R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2003, 07:57 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default Fantom Dyno Help.

Hi I just bought a used Fantom Dyno and tried it out for a couple motors and everything worked fine. The next day I want to test a motor and press run motor the motor and it doesn't move. I have the Dos software. I have no idea what version but the dyno appears to be one of the newer version because it has the blue anodized clamp but the software appears to be old.

If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,
Martin.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 09:54 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

When you hook up the motor leads to it and turn the dyno on does the motor spin? Have you tried a different motor? Also check your power source, if it is a battery make sure that it is charged. Let me know what you find out. It is possible that you might have blown the fets in the unit, don't ask how but it does happen from time to time.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2003, 05:48 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

Thanks for taking the time to help Kraig. It turned out it was my laptop getting frozen whenever I pressed the run motor button. Tried it on a different laptop and it works perfect.

Btw, what kind of power supply is needed to run one of these thing with a low turn mod motor? I have a 30 amp unit and it wont start the motor so I had to use a battery.

Thanks again.
rcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2003, 09:37 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Pick up a garden tractor battery from Wal-Mart or something like that. Also get a charger if you don't have one so you can keep the battery charged. With low turn mod motors I would just tune off of amp draw on a C.E. charger. With stocks and 19 turns you should be fine with the battery.

The problem with the 30 amp supply is that your motor draws such a large amp draw when it first starts and your 30 amp unit can only put out 30 amps. Thus the need for a car battery.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fantom Dyno Facts Machine Dyno jeffscrew R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 01-13-2008 05:53 AM
Thunder Zapper Fantom Dyno Fantom Lathe Spring dyno Brush Butcher Fussy full monte HenBeav R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-06-2006 11:38 AM
FANTOM DYNO johnny boy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-10-2006 02:16 PM
fantom dyno johnny boy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 03-24-2005 12:44 AM
Fantom Dyno DDAWG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-19-2005 11:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net