Community
Wiki Posts
Search

New to the hobby, forums, and car

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2008, 09:59 AM
Tech Rookie

Default New to the hobby, forums, and car

Hello everyone! I am new to this hobby....well let me say it's been a long time. I just bought an Exceed champion PRO and I am so far impressed with it. It is a very fast car espically for an electric. It has a brushless motor and ESC. The motor is a KV 3300 amd I am using a 7.2V NIMH 4200 battery to power it. I bought a Universal Smart charger for 4.8-10.8V Ni-MH batteries and it can charge in either 1A or 2A. I have been using the 2A to charge it. Any advice on charging times? I took about 3-4 hours to charge my battery the first time and I thought it was a bit fast. The charge lasted about 20-25 min. Thanks for your advice. I plan on getting ROAR license and racing at my local track it is called Norcal hobbies in union city CA.

Here are some pics of my ney hobby!

Last edited by Grimgard; 08-21-2008 at 11:59 AM.
Old 08-21-2008, 10:05 AM

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

brushless? you sure its not just a 540 motor like it says on the box? did you change it out or somethin? i've never heard of this car honestly. hope u can find parts for it. i worry bout folks who buy non name-brand cars and gettin hosed on them b/c they cant get parts. ie if you break the pullstart on a nitro version, they make u buy an entire engine. or tell u the parts didnt come from china sorry.

hope you have better luck. 2amps is not enuff for nimh. 5-6a is more appropriate.

R
Old 08-21-2008, 10:54 AM
Tech Elite

Hey! welcome to the boards. And to the world of RC racing. I've never heard of the company "Exceed". I hope your hobby shop carriers spare parts of that brand, because sooner or later you'er going to break something. Nice car though.

I race in sonoma county, so it's nice to have a fellow Norcaler on these forums.
Old 08-21-2008, 11:19 AM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by ultegrasti