R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2008, 03:04 PM   #61
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
just a clear up something i just read in my post,


no, i don't lay on the 'FLOOR' and check droop.
I was wondering if that was right.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 11:28 PM   #62
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=Verndog;4834656]
Hey D...I hear ya...I want one for my 007 also but I'm listening to the end users for the most need. Sounds like for now, I need to find a Cyclone...and start asking questions. I know of 2 right now I'll look into.
QUOTE]

After playing aound with my buddies MI3 plate I'd like to have one for my cyclone as well. Do you need a chassis to mold one off of or do you need a complete car with electrics installed? The only problem I see Cyclone users running into would be where the clamp may or may not go on the left front just infront of the servo. Some guys have shoe gooed the servo further forward and don't use the stock mounts. Oh well to them if that's where you place it right?????? Let me know as we might be able to get you what you need if you don't have one locally.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 04:42 PM   #63
Tech Elite
 
KHoff7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have changed my vote to 008 xray.
__________________
Awesomatix USA / Middle River Hobbies / Sweep / Psycho Cells Racing
Karl Hoffmeister
KHoff7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 05:46 PM   #64
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST

After playing aound with my buddies MI3 plate I'd like to have one for my cyclone as well. Do you need a chassis to mold one off of or do you need a complete car with electrics installed? The only problem I see Cyclone users running into would be where the clamp may or may not go on the left front just infront of the servo. Some guys have shoe gooed the servo further forward and don't use the stock mounts. Oh well to them if that's where you place it right?????? Let me know as we might be able to get you what you need if you don't have one locally.
I would need a chassis to get started, then at the time we go to run the production I would need a complete car. If I dont use a complete car, there can be unseen issues that come up. For instance, the servo issue you speak of...I'd just add an extra hole or 2 in that area to avoid potential interference.

I will work on getting this chassis this week, and see where we get. Also, if anyone can give me some history on the Cyclone, and any years there are chassis changes that would help save time. I need to know if the outer chassis profile (ie shape / footprint) changes along the way. If it does, there may be choices to make.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 09:14 PM   #65
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
I would need a chassis to get started, then at the time we go to run the production I would need a complete car. If I dont use a complete car, there can be unseen issues that come up. For instance, the servo issue you speak of...I'd just add an extra hole or 2 in that area to avoid potential interference.

I will work on getting this chassis this week, and see where we get. Also, if anyone can give me some history on the Cyclone, and any years there are chassis changes that would help save time. I need to know if the outer chassis profile (ie shape / footprint) changes along the way. If it does, there may be choices to make.
Cool.....pm me if I can be of any help.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 09:51 PM   #66
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KHoff7 View Post
I have changed my vote to 008 xray.
The setup plate Nazi says....NO CHANGES!



__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 10:27 PM   #67
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

Does the lipo wight tray come in a size to fit into the tc5r chassis ?

Or is it only designed to fit in the 2.5mm foam chassis
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 10:40 PM   #68
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallstreet View Post
Does the lipo wight tray come in a size to fit into the tc5r chassis ?

Or is it only designed to fit in the 2.5mm foam chassis
It fits the R type also. Lugs are just shy of 2mm deep. It was made to have a universal fit....2mm-4mm and beyond. With some of the heavier packs like the SMC 5000, it isn't taking much additional weight to balance either....I'm considering a lighter "side weight" for the heavier packs.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 12:00 AM   #69
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

How's the Cyclone set u plate coming along?
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:21 AM   #70
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
How's the Cyclone set u plate coming along?
Things are a bit "quiet" at the track the last few weeks and I haven't gotten a Cyclone yet. I'll send out a few PM's this eve and see if the 2 I'm thinking of are interested in helping out. Should know more sometime tomarrow.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:48 AM   #71
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Things are a bit "quiet" at the track the last few weeks and I haven't gotten a Cyclone yet. I'll send out a few PM's this eve and see if the 2 I'm thinking of are interested in helping out. Should know more sometime tomarrow.
Sweet. I will see if I can get a spare one full of electronics to you if someone local can't be of help.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:01 PM   #72
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Verndog View Post
Things are a bit "quiet" at the track the last few weeks and I haven't gotten a Cyclone yet. I'll send out a few PM's this eve and see if the 2 I'm thinking of are interested in helping out. Should know more sometime tomarrow.
I already asked him and he said no problem, besides if he did object we could just take one while hes racing the other
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:19 PM   #73
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Sweet. I will see if I can get a spare one full of electronics to you if someone local can't be of help.
Got it covered.

Cyclone in the works!

I see why you guys are interested, test chassis has considerable bow up at each end >.015+, we'll see how much of that comes out once mounted and torqued in flat position.

Ohh...BTW, for those that think the tweak is out after pulling by hand to a Hudy setup board think twice. My fairly new board has over .020 bow to it across the width, lengthwise its not bad.

If all goes according to plan I will have these running in the shop a week from this Saturday. This week I need to get more baseplates, and a new lighter sideweight run out, plus I'm working on a new "Versa Mount" baseplate design.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:26 PM   #74
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

What about the Tamiya 416 ?
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:30 PM   #75
Tech Master
 
Verndog's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PPDBillet.com USA
Posts: 1,845
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
What about the Tamiya 416 ?
I've had 5 or 6 requests for the 416. Right now Xray 007 / 008 have more requests. If that "balance" changes over the next few weeks and I get more 416 interest, I have no problem going to the 416 first.
__________________
--->Dial-a-Grip for TC6
Kevin -- PPDBillet---TC6---Exoray 008
---Team Hoarders---
Verndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XRAY 808 FRONT ALUMINUM ADJUSTABLE HINGE PIN PLATES kwilke R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-29-2008 04:50 PM
Xray T2 Top plates *new* fjm9898 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 10-18-2007 12:25 PM
3 xray t2 chassis and top plates $40 shipped for all billjacobs R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-01-2007 10:22 PM
Xray FK-05 stock 2.5mm chassis (top, bottom plates and towers) UnderDaHill R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 09-08-2005 02:00 PM
Xray M18 speed 300 Motor plates HYDRAMATIC99 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2004 02:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:47 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net