Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
4-cell gtb work with 6 cells and 17.5? >

4-cell gtb work with 6 cells and 17.5?

4-cell gtb work with 6 cells and 17.5?

Old 09-10-2008, 07:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (159)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,718
Trader Rating: 159 (99%+)
Default 4-cell gtb work with 6 cells and 17.5?

Just curious. Was planning taking off the fins on installing a cover for stock, but if the 4cell version will work it will save me the time and money.
Krio is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 07:48 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,982
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

It'll work, just be sure to check the temps - I believe you can flip and PUT the Heatsink ON the 4 cell
SWTour is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 08:04 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (159)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,718
Trader Rating: 159 (99%+)
Default

temps won't be an issue. I will be running it off road, but the onroad forum is a better place to ask about the 4-cell gtb since no one runs 4 cell offroad
Krio is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 02:10 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I was thinking about the same thing. I have a 4 cell GTB in my 12th scale now but wanted to see if I could use it in my RDX with 6 cell and 17.5 with the heatsink on of course.

Would like to give it a try this weekend.

Maybe Charlie will see this and give some input?
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 07:53 AM
  #5  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Originally Posted by Xtant3150c View Post
I was thinking about the same thing. I have a 4 cell GTB in my 12th scale now but wanted to see if I could use it in my RDX with 6 cell and 17.5 with the heatsink on of course.

Would like to give it a try this weekend.

Maybe Charlie will see this and give some input?
Charlie will be on vacation, but you can email [email protected] or ask the question in his thread, here.
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 11:48 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Mahalo's

Will Do.
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:07 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I will be testing out the 4 Cell GTB in my RDX with 6 Cells and a Hacker 17.5 Brushless Motor tomorrow (weather permitting? )

I put the heatsink from my XBR esc on it as well as a fan just to be on the safe side.

Emailed Steve at Novak about this and he said it should work fine with the heatsink on there.
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:28 PM
  #8  
ODB
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
ODB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pepperhood Yo!
Posts: 359
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I would like to know the answer to this as well as I have a 4-cell GTB I would like to use with 6 cells or lipo with a very mild motor 17.5 or 21.5. Just wondering if it was possible w/o damaging the 4-cell GTB esc.
ODB is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 10:33 PM
  #9  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (10)
 
monkeyracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 6,293
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a 4 cell GTB in my Tamiya Mini without any problems. As previously mentioned, heat is the enemy. I run the bag off the thing, and it never even gets warm, nevermind hot.

The word I got from Novak, and others, is that the 4 cell is the same ESC as the 6 cell, but without the heat sink.

Jim
monkeyracing is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 11:09 PM
  #10  
ODB
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
ODB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pepperhood Yo!
Posts: 359
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info, Jim! I just did not want to be the first to take a chance. I would only be running 7.2 volts with mild motors so I imagined I would be fine.
ODB is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 12:11 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Well our race got rained out so I only got one run in with my 4cell GTB in my RDX running 6 cell and Hacker 17.5.

It ran smooth and was a nice improvement over my XBR esc

The motor ran cooler at around 160 and the esc was around 115.

Will most likely be keeping it in my RDX for now.
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 05:09 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 650
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've run up to a 13.5 in offroad with a 4 cell GTB on LiPo without any problems. If you want to run a mild modified you'll need to have a fan blowing across the speedo but it works fine all the way to a 7.5 turn.
Fred_B is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 07:37 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (159)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,718
Trader Rating: 159 (99%+)
Default

Thanks for letting us know!
Krio is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 01:22 PM
  #14  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 46
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkeyracing View Post
I'm running a 4 cell GTB in my Tamiya Mini without any problems. As previously mentioned, heat is the enemy. I run the bag off the thing, and it never even gets warm, nevermind hot.

The word I got from Novak, and others, is that the 4 cell is the same ESC as the 6 cell, but without the heat sink.

Jim
I watched Charlie do quite a bit of work at the Snowbirds this year. I believe the only changes between the 4 and 6 cell GTB's are the heatsink and the gauge of wire used - 14 on the 6 cell version and 16 on the 4 cell version.
Team Speed is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 08:41 PM
  #15  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

One other thing to watch with the 4 cell is....If you are running a lipo is to not let it go below 6.0 volts. The 4 cell does not have the cutoff in it.
Racecarguy is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.