R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-07-2003, 07:05 PM   #1
Tom
Tech Regular

Default Sway Bars

If you run a sway bar, say at the front, you get more rear traction, but,

do you lose front grip and not gain rear grip(just a feeling of less front grip)?

or

do you lose front grip and a gain rear grip
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 07:37 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic

Default wow

that is the best question i have ever heard, and i also want to hear the question, great question tom. Come on people with the answer, lets hear it, i wish i could, but i'm not experienced enough to know.
pro3racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 07:47 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Well, a sway bar on one end simply does its job by limiting the movement of the suspension arms on one end(in order to prevent excessive body roll), & as a side effect, they tend to reduce traction on that end, but do nothing to improve grip on the other end.....

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 07:54 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic

Send a message via AIM to Accord

A rear sway bar will give your car more steering and a front swaybar will give you less steering. If you have a lot of over steer it's usually a good idea to use a front sway bar, if you have a lot of understeer then you should use a rear swaybar.

Does this answer your question?
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 12:36 AM   #5
Tom
Tech Regular

I mean,

if you add a sway bar it takes away grip at that end. But do you lose this grip (like its taken away) or is the grip take from the sway bar end used on the other end (non sway bar end gaining grip)?
Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2003, 12:58 AM   #6
Tech Addict