R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-18-2008, 01:23 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to Fear
Questions?? Q about LiPo voltage cutoff...

So:

I'm new to LiPo, and I'm attempting to be a bit cautious in my endeavors. I'm running a MM 7700kV/MM ESC with a Venom 4000mAh 2S 7.4V LiPo. From everything I've seen (including the battery's packaging), it says not to run below 6V... is this correct? Even with a bit of timing pulled on the MM, it seems to only want to run for, say, 7-10 minutes, and I might be a bit generous. And in case it makes any difference, I've only run the battery about 4 times now from full charge (4.24V/cell) to 6v. I guess I'm not too sure what to expect as far as "break-in" -- are they similar to the way Nickel Metals break in?

Throw me a bone here, fellas.

Associated RC8
RB S7, JR Z9100S/Z9100T(nuked, at JR for repair)/Futaba BLS-351

Futaba 4PK
Fear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:24 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

No break, no discharging just repeaking, and no lipo charger will exept lipo below 6v as this can make the battery go POP!!

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 08:18 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default Bigger

You are at the limits on that lipo. Be sure to check the temp on it and don't get it over 140 degrees or it will not last very long. Running it to cutoff voltage is not very good either for it to last. You really need the highest c rated batt with the most milliamp rating that your allowed with that hot of a motor. I have ruined some lipos with a 7700 so i know first hand how to kill em.
latemodel13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 09:34 AM   #4
Tech Master