R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2008, 01:06 AM   #46
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Are your running it in the T4? What FDR are you using? I ordered a 12t combo for the Slash so chasing a rough starting point.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 01:11 AM   #47
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I will try 9.5 and work it out from there
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:23 AM   #48
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Guys, thanks for all the replies, helps a lot!

i tried sending an email to ask them the proper fdr to use for the 60A system, it returned with an error stating that Hobbywing support mailbox is full. i guess they may be overwhelmed ... i wish they would fix this by answering some of the technical question, which i'm sure is redundant, add these to their site support pages as part of a knowledgebase or FAQ's.

@Airflow, i dont think the sensor wires on the novak will pose as a big problem specially that i only drive TA03F's which has screw positioned around the motor area where i can easily strap the cables on.
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 07:37 AM   #49
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Well in the absence of replies I will be testing the one I have coming in to see if it is waterproof, by putting it in the Traxxas Slash which I use to jump the fish pond / swimming pool. The stock ESC (XL5 Blue) has been perfect, soaked, submerged etc and still performs A1 as does the receiver box.

If it's proven NOT to be waterproof I will no doubt expose all those retailers who advertise that it is. (rcmart, rcmarket and hobbywing themselves)

ESC arrives Wednesday (with luck)

Wish me luck!
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 02:18 PM   #50
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I've been running a 35amp/3300kv combo on default settings for a few weeks now and is very happy. I do have a few questions?

I run my system on Tamiya mini and was thinking of selecting level 9 for the "DRRS" start Mode (punch). Would this be a good setup choice and how do you activate it? I remember some brushed esc you have to brake for a few seconds to activate the punch for grid starts.

Im also thinking of increasing the timing to level 8. I know this will give an increase in rpm, but whats best suited for a 3300kv motor.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 02:51 PM   #51
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Well in the absence of replies I will be testing the one I have coming in to see if it is waterproof, by putting it in the Traxxas Slash which I use to jump the fish pond / swimming pool. The stock ESC (XL5 Blue) has been perfect, soaked, submerged etc and still performs A1 as does the receiver box.

If it's proven NOT to be waterproof I will no doubt expose all those retailers who advertise that it is. (rcmart, rcmarket and hobbywing themselves)

ESC arrives Wednesday (with luck)

Wish me luck!
Next week have more model arrive !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:21 PM   #52
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

OK GUYS,i been testing the 60A version and im very impressed with it.
( make sure the switch is in a safe location as it will break easily ).
i been running it together with a speedpassion 10.5t at m local indoor track that is about 20m x14m.
during the first race i did crash and the switch did break ,making the esc resetting all the settings for some reason.
i did cut the wires and join them together and i was able to finish other 3 rounds.
the performance versus price i think is great,i did use the maximum timing on the esc (about 30deg) plus the sp motors come with a 30deg build in and it was responsive and great to drive,i did use a 6.5 gear ratio,i will go up some tooth on the pinion next race to take to 5.9 land see how does perform in compare to my other car running 5.9 ratio.
only one disappointment ,it not so smooth at start,and the capacitor is very big.
thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:04 PM   #53
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Downloaded the manual, that says waterproof too on page 2.

I notice how rcmarket only post was to promote his store, have you not used these?
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:15 PM   #54
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Well RC MARKET just added this yesterday.

HOBBYWING EZRUN 35A BRUSHLESS ESC & 9T MOTOR COMBO (HW-35A/9-Co) = US$71.00

So I bought it!

I could not buy a brushless ESC used in my area for that.. and 9T is tons of motor for me.

The 35A is rated for the 9T max - i am going to run it in my T2 truck that I race with. That and a YR 3200 hardcase and I should be set.

I will report back as to shipping times, how it came, installed, etc.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:18 PM   #55
Tech Elite
 
tony gray's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia. Home of rc-mini.net
Posts: 3,361
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danjoy25 View Post
Im also thinking of increasing the timing to level 8. I know this will give an increase in rpm, but whats best suited for a 3300kv motor.

Thanks in advance.
Dan, in our experience (and what we've been told) the 'timing advance' isn't quite what you think. It doesn't actually advance the timing, just alters the power delivery to make it more aggressive so it 'seems' faster.

We've tried the motors at max settings and they didn't go any quicker, just felt different. So we've gone back to default - the only changes we've made are to the brake settings.

I should add though that we run the 13T/3000kv in the minis down in Vic.

TG
tony gray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:49 PM   #56
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
Well RC MARKET just added this yesterday.

HOBBYWING EZRUN 35A BRUSHLESS ESC & 9T MOTOR COMBO (HW-35A/9-Co) = US$71.00

So I bought it!

I could not buy a brushless ESC used in my area for that.. and 9T is tons of motor for me.

The 35A is rated for the 9T max - i am going to run it in my T2 truck that I race with. That and a YR 3200 hardcase and I should be set.

I will report back as to shipping times, how it came, installed, etc.

James
Best of luck, it's a good combo, just be aware my experience with rcmarket has been when it arrives it's all good but they are one of the slower guys to process an order and reply to emails. Had one automatically switch to a paypal query on mine (automatic security thing I have) and they held the order up in protest!
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 04:58 AM   #57
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Well in the absence of replies I will be testing the one I have coming in to see if it is waterproof, by putting it in the Traxxas Slash which I use to jump the fish pond / swimming pool. The stock ESC (XL5 Blue) has been perfect, soaked, submerged etc and still performs A1 as does the receiver box.

If it's proven NOT to be waterproof I will no doubt expose all those retailers who advertise that it is. (rcmart, rcmarket and hobbywing themselves)

ESC arrives Wednesday (with luck)

Wish me luck!
The esc is alegadly water proof will test mine soom but you will prolly need to remove the fan

And i dont know about the motor......but i hope so


Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Best of luck, it's a good combo, just be aware my experience with rcmarket has been when it arrives it's all good but they are one of the slower guys to process an order and reply to emails. Had one automatically switch to a paypal query on mine (automatic security thing I have) and they held the order up in protest!
I bought my order monday and they shipped today

Its rc mart the is crap
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 05:15 AM   #58
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Just for all thoser guys complaining about no replies from Hobbywing recently. The main person who talks to you was away at the Beijing Exhibition . Add to that the China national day holiday that goes for a week and no you know where he was.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 01:36 PM   #59
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
Well RC MARKET just added this yesterday.

HOBBYWING EZRUN 35A BRUSHLESS ESC & 9T MOTOR COMBO (HW-35A/9-Co) = US$71.00

So I bought it!

I could not buy a brushless ESC used in my area for that.. and 9T is tons of motor for me.

The 35A is rated for the 9T max - i am going to run it in my T2 truck that I race with. That and a YR 3200 hardcase and I should be set.

I will report back as to shipping times, how it came, installed, etc.

James
Your order was ready , post office open will send !

Thanks !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:22 PM   #60
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I purchased the 9turn. I am a noob at gearing so I would love some advice on what pinion and spur to run for drifting in a sprint 2. Right now motor gets a tad hot after 10minutes of use.

Apart from that, i think its a great cheap system. I dont like the clogging at low throttle. Its abit annoying , Is there anyway to get rid of it or is that how its suppose to be? Its fine once you get it going and rolling but on a technical drift track it messes me up.
kwax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net