R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2009, 03:52 AM   #346
Tech Master
 
Benzaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,989
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

My Fiance fried the 3300kv hobby wing motor that was in her tourer on the weekend. I had it geared a bit lower than usual as it was hot and after she had run it for about 35 minutes(she is just learning to drive so she's not thrashing it) the lipo cut off came on. Didnt seem that hot so I thought cool. Then after a 35min recharge, plugged the battery in and it wouldnt go again. Seemed like it was cogging and it was just stuttering. Had to pull the 3000kv one ive got in the mini out so she could have another drive at the track. This motor would have less than 10 packs through it i reckon. I think i might buy her a Losi sensorless motor this time around...
__________________
Adelaide RC - XRAY Xb216de & Xb416

Walter Rc Hobby - Serpent 4X

Nosram - R1wurks - Sanwa - Hudy - Muchmore
Benzaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:05 AM   #347
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Benzaah ... 35mins .... ouch !!!!

Any speed for 35 mins would put the motor at risk. Just would get too hot and kill the motor.

These are good systems but are designed like most systems .. for use over a shorter period of time.

I look at this way .. would you run a 17.5 or 10.5 around for 35 mins?

There are a few different sensorless motors available. Hobbywing do a full size 17.5 sensorless motor
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:08 AM   #348
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,097
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

As I been sayin all along the ESC's are cool, the ribbed 380 motors that look like a 540, rubbish! Servicable in a Mini for a 5-10 min race but I wouldn't trust it in anything larger.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 04:18 AM   #349
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

The 380 motors are far from rubbish. People have to realise that the 380 size motors are made for the lighter 1/10 and 1/12 scale cars.

The trouble is that "cheap charlies" expect to get a Ferrari system for a Hyundai price. We have been using these in Minis for quite a long time and they are excellent. If you want them for harder work then get the larger 540 size motors from Hobbywing
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:13 AM   #350
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine for almost an hour (it was their 10t) until the spur melted in my truck (weighs 1600grams) and temps never got above 75 degrees Celsius also air temp was 30 so not cold by any means. So I think these are stronger than ever
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 06:36 AM   #351
Tech Adept
 
d1nzfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Default

I see most put one into their off roader.
i'm waiting for my 60A version and 5.5T .
will it be overkill for a lighter 1500g touring car?
or do i need to get a 10.5T to get better battery runtime and run longer in track??
d1nzfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:55 AM   #352
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,366
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys

there's a lot of "there should be" or "I heard" or "I think" in this thread...

so here's my personal experience.

I've run my EzRun 35A + 4300Kv combo in my XXX BK1 for, say, 20 packs (with the fan plugged in ) - at a racetrack. No damage to declare, good speed, good torque, car pulling wheelies mid throttle in the straight on the slightest bump. It's barely warm (both controller and motor) after a full lipo pack (3200 and 3800, depends what I bring to the track)

Granted, the LRP Sphere TC in my TC feels smoother
Granted, the electric wires coming out of the motor are total crap
Granted, this is 380 rotor in something that fakes a 540 can

But for the price, my goodness, it sures delivers.

There are several of us running these... we think it's an awesome value for money, and so far we've seen 100% reliability.

Because of the winter weather, the combo is now in my kyosho blizzard, and guess what, it works wonders, withstand the wetness and the incredibly inefficient transmission (those who know the blizz know what I'm talking about).

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:04 AM   #353
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

What is a good FDR to run with Ezrun 9t motor in TC? Will be using this both on airconditioned indoor carpet track with small to medium size as well as outdoor medium to large size asphalt track. I ll be using the 9T with Ezrun 60A esc from my 5.5T combo.
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 09:32 AM   #354
Tech Adept
 
d1nzfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 102
Default

i tried 8.59 and it does not feel very hot at night. i wonder how it do in the day
d1nzfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 12:07 PM   #355
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
What is a good FDR to run with Ezrun 9t motor in TC? Will be using this both on airconditioned indoor carpet track with small to medium size as well as outdoor medium to large size asphalt track. I ll be using the 9T with Ezrun 60A esc from my 5.5T combo.
i was running eZRun 60A with 9T motor on a Cyclone Moore Speed with a 64p 110T Spur and 35T Pinion and runs without heat problems on asphalt tracks (10 to 15+ mins run time).

traded the system today for a GTB with 3.5 LRP motor which is setup on the Moore, the Black Ed will get a new eZRun 60A with 8.5T motor around february.
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:36 PM   #356
Tech Master
 
dethklok151's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: az
Posts: 1,236
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

i have posted it before,but will post again.i am running the 3000kv motor in my slash,and it is perfect.a little faster than stock.i think it is a pretty smooth system.yes it is a smaller motor,but that means less torque,which in a slash is just right.i like it better than the 13.5 i tried(only for one race),and a castle 4600kv. i ran it on a nice indoor track for about 40 minutes straight a couple of times and had no issues.temps were only 120.
__________________
"hey buddy,ya gonna finish marshalling my car or just lay there and bleed?"
Tamiya euro truck on asphalt
dethklok151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:41 PM   #357
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I have the Tekmodel 60A. I have been using it with a Novak 10.5. What I am trying to figure out is if I change the timing thru the program card what effect does it have on the motor. I am looking to get a little more power out of the esc.
ghj1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:22 PM   #358
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Guys, can you list down other brand brushless motor that I can use with this EZrun 60A ESC?
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:02 AM   #359
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghj1997 View Post
I have the Tekmodel 60A. I have been using it with a Novak 10.5. What I am trying to figure out is if I change the timing thru the program card what effect does it have on the motor. I am looking to get a little more power out of the esc.
Supposedly the higher the timing the more RPM but more heat as well

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
Guys, can you list down other brand brushless motor that I can use with this EZrun 60A ESC?
Any motor that is above 5.5T
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 07:45 AM   #360
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

You mean as long as its sensorless? What if I buy sensored motor and attached it without the sensor cable? Will it work? Has anyone here has any experience using it with different brand motor so I can narrow down on which brand I m going to get? Does Kv rating affect anything? Coz different 5.5T motor has different Kv?
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:04 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net