R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2003, 02:58 AM   #16
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I bought my lathe from them about 2 weeks ago, too lazy to check the site again to make sure but the lathe page should still be there.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 08:12 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

xray racer - Ok I recieved my Eagle mod fashion lathe today, set it up and cut a few comm's. If you decide to get the mod fashion here are a few things you should know.

Firstly soldering is needed to complete it(which isn't hard).

Check the V-blocks to make sure they are perfectely straight or they will wear very quickly and unevenly.

The cut with the included bit is perfect, just awsome.

I used the integy 55t lathe motor and an old 4 cell 1900 pack, speed was perfect.

I'm very happy with it.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 08:45 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
JoshR 85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Franklin
Posts: 1,345
Default

HeY!!!

So it don't matter what you use between carbide or a diamond, i thought that it did and a diamond was better but i was wrong well thanx and does it matter what type of lathe u get like a cheap one or go all out and get a hudy??? i al;so have a freind that built his own lathe where you flip a switch to cut it and it's suppose to be better then when you cut it w/ you hand because that remains at a constint speed unlike us we might slow down little bit, and or speed up, but o-well. thanx in advanced.......
JoshR 85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 09:15 PM   #19
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default


I just got the Fantom lathe. I was wondering what your suppost to set the peak detection and or volt/amp when charging a four cell 3300.
I have a Pit bull charger.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 09:55 AM   #20
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

yodace - It dosn't matter it's a lathe pack, just set it at .03mv's.

JoshR 85 - My mod fashion cost $140 with a motor and an extra carbide bit, it works great(awsome cut). My view is there is no need to spend $200+ on a lathe.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 12:38 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Why I was asking is because the cells got hot.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 12:51 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

This is normal, all cells get hot at the end of a charge. .03mv's shouldn't hurt your batteries as it will cut off earlier then higher settings.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 09:05 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
yodace's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,497
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Today I tried turn a stock motor. But the armture would not stay in the end stops. It would pop out and fly forward.

I am using the stock belts that came with the Fantom lathe.

The lathe worked when I was turning my mod arm.

Please help.
yodace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 10:16 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
Me+RC=$$$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Me+RC=$$$ Send a message via Yahoo to Me+RC=$$$
Default

I just bought an X-mod Super lathe, can't wait for it to get here
Me+RC=$$$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Lathes rinkrat99 Electric On-Road 2 06-02-2006 02:29 PM
wich one of theese lathes are complete with motor en bite Rasmus TbEvo IV Electric On-Road 5 03-23-2006 08:17 AM
Question on motor lathes... MSCAVA Electric On-Road 5 08-20-2005 10:54 AM
Stock Motor Lathes for sale jsp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-11-2005 08:02 PM
Motor Lathes (Alternative BITS) Geppetto Electric On-Road 6 12-15-2001 08:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net