Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
SENSORED VS SENSORLESS BRUSHLESS MOTOR >

SENSORED VS SENSORLESS BRUSHLESS MOTOR

SENSORED VS SENSORLESS BRUSHLESS MOTOR

Reply

Old 08-30-2008, 08:54 AM
  #1  
DJ
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 47
Default SENSORED VS SENSORLESS BRUSHLESS MOTOR

Hi i want to try Brushless motor on my TA-05 but can somebody educate me on whats the diff. between the "sensored and sensorless motor" any advantage between the two or which is latest tech.
Somebody!
DJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 09:11 AM
  #2  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Here is the link to a page from our web site that discusses the differences.

Novak manufactures sensored motors:

Sensored vs Sensorless
NovakTwo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 11:25 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (154)
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,544
Trader Rating: 154 (100%+)
Default

And just to throw a money wrench in the works, I'll mention that I am running a Novak SS5800 motor with the 13MM sintered rotor using a Castle Sidewinder Sport ESC. I have the sensor cable from the Novak motor plugged into my rear shock tower. [Wrapped around it, actually.]
ta_man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:13 PM
  #4  
DJ
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 47
Default

Thanks for the link.
In my understanding based on the written explanation, sensored brushless is much much better than sensorless.
DJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

After running a novak sensored setup, I will always run a "Proper sensored setup, not some sensorless hack-job" (sorry to whoever i stole that quote from. There is a world of difference between sensored and sensorless.

Corinator
Corinator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:56 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,564
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Corinator View Post
After running a novak sensored setup, I will always run a "Proper sensored setup, not some sensorless hack-job" (sorry to whoever i stole that quote from. There is a world of difference between sensored and sensorless.

Corinator
i believe you owe that to syndr0me.

Although...
SL is not a "hack job". SL is actually very smooth, most of the better BL esc's only use the sensors at start up (tekin, speedpassion), and then switch to SL operation once the back emf is established. why? from what i understand this way is more accurate @ higher rpms, but SL start up can be an issue with higher wind motors(which is why most SL combos use faster motors, for example castle's slowest motor is a 4600 kv, which equates to about a 8.5 novak), which is exasperated by the uber tall gearing needed to run on the motors.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 12:24 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
Schs2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pembroke, ON Canada
Posts: 826
Default

So i just got my first sensored brushless hobbywing combo any do's and Donts? with them or can i run them like any normal sensorless brushless system?
Schs2013 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service