Tamiya TB-02

Reply

Old 01-19-2007, 08:37 AM
  #1726  
Tech Regular
 
nagatahawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 349
Default

I used to race the tbo2,
use the evo 3 parts, the evo 4 will not fit.

You may want to invest in a TA05 I cannot count on how many diffs I went thru while racing this car. I think it was one or two a race.

good luck with your 02

wn
nagatahawk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:20 AM
  #1727  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

The Evo IV spool will probably fit in your 02. My friend used the Evo IV outdrives on his TB02R which I believe are the same as the Evo III outdrives.
wrxnfx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:34 AM
  #1728  
Tech Addict
 
waOscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pattaya Thailand
Posts: 614
Default

TB02, TB EvoIII and EB EvoIV all use same outdrives.

The EvoIII and the TB02 use the same ring gears.
But I don't think they released a spool for the EvoIII.

The EvoIV use differant ring gears (they changed the internal ratio on the EvoIV) so I'm not sure if that will work.

I would suggest posting your question on the EvoIV or EvoV thread because a lot of the guys who have those cars started with TB02s (just like me) and someone their should be able to give you a definate answer.
waOscar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:43 AM
  #1729  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,081
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by waOscar
TB02, TB EvoIII and EB EvoIV all use same outdrives.

The EvoIII and the TB02 use the same ring gears.
But I don't think they released a spool for the EvoIII.

The EvoIV use differant ring gears (they changed the internal ratio on the EvoIV) so I'm not sure if that will work.

I would suggest posting your question on the EvoIV or EvoV thread because a lot of the guys who have those cars started with TB02s (just like me) and someone their should be able to give you a definate answer.
Tamiya only changed the bevel gear in the Evo IV. The diff gears are the same tooth count and pitch. The Evo IV ball diff gear and the entire front one-way unit will fit a TB-02. It would make sense the spool would fit also. I put Evo IV ball diff gears on my old TB-02 and haven't stripped a gear since. They are much thicker than the stock Evo III gears, so they are less prone to flexing.
ittjv is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 10:44 AM
  #1730  
Tech Addict
 
waOscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pattaya Thailand
Posts: 614
Default

Originally Posted by nagatahawk
I used to race the tbo2,
use the evo 3 parts, the evo 4 will not fit.

You may want to invest in a TA05 I cannot count on how many diffs I went thru while racing this car. I think it was one or two a race.

good luck with your 02

wn
The diffs work fine if you build them well and use shims to fine tune the fitting.
I raced a TB02 for 12 months and only damaged diff gears from very high speed head on collisions. I have a EvoIV now and i've read many complaints about bevel gear problems but again I haven't had any problems myself.

I still agree with you about the TA05. Excellent car for the price and with the right guy behind the wheel very capable of matching it with the top cars of any make. I run a TA05 for my daughter, our clubs top driver used it last week in stock and gave us a caning.

TB02 is a very capable car, if you are racing it, keep using it untill your consistancy is regularly around the 0.5 or below. Then its time to look for a new car.

Enjoy
waOscar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 01:38 PM
  #1731  
Tech Apprentice
 
peejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 92
Default

Originally Posted by waOscar
...
The EvoIV use differant ring gears (they changed the internal ratio on the EvoIV) so I'm not sure if that will work.

...
You are correct about the internal ratio but the ring gear is the same. It is the bevel pinion that has a different number of teeth.

Evo III/TB02 15T; EvoIV 17T; Evo 5 16T. Ring gear 39T.
peejay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 08:55 PM
  #1732  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 96
Thumbs up

Thank you all for your replies. About the gear stripping, It has happened once. I love the driveabilty of the car so much more than the the others I have to live with it. Replacing the gear boxes every 4-5 months is something I did with MY TA02, and something I do with this kit also. Cheers Amigos!!!

JUJUBEAN
jujubean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 07:04 PM
  #1733  
MDL
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toowoomba, QLD
Posts: 194
Default

Hey guys,

Quick question, i broke the C-hub carrier on the front of my TB02

what one would be better?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Tamiya-50985-...QQcmdZViewItem

Or

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Yeah-Racing-A...QQcmdZViewItem

Or any other from that site?

MDL
MDL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 08:45 PM
  #1734  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 336
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default tb02

If anyone is interested I have a bag full of hopups for this car. I no longer have the car, so the hopups, which were just installed, are for sale.
Jspecrcr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 01:17 AM
  #1735  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 336
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default tbo2

Sorry for posting here...
Jspecrcr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2007, 03:10 AM
  #1736  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MDL
Hey guys,

Quick question, i broke the C-hub carrier on the front of my TB02

what one would be better?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Tamiya-50985-...QQcmdZViewItem

Or

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Yeah-Racing-A...QQcmdZViewItem

Or any other from that site?

MDL
The first one will work, but you will have to replace both left and right as there is some caster angle on there, 4 isn't much, it will help pull your car straight out of corners. The second one I believe will fit but I'm not cartain.
ford_racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 11:29 AM
  #1737  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

my car is on crack! I raced this weekend and the first qual it was spinning out due to rocks getting stuck between the diff and inner camber mount.(shaved the mounts down) 2nd qual. car was pushing a bit too much, so I switched to blue front silver rear with top of shock all way out, from yellow yellow on first qual. 3rd qual, still pushing so switched to blue rear, silver front, with rear shock on outside hole on arm.(made it much harder) Actual race...Car pushed sooo bad, had to almost stop at each corner to turn! COuld swear that if the rear is harder it would oversteer, but it just planted the rear end! I was using assoc. springs, blue is harder than silver.

Did I miss something? why is it doing that?
Aluma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 01:46 PM
  #1738  
Tech Master
 
tamiyarcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,633
Default

Originally Posted by Aluma
my car is on crack! I raced this weekend and the first qual it was spinning out due to rocks getting stuck between the diff and inner camber mount.(shaved the mounts down) 2nd qual. car was pushing a bit too much, so I switched to blue front silver rear with top of shock all way out, from yellow yellow on first qual. 3rd qual, still pushing so switched to blue rear, silver front, with rear shock on outside hole on arm.(made it much harder) Actual race...Car pushed sooo bad, had to almost stop at each corner to turn! COuld swear that if the rear is harder it would oversteer, but it just planted the rear end! I was using assoc. springs, blue is harder than silver.

Did I miss something? why is it doing that?
What type of surface?
I would go back to box stock settings. or a Tamiya yellow front and a Tamiya blue rear.
tamiyarcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 08:29 PM
  #1739  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,157
Default

Originally Posted by Aluma
my car is on crack! I raced this weekend and the first qual it was spinning out due to rocks getting stuck between the diff and inner camber mount.(shaved the mounts down) 2nd qual. car was pushing a bit too much, so I switched to blue front silver rear with top of shock all way out, from yellow yellow on first qual. 3rd qual, still pushing so switched to blue rear, silver front, with rear shock on outside hole on arm.(made it much harder) Actual race...Car pushed sooo bad, had to almost stop at each corner to turn! COuld swear that if the rear is harder it would oversteer, but it just planted the rear end! I was using assoc. springs, blue is harder than silver.

Did I miss something? why is it doing that?
Run tamiya yellows all the way around and a yellow sway bar up front. Run a one-way if possible. 40wt oil up front and 30wt in the rear. Longest camber links. Shocks all the way out. 2 degrees of up travel front and rear. ride height at 5mm. and 1.5 to 2 degree's of negative camber. Front toe even. You should be dialed. Evo series and TB series cars a very stable, so run between 1 and 2 degree's of rear toe. If you like associated springs, run silvers all the way around.
It's sounds like your racing in parking lot style tracks. Try not saucing your tires. Just clean them after each run.
Juan Aveytia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:30 AM
  #1740  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

wow, now that's what I'm talking bout! Thanks Juan! Do you mean having 2 mm of up travel? Like the little droop screw 2mm out of the arm? Also is this assuming I have the LWT suspension?

Yup, parking lot racing...well, its a dedicated track, but conditions are so bad, that'd it'd pretty much be an OOOLLLLDDD cracked, rutty, pebbly, parking lot that you'd find in an abandoned lot.
Aluma is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service