R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-11-2010, 10:16 PM   #886
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Inspite of its size, the 8.5 doesnt run easier than the 9t?? I was kinda leaning on what beemerfan was saying. if u caould imagine an even smaller motor in the car, it wud be worked harder would it not? The 8.5 does at least have vents in the can.

What would be better to lower my temps,, less timing or less punch? Im actually gonna do less punch anyway. after going lipo, i geared to 4.8. Its probly not a good idea, but it feels so right. I only did about 8 pulls since it was dark. could have gone longer temp wise. im not currently using a fan, but will get one and do anything i can to keep the gearing.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 06:27 PM   #887
Tech Regular
 
RossoTorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Euro-Thrash
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use 35A/13T in my F103 and it runs great, I tried putting in a 60A/13.5T in it to compare speed. I needed to change gearing on the car to compensate for speed. The 13.5T was much slower, not more torque either. Changed from 5.2 FDR to 4.8 to keep pace with the others. That's weird since the 13T is rated 3000kv with the 13.5T is 3300kv. So my money is on the 380 size motors in 540 cases rather than 540 in 540 cases.
Also the throttle response was not as good on 60A/13.5T as on 35A/13T.

Got a Xerun 60A/10.5T on it's way to put in the FF03Pro that's on order from Champ. Looking forward to testing it with turbo software.
RossoTorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 06:14 AM   #888
Tech Master
 
beemerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

That does seem a little odd. It could be that the F1s are very light pan cars with a very low drag direct drive train. In that case, the smaller motors are probably more than enough and maybe even make more efficient use of the available power. I'm just guessing because I only have an EZRUN 60A/8.5T combo and really have nothing to compare. It is installed in a fairly heavy RS4 MT 4WD off-road truck. It really moves! At my current gearing, the truck moves about as fast as it can be controlled and the motor only gets warm to the touch. Never very hot. I wonder if I would get similar results with the 9T finned motor?
beemerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:30 PM   #889
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

the 380 size actually have a higher rated kv than the 540 of their .5 size, so..

Another quick question, has anyone ever hit temp cut off? does it brake or do u get a run away car? i just threw took the fan off the esc and threw it over my motor. now they both seem to get hot

__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..

Last edited by JKL1031; 06-13-2010 at 06:40 PM.
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 06:45 PM   #890
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ever run the Ezrun 380 base 13t motor with the Ezrun 25 speedy? If you look up the motor on HW website, it lists the 35 & the 25 esc as options.
I have the 25 esc & was wanting to use this motor in a 12th scale car on asphalt.
Thanks.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 11:00 PM   #891
Tech Regular
 
RossoTorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Euro-Thrash
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsmooth View Post
Has anyone ever run the Ezrun 380 base 13t motor with the Ezrun 25 speedy? If you look up the motor on HW website, it lists the 35 & the 25 esc as options.
I have the 25 esc & was wanting to use this motor in a 12th scale car on asphalt.
Thanks.
I have tested it with a Tamiya M03/M04. Even been running 12T/3300kv with 25A. Works just as good, but don't gear it too hard then.
RossoTorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 12:36 AM   #892
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Thermal cut out does not affect steering... so you can still steer the car round the track etc. Brakes do not come on, though i have not tried to brake after a thermal (My only thermal... 60a EZ run with 5.5t motor on a LARGE track with no esc fan...)

Probably did 5 mins of SOFT driving before thermal... as i knew it would get hot eventualy. Just testing a gearing change for the straight... Was geared around 6.9
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 04:00 AM   #893
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RossoTorro View Post
I have tested it with a Tamiya M03/M04. Even been running 12T/3300kv with 25A. Works just as good, but don't gear it too hard then.
Well, I'm very limited on gearing. With a 78 spur & 13t pinion, 6.00 fdr is as low as I can go. But the esc is just sitting, so it'll work or it won't.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 07:41 AM   #894
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 84
Default

I have an ezrun 35A/13T 3000Kv system that I run in my Tamiya M05/Xevo mini chassis'. Whilst looking for a slightly faster motor to try out, I came across and bought a 'Dynamite Fuze' 3300Kv sensorless motor (http://www.dynamiterc.com/Products/D...ProdID=DYN3734). Having now received the motor, it is a 'true' 540 size motor, not the ezrun-style '380 in a 540 can' that I thought it would be.

Is the 35A ESC powerful enough to run this motor without issues, or would it have to be the 60A version instead?


Edit: Now found out that the Fuze 3300kv is roughly equivalent to a 13.5T (or lower turn) motor, so will try and return it as it's going to be too much motor for the ESC and the chassis.

Last edited by Toon; 08-06-2010 at 11:18 AM. Reason: Update
Toon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 01:52 AM   #895
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I noticed that Lipo cutoff voltage is not enabled by default. What should i set it at for 2s lipo?

Also i have the 60A version i find it too fast should i lower the punch or timing?
__________________
TL01 W/5.5T Brushless
JAMMIN X2 TRUGGY W/Force .28
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:13 AM   #896
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
I noticed that Lipo cutoff voltage is not enabled by default. What should i set it at for 2s lipo?

Also i have the 60A version i find it too fast should i lower the punch or timing?
You can set the lipo cut-off at 3 vpc or higher & not damage the battery. I have mine set at the custom setting ( with the LCD program box) at 3.1 vpc, or 6.2 volts for the pack.
And yes, setting the punch at 0, and the timing to 0 or 3.5, will slow the car a little. Goint to a smaller pinion is an option too.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:19 AM   #897
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsmooth View Post
Well, I'm very limited on gearing. With a 78 spur & 13t pinion, 6.00 fdr is as low as I can go. But the esc is just sitting, so it'll work or it won't.
Well, I haven't got to race the 12th yet due to races being cancelled. But I did run a few minutes to test the 13t 25a setup. After changing the gearing to a 4.83 fdr, the car was quick, without being a handful on 2s lipo.
Hopefully we'll get to race it next weekend. I'll post the results
.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:21 AM   #898
Tech Addict
 
JKL1031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

they say If your pack gets out of balance on discharge too much, 3v maybe too low. one could be at 4,and the other at 2v or so,,just for an example.

U must be on a small track. For a hot sec, I run my T2 at 4.74 FDR ratio with the 9t. But not all the time, though its the idea speed id like my car to be.
__________________
China Lipos
China Speedos
China Chargers

You aint messin wit my dougie..
JKL1031 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 12:08 PM   #899
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drsmooth View Post
You can set the lipo cut-off at 3 vpc or higher & not damage the battery. I have mine set at the custom setting ( with the LCD program box) at 3.1 vpc, or 6.2 volts for the pack.
And yes, setting the punch at 0, and the timing to 0 or 3.5, will slow the car a little. Goint to a smaller pinion is an option too.
u can do custom with the lcd box? really?
__________________
TL01 W/5.5T Brushless
JAMMIN X2 TRUGGY W/Force .28
wantboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 12:27 PM   #900
Tech Regular
 
drsmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wantboost View Post
u can do custom with the lcd box? really?
Yes. You can set the pack voltage cut-off in the custom setting. I set my cut-off at 6.2 volts because even though I balance charge my batteries every time, 6 vpc is lower than I like to go. I have set the cut-off at 6 volts a few times, with no problems. But like I said, I balance charge every time.
__________________
Till next time.......
KEEP ON RACING!
drsmooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net