I have never felt one of my servos get warm before.
Joneser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 08:36 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 244 (99%+)
Default

I run all Ko servos and none make the noise you speak about.

1) make sure the steering isnt putting pressure on your servo.

2) check your wiring.

3) try another servo and see if it does the same thing.

4) if all else fails call ko to set up a repair.
Fred Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 08:43 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

The noise is normal, if you are sitting close to the car with your radio in hand and the antenna is down down the servo will twitch more. Also it will twitch if you have alot of gadgets running in the background ie; computer, modem, tv, fluorescent lights, telephone base, etc...
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2003, 08:49 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 485
Default servo

I have tried another servo and it makes noise but it does not twitch...it is an airtronics. I went as far as standing in the middle of our cul-de-sac at 2 am and it was twitching....no streetlights or anything should have been bothering it
Joneser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 01:08 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Joneser: Mine makes noise, but doesn't seem to twitch. Are you using the HRS receiver with your 3pk? I heard someone mumbling at the 1/8th scale worlds about KO digital servos having trouble with the Futaba HRS receivers, but I don't know how accurate the info was.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:16 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Erik R.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 618
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have a Ko 2123 servo and my servo makes noise also. When I first turn it on when I am standing right next to it it twitches and hums, but as soon as I put it one the track there are no problems at all. I think its normal. I have never had my servo glitch or twitch while I am driving my car.
Erik R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2003, 03:28 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 485
Default cypressmidwest

Hey Ian....I was sitting across from you last night at the gate I am not using the hrs receiver. i am actually using a hitec synthesized module and novak receiver. I have never had any problems before so I may put it on the track and see. Maybe I am too close to the car when I am trying it. I will send the wife out 50 feet or so and I will see if it still does it.
Joneser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JR 9100T digital servo / XP (ACE) 1015 digital servo SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 08-18-2010 01:28 PM
Futaba S9650 digital servo / pics ..... 1/12th servo evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 09-21-2007 05:44 PM
wtb digital servo Caspa Australia Wanted to Buy 3 02-09-2007 05:40 AM
What digital servo fit for m18?? adykahung Micro and Mini Scales 2 12-22-2006 12:59 PM
Digital Servo new92 Electric On-Road 13 03-02-2005 05:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net