R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Novak will make it right for you! You just send it in for evaluation and they will make the repairs. Really good customer service!
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:30 PM   #17
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Default

Chopping under brakes is most likely a sensor issue in the motor. First thing to do is make sure the sensor wire is secure in the ESC. I've had this problem before on GTB setups. If it is secure, try swapping motors with the same ESC. If that solves it, there is most likely damage to the sensor in the motor and it needs to be sent in.
MRDS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:31 PM   #18
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Default

Forgot to mention, I also use an M8 with synth module and JR310 receivers. Only difference is my module is Airtronics and not Novak. I highly doubt that your radio configuration is the source of the problem.
MRDS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:15 PM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I tried different Motors and everything else you can think of. I talked to Novak and they said to send it in and they will take care of it I have'nt had any trouble with anything Novak, and I have been running them since the 80's.
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 10:59 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Tried my Re-Mapped GTB and the Brakes work OK for a Novak.......But now my car glitches up a Storm? Before races it would just launch for no reason? I would be walking up the Drivers stand to find my car 1/2 way across the track??? Under acceleration my steering servo is very jumpy??? So I went back to my "Borrowed" 10 year old LRP 7.1 and my car works fine. I guess I will send it back in then try to sell it. I bought 2 GTB's in one month=no good and tried a Re-Mapped I just got back in the mail=No Good. My LRP Sphere That I bought for my 2wd Buggy has been absolutely perfect. I guess I will be buying a Sphere for my B44 Next.
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:35 PM   #21
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss




Sorry to hear that your GTB is still not working well for you.

I find it odd that after re-programming it has picked up a glitch considering we have not seen this phenomenon elsewhere.

Is there anything else that I can do to try to help solve the problems you are having?




You guys think every problem you have with your GTB is a "Phenomenom" you dont have to ask too far at our track to get some pretty negative opinions on your ESC's. It's a shame because you guys used to have great products. As far as "picking up" a glitch it picked it up at NOVAK while getting serviced for a Brake problem. It's pretty bad that I have better performance with a 10 year old ESC.
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 03:44 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
minimusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: OC CA
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmatter View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss




Sorry to hear that your GTB is still not working well for you.

I find it odd that after re-programming it has picked up a glitch considering we have not seen this phenomenon elsewhere.

Is there anything else that I can do to try to help solve the problems you are having?




You guys think every problem you have with your GTB is a "Phenomenom" you dont have to ask too far at our track to get some pretty negative opinions on your ESC's. It's a shame because you guys used to have great products. As far as "picking up" a glitch it picked it up at NOVAK while getting serviced for a Brake problem. It's pretty bad that I have better performance with a 10 year old ESC.
fwiw i had a problem with the brakes (or lack there of) on my gtb. I sent it in to steve and he updated it for me and it's been fine ever since.
__________________
"I personally do not believe in luck. I believe luck is just an excuse for people that have failed in their mission to accomplish something." Allen McNish
minimusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:15 PM   #23
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

dmatter,

My intention in PMing you about trying to resolve your problem was a sincere attempt at trying to make things better for you, not an attempt to spin-doctor the situation.

We are well aware that some people tend to have better luck with our products than others but we none-the-less try our hardest to do right by our customers when a problem arises and they are willing to work with us.

If you would like to continue to try to find a solution to this problem we are more than willing to work with you.

Please give Jackie or I a call at (949) 833-8873 if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Thanks!

-Steve
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:28 PM   #24
Tech Addict
 
Warhawk 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 563
Default

Maybe this isn't reletive, maybe it is. If you are using a profile that has reverse, you need to hit the break twice to engage reverse. If you are moving is it possible that the esc thinks you are trying to engage reverse but since the motor is spinning forward, it will not allow reverse to be engaged. When you tap reverse then hit it hard you get no brakes on the second touch and your car seemingly shoots forward into the wall. It strikes me that this is possible.
Warhawk 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 05:14 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,002
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Steve,

I use a futaba 3PM, can you recommend a good braking expo and atl settings for a mod setup? Currently I am using -50% exp and 8% atl. Hard to drive when there is no brakes on the second pump.

Thanks.

Joel
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 08:58 AM   #26
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Hi Joel,

First off, I believe it's been mentioned earlier in the thread, but we have a bit of a software update that should fix the "double pump" problem that some people were experiencing. This problem was made worse when turning the epa/atl down significantly from the point at which the one touch setup was done.

If you want, you can send your ESC in to us and we can do the software update for you to see if that helps with some of the problems you are experiencing.

On to the other stuff...

I assume that when you did your one touch setup you had the expo at 0 and the atl at 100%? And that this is in reference to a touring car modified setup?

Usually I leave my end point or atl at 100%... this way if I NEED the brakes, they are there in an emergency...nothing worse than hitting full brake and not getting what you expect to be there.

In regards to the exponential setting, that's a bit more of a personal preference... I have seen people be very happy with settings from 0-50%... I'd say most tend to set theirs in the 20-30% range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rccartips View Post
Hi Steve,

I use a futaba 3PM, can you recommend a good braking expo and atl settings for a mod setup? Currently I am using -50% exp and 8% atl. Hard to drive when there is no brakes on the second pump.

Thanks.

Joel
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 06:15 PM   #27
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm the guy who has to keep loaning the LRP V7.1 to Dax every weekend. I have 4 GTB's and run a wide variety of motors with them. I've failed to find any problems with any of my GTB's. However Dax has had miseralbe results with his GTB. Dax spends thousands of dollars every year to be a competitive club racer. He's also been racing since the mid 80's, just like me. Please take care when questioning his integrity when he says his GTB has a fault. I would truly like to see Novak send him a known good unit to race with while his unit is evaluated by Novak.
bshack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 06:43 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,002
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Steve. It's my only brushless esc, can't find time to send it to Novak. Will try your settings on atl and exp.
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 04:05 PM   #29
Tech Fanatic
 
dmatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Galloway, Ohio
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Brad, why dont you or Brian buy it for $100.00 and YOU mail it in I am sick of running to the Post Office
dmatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 04:23 PM   #30
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'll let Brian know.... I've got too many of them. 4 GTB's is enough. If Novak does not help you out, I'll put LRP or Orion units in all of my cars.. I've talked many people into buying the GTB's... Does Novak think that Local CRCRC fast guys do not influence other racers and beginners as to what they should buy if they want the best??? I still remember Tyree Phillips giving me a new speedo at Cleveland when I was a kid (Mine let the smoke out)... That was above and beyond. That's why I always supported Novak.
bshack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Associated B44. Race, Tune and Modify Shadows Electric Off-Road 6171 08-09-2015 08:32 AM
lrp brushless esc raceblast Electric On-Road 840 04-02-2012 05:45 PM
Ask Steve "The Evicerator" Weiss TeamButter Electric On-Road 7088 07-16-2011 06:01 PM
New Novak Brusless System danjoy25 Electric On-Road 2688 10-14-2010 09:40 AM
Losi Constant Velocity Drive (LCD) vs MIP CVD John Stranahan Electric On-Road 263 01-24-2010 12:51 PM
Novak GTB GSCL-1 Radio and Electronics 7 03-28-2008 12:02 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net