R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2002, 01:16 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 829
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anyone know anything about GM ESC's?

I have a GM V3R for my Micro. I can't get it to work. There is not a setup button or anything like that on the ESC. I am using it with my KO Mars. When I turn the ESC on and pull the trigger, nothing happens. I can push the trigger to the "reverse" position, and the motor spins forward, but when I return the trigger to throttle, it does nothing. If I push it quickly from "reverse" to "forward", the motor spins in reverse. I swithced my throttle on my radio to "reverse" and everything was fine. But once I turn the ESC off, the same thing starts again, and in order to make the car go forward, I have to switch my throttle back to "normal" on my radio. When I turn it off again, I have to switch back to "reverse" to make it work.

I have the radio set like this:
TH:HiPOT - H100
TH:BRAKE - B100
TH:CURVE - F 0% B 0%
TH:PUNCH - F 0% B 0%
TH:SPEED - OFF

Any suggestions? I went to GM's website, but it's all in German.
__________________
www.MBRSpeedShop.com - indoor carpet onroad and offroad racing in Roanoke, VA
Cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 02:00 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default A little help.

When you first turn it on. Apply the brake first then the throttle. It is a wierd little speedo.
SWG
simulatedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 03:19 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

I have the same esc in my micro and had the exact same problem. The solution... unsolder the blue caps from the motor and it works like a champ!
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 03:26 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

GM Racing has all manuals in either German or English available on their site
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 03:35 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

that esc won't work with the micro motor, I haven't tried what psycho said but it might work, Horizon has stated that they will repair the esc so it will work with the micro motor if you send it to them
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2002, 04:40 PM   #6
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yup, cut of the stock motor's cap and it should work....
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 04:46 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 829
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I tried cutting the caps off, but it didn't work. I'm not sure why it won't work with the micro motor. It is rated for 4.8 - 12v. And my 4 AA pack is 4.8v.
__________________
www.MBRSpeedShop.com - indoor carpet onroad and offroad racing in Roanoke, VA
Cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 06:57 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

it is some thing about the frequency of the motor and the motor not pulling enough amps. I had the same problem, I ended up buying a V6.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2002, 08:07 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Are you using AA alki? Or AA Nicad/MH? Try Nicad/MH if you haven't already.
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 05:16 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 829
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I tried it both with my 4 cell, 1800 MaH NiMH and my 2 cell, 7.2v Lithium Ion pack.
__________________
www.MBRSpeedShop.com - indoor carpet onroad and offroad racing in Roanoke, VA
Cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2002, 11:14 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

Hey Cosmo,

Sorry I can't help you with your problem, but I got a question for you in the track locator forum.

Thanks
tekrsq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS Lot of esc's footballplayer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2008 04:20 PM
Nosram esc's to LRP esc's Got Xray? Electric On-Road 5 07-07-2006 03:56 AM
two LRP esc's howard hudson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-20-2005 10:18 PM
Help on ESC's! teetwo Electric On-Road 2 12-15-2005 07:08 PM
LRP ESC's,NIP lazarus R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-19-2003 10:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net