R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2010, 12:32 PM   #901
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

U must be on a small track. For a hot sec, I run my T2 at 4.74 FDR ratio with the 9t. But not all the time, though its the idea speed id like my car to be.[/QUOTE]

Not that small. But it's outdoor asphalt. And we're just starting to run them. But at the speed we're running, we could run with the touring cars in lap times.
We're not trying to set an overland speed record, but fast enough to make them fun.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 01:43 PM   #902
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsmooth View Post
Yes. You can set the pack voltage cut-off in the custom setting. I set my cut-off at 6.2 volts because even though I balance charge my batteries every time, 6 vpc is lower than I like to go. I have set the cut-off at 6 volts a few times, with no problems. But like I said, I balance charge every time.
why not just go 6.4... can u tell me how to do the custom settings?
__________________
TL01 W/5.5T Brushless
JAMMIN X2 TRUGGY W/Force .28
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:53 PM   #903
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
why not just go 6.4... can u tell me how to do the custom settings?
I usually run more than one race on a battery. The 6.2 volt just gives me a buffer zone against dumping during a race. If you have the LCD program box, go to the lipo cutoff section using the "item" button, then press the value button to scroll thru thecutoff options until you get to the "custom" setting. Then press the 'OK" button. Then you'll be in the custom screen. To set whatever value you want, press the "value" button. When you have the setting that you want, press the "OK" button to save it & you're done.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 02:54 PM   #904
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Well, got to run the 12th scale today at Hobbytown in G-boro. Because of the weather, they set up an oval. The little car was the sweetest car I've driven all summer! The Ezrun 13t motor with the Ezrun 25A esc ran flawlessly. Motor tempt at around 110 deg all day. I'm very pleased.
Dhamby's 13.5 sensored motor with his 35A Ezrun sensorless esc was fast all day & never missed a beat.
All in all, a GREAT day![/
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 09:40 AM   #905
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Id like to say after upgrading to Xerun 5.5, to get the car to run only a tad faster than the 9t at 4.74 FDR, the motor and esc i believe both got a little warm alot faster. the speed gain isnt worth the extra heat, although not hot, just warm after 5 mins. I could run the 9t for about 15 minutes in the sun, and then still not hot.. This being said, I think its one point towards the fact that these smaller motors actually run cooler. The 9t was a very great motor and very versatile. If it wasnt for the software upgrade on the xerun, i would prefer the xerun still.

So what would be nice is a sensored version of these smaller motors.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 04:28 AM   #906
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I have a 60 amp Ezrun sensorless esc & it's the first one that I'm having cogging issues with. All of my other esc's are smooth as silk. But this one "chatters" terribly at startup. Plus it's slow off the line.
Any suggestions?
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 08:47 AM   #907
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

whats the gearing and motor turn. seems like it may be geared to high. Whatever it is, its having a hard time down low on starting off. try a better battery, or increase the punch setting.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 02:29 PM   #908
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

The fdr was around 6.50 or so. The motor is an Ezrun 10 turn 380 base motor. It's been wicked fast and motor temps in the 130 degrees f. The esc temps out at just a little over 100 or less.
I've decided to go back to my Xerun 120. Ithink I can get the balance right without adding too much overall weight to the car.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 01:56 PM   #909
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default

hi, i am very new to the electric rc world and was looking for some advice when i came across this thread so i had to register!

i have a hot bodies e-zilla ht tp://w w.hpiracing.co.jp/contents_asia/hotbodies/ezilla/

it is old the batteries are dead and the motors (titan gt550) are pants!

i have been looking at the ezrun system for the last couple of days and can see that most people usign the ezrun system has lighter cars than the e-zilla (4300grams) its quite heavy.

all i'm looking for is to be able to run the truck in a field and attempt a few jumps but i would also like to be impressed with the speed of the truck and pull some wheelies, may main concern is a long runtime. i would also like to make sure the gearing is ok so i dont heat up the motor or esc or drain the battery to quick.

the ezrun systems that i have looked at are

Ezrun Combo 60A + 9T Brushless Motor (the 380 size with fins @ 55)

EZRUN V2 4000KV 8.5T RC Brushless Motor & 60A ESC (without fins @ 65)

EZRUN V2 6000KV 5.5T RC Brushless Motor & 60A ESC (without fins @ 65)

my question is which one?

i have the standard runnign gear with a 20t pinion and a 66t spur gear the wheels are 5.5 inch diameter and according the that site the drive ratio is 2.4375

i dont have a lipo battery at present but i would appreciatte a point in the right direction for a good value for money battery to run which ever brushless system it worls best with!

thank you and sorry for a long post!

Dave.
daveb948576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 03:43 PM   #910
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hellas,Athens
Posts: 197
Default

Get the 8.5T system.This motor will run way cooler than the 9T,because it's bigger.

Lipo:Zippy Flightmax 2s 5000mAh 40C - from Hobbyking.You will play at least 25mins(I think - I play about 25mins but I have a 5.5T motor - higher amp draw than the 8.5T) btw welcome to rctech
__________________
Hyper Mini STe (with custom chassis - 10TT) Novak 4.5T 550 motor/150A ESC
Phoenix ST
www.youtube.com/TheAL3xGR
AL3xGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 03:47 PM   #911
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hellas,Athens
Posts: 197
Default

Remember that you will need a close gearing or a low timing to prevent overheating.This truck is a little big.But I've seen 8.5T motors on Slashes too without any problem.If you want to make this truck go really fast get a better BL combo.If you want a decent speed and you just bash(off-road,jumps,etc.) then ezrun should be ok
__________________
Hyper Mini STe (with custom chassis - 10TT) Novak 4.5T 550 motor/150A ESC
Phoenix ST
www.youtube.com/TheAL3xGR
AL3xGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:39 PM   #912
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Madison AL
Posts: 58
Default

The e-zilla seems to have similar running gear to an e-maxx so I am going to recommend a system that would be suitable for it. I am going to recommend the EZRUN C2 or C3 combo with the 3674SL motor if it will fit in your chassis. It looks like there is a notch in the chassis that might interfere with the length of the motors. Otherwise you might have to purchase two of the systems you have chosen to get the performance that you are looking for.
duanew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:39 PM   #913
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default

ok thanks for the welcome!

when you say better bl combo do you just mean one with higher amps say 100a or 150a?

i've never had a lipo before and i want to make sure it dont go pop so would i be ok if i made my own hard case for when its in the turck out of thin sheet metal? i only mean about 1 or 2mm thick. i'll be driving this truck around my kids and the last thing i want is for them to get burnt.
daveb948576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:40 PM   #914
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duanew View Post
The e-zilla seems to have similar running gear to an e-maxx so I am going to recommend a system that would be suitable for it. I am going to recommend the EZRUN C2 or C3 combo with the 3674SL motor if it will fit in your chassis. It looks like there is a notch in the chassis that might interfere with the length of the motors. Otherwise you might have to purchase two of the systems you have chosen to get the performance that you are looking for.
its ok i dont mind chopping the chassis about a bit to get the right system to fit!
daveb948576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 04:48 PM   #915
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Madison AL
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb948576 View Post
ok thanks for the welcome!

when you say better bl combo do you just mean one with higher amps say 100a or 150a?

i've never had a lipo before and i want to make sure it dont go pop so would i be ok if i made my own hard case for when its in the turck out of thin sheet metal? i only mean about 1 or 2mm thick. i'll be driving this truck around my kids and the last thing i want is for them to get burnt.
Don't bother with trying to make any type of metal box for your lipos. Hardpacks are not that expensive. They are also not that dangerous if handled properly. There are some distributors of some Chinese cells that are good quality that are great for bashing. Examples: Turnigy, Blue lipo, Zippy. Locations: Hobbypartz.com and Hobbyking.com
duanew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 Yesterday 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:14 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net